Old 20-05-08, 22:40   #1

emerald green will become famous soon enough

Battleship Champion! Dead Duck Champion! Shield Shot 2 Champion! Stack The Cats Champion!

Zarabi and Lynch gone?

Another site has a thread saying ther above two have defo been emptied by Mixu. Anyone else heard?

Do you think this is a good thing?

The trimming/cull seems to be kicking in....

emerald green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 22:41   #2

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Zarabi and Lynch gone?

As he brought Zarabi in, would be surprised
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 23:35   #3

Americas Army Champion! Get A Grip Champion! Hit the fan Champion! Speed Master Champion!

Feel sorry for young lynch - if true - but, like McCaffrey, our squad is too big and hindering their progress.
Now Mixu faces the tasks of deciding who is going to be our contenders up top next season as he needs to make two from a potential first team pool of Fletcher, Nish, Benji, Donaldson, Campbell, Gray, Byrne surplus to requirements.

Old 20-05-08, 23:44   #4
Croatian Radge

neil_hibees will become famous soon enough

Feel sorry for young lynch - if true - but, like McCaffrey, our squad is too big and hindering their progress.
Now Mixu faces the tasks of deciding who is going to be our contenders up top next season as he needs to make two from a potential first team pool of Fletcher, Nish, Benji, Donaldson, Campbell, Gray, Byrne surplus to requirements.
Out of those seven I could see maybe Benji, Campbell, Donaldson or Gray maybe being chucked.

Although I think they all have potential, there is no chance they will all get a game.

Some may be content to go out on loan ( Campbell/Byrne), but I can see Gray leaving if he doesn't get a chance due to his successful loan at Partick.

THERE'S ONLY ONE DEREK RIORDAN!
neil_hibees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 23:44   #5

Bampotto is on the way to a first team debut

Don't think either are good enough to hold down a regular first team place. Zarabi would be decent cover though. Lynch will get a place at a first division/lower SPL club. Good luck to them both if this is true.
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 23:54   #6

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

Out of those seven I could see maybe Benji, Campbell, Donaldson or Gray maybe being chucked.

Although I think they all have potential, there is no chance they will all get a game.

Some may be content to go out on loan ( Campbell/Byrne), but I can see Gray leaving if he doesn't get a chance due to his successful loan at Partick.

No chance they will get a game? Pish!
Old 20-05-08, 23:54   #7

I think a lot depends on whether or not a big offer comes in for Fletcher and I think there is a fair chance he will be off in the close season. Benji will IMO be offski as well. That's two very talented players possibly leaving, so at least one of our major signings this summer will likely be a striker.

Mixu has already said that Donaldson will be part of his plans for next season, and FWIW I think the guy could still be a player for us if he can learn to stay on his feet and use his pace to better effect. Nish will be one of our main strikers, and Gray, Byrne, and Campbell are all very talented young strikers who will be pushing for a regular first team place next season.
Old 20-05-08, 23:58   #8
Croatian Radge

No chance they will get a game? Pish!

I can't see how seven strikers will be kept on at the club if Mixu is looking to trim the squad.

This season (minus Nish) Byrne and Gray never made the 1st team squad.

This season both Donaldson and Benji struggled to get a regular game.

Old 21-05-08, 00:02   #9
fife radge and proud of it

youngie75 is on the way to a first team debut

Immuno Rally Champion!

wouldnt surprise me if he got rid of stevenson as well which would be bad as i like that kid he one for the futer (sp)

not long now
youngie75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-08, 00:05   #10

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

Spiderman Champion!

K,you missed yatorno....he will be staying.

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.
shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-08, 00:06   #11
Croatian Radge

wouldnt surprise me if he got rid of stevenson as well which would be bad as i like that kid he one for the futer (sp)
I could see that happening as well.

That could come back and bite us on the arse IMO as he is one of the better youngsters.

I'd give Stevenson a start over Kerr in midfield or even Zarabi at LB.

Old 21-05-08, 00:10   #12

Americas Army Champion! Get A Grip Champion! Hit the fan Champion! Speed Master Champion!

K,you missed yatorno....he will be staying.
I would class Yantorno in the same field as Zemmama, Shiels, Morais. Fuck knows where Mixu fancies um'.

I think there may be a few shocks and surprises with forward players moving on during the summer. We have too many. Let's hope Mixu gets the quality he is on about.

Old 21-05-08, 00:14   #13

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

Spiderman Champion!

I would class Yantorno in the same field as Zemmama, Shiels, Morais. Fuck knows where Mixu fancies um'.

