Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,385 | Posts: 598,424 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 19-05-08, 21:08   #41

big ell is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Unsung Hibs Heroes

Alan Sneddon is another from Millers era who played well
Old 19-05-08, 21:09   #42

big ell is on the way to a first team debut

lol infact any of the names in my sig are heros to me, showing my age lol
Old 19-05-08, 21:10   #43

JG69 Perth is on the way to a first team debut

Which one though. We had two at the same time at one point.

The auld yin who ran the Blyth Spirit in Rose Street and was often nicknamed Chickenheid or the young yin who didnt run a pub in Rose Street and did not run with a chicken's heid motion
It was chickenheid,I thoght he was good
JG69 Perth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-08, 21:58   #44

i always liked graham mitchell and joe mcbride jnr scored some of the greatest free kicks i've ever seen
Old 19-05-08, 22:02   #45

ju1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Amadou Konte
ju1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-08, 22:29   #46

dode1875 is on the way to a first team debut

eddie may
dode1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-08, 22:30   #47

dode1875 is on the way to a first team debut

brian rice

tommy mcintyre

mickey weir
dode1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-08, 22:54   #48

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

I'd agree with Tom Smith, after he got injured in 2000-2001 we started conceding goals.

In the more recent past, Michael Stewart. In the more distant past Justin Skinner. From the 80's? Gordon Chisholm maybe.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 00:38   #49
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

Kevin McAllister.

For a boy plucked from obscurity .............
I suppose Chelsea were quite obscure back then
- great wee player Crunchie.

I liked Gary Smith for his quiet no nonsense contribution to Hibs, ditto Greame Mitchel and Alan Sneddon who were great servants for Hibs but not on the glamourous side of things.

I reckon players like Des Bremner, Ally MacLeod, Alex Edwards, Arthur Duncan etc
aren't unsung, it's just the younger guys don't know much about them.

Anyone of the guys on this thread would walk into the Hibs today (Arthur would run) including Benny - during his last two seasons with Hibs, under Stanton, he was a great midfiled spoiler. Before then he spoiled things for us a lot but he did have an awkardness the opposition foudn hard to handle. EDIT apart from Konte that is :.)

A player I'd like to have seen more of was Derek Spalding. great prospect at Cnetre