I think there may be a few shocks and surprises with forward players moving on during the summer. We have too many. Let's hope Mixu gets the quality he is on about.
one up front on most away days so we need 5 plus midfielders. i would imagine him deano or zoomer the link man.

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.
shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-08, 00:20   #14

stephenfc is on the way to a first team debut

Mibi mixu made a mistake signing zarabi meaning the he underetamated the spl and the standard of players needed by hibe to do well in this league.

As for lynch, i dont think theres much point leading this boy on. Theres plenty other players in the same boat, he needs first team football. Hes at that age and if hes no getting it here we should not hold up his carrer.

Good luck to the guys if true

STEPHEN
stephenfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-08, 00:57   #15
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

I`d keep the laddie Gray. He might come back and bite us up the arse.

Potential £££`s, if I ever saw it.

Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-08, 11:29   #16

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

I`d keep the laddie Gray. He might come back and bite us up the arse.

Potential £££`s, if I ever saw it.
I think Gray will have a fairly successful career. Not certain it's going to be with Hibs though. He's not going to be happy with another season of reserve football as he's already proved himself enough there. Something about him reminds me of fat Robbo and we could well regret it if he gets away.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-08, 11:37   #17

I think Gray will have a fairly successful career. Not certain it's going to be with Hibs though. He's not going to be happy with another season of reserve football as he's already proved himself enough there. Something about him reminds me of fat Robbo and we could well regret it if he gets away.
I will be well pissed off if Damon Gray is allowed to leave..

He is a natural penalty-box goalscorer and there are not many of them around. His finish at Ibrox for Partick Thistle a month or so ago showed to me he has composure as well as nerve in big matches. For me, he should be pushing for a regular first team spot up front next season alongside Nish.
Old 21-05-08, 11:51   #18

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

Let's hope Mixu gets the quality he is on about.
This is where I have a slight concern with the signings made thus far - we're signing players from teams worse than us.

The players themselves are decent (Nish, Rankin), but the emphasis on "quality" had me hoping for another Beuzy-like gem. Unrealistic, I know.

If "quality" means proven SPL players, then fair enough.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-08, 11:53   #19

I will be well pissed off if Damon Gray is allowed to leave..

He is a natural penalty-box goalscorer and there are not many of them around. His finish at Ibrox for Partick Thistle a month or so ago showed to me he has composure as well as nerve in big matches. For me, he should be pushing for a regular first team spot up front next season alongside Nish.
You wouldn't be the only person pissed off if he's allowed to leave.

As you say he should be fighting for a first team place next season.

As for Zarabi and Lynch. Well Zarabi may win a big move to the NFL and Lynch is better off somewhere else. If he was going to make an impact at Hibs it would have been before now.
Old 21-05-08, 12:27   #20

If we're getting rid of strikers, and I think the consensus on here that we will is right, there has to be the correct balance struck about who goes and who stays.

The way I see it, our strikers fall into two categories, those who should be aiming to play every week, and promising youngsters.

Fletcher, Nish, and Benji all fall into the first category. If Fletcher goes, and I think he will, then I'd keep the other two and bring in someone else. At the level of the transfer market we operate at there is no such thing as a signing who is guaranteed to be a success, so keeping a couple of players who we know can attain a certain standard has some value. If Fletcher stays, then Benji will go imo. He wants to be playing pretty much every week, and Mixu seems to rate Nishs partnership with Fletcher as his first choice.

The rest of the players mentioned before have not made the breakthrough to the 1st team. Gray is someone I really like. He looks an out and out poacher which is something we have not really had for a long time. So he's someone I'd definitely like to keep. Campbell is a tough one. He's done reasonably well, but hasn't really looked like scoring goals for us. If we have to lose one of the laddies, I'd have to put him down as the first choice to go. In an ideal world you'd be able to loan him out for the season to a side in the SPL such as St Mirren, or Hamilton where he is going to get a game pretty much every week. Byrne deserves a chance imo. By all accounts he looks very good, and in the only game I've seen him I agreed with that assesment.

So if we lose Campbell, and either Benji or Fletcher that's us down to 5 strikers because I haven't mentioned Donaldson. He doesn't fit in to either category I've put above. I'd be willing to give him another season, but it would have to be in a squad where he is going to get a chance. He has some pretty decent attributes you look for in a striker, like pace and he's a decent finisher, but he's very raw. He should be getting judged on what he is which is someone who has jumped up a lot of levels of football rather than someone who should be the finished article. FWIW he's another one that I wouldn't object to putting out on loan to someone in the lower reaches of the SPL (no the Jambos though
) if he was going to be getting a game every week.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='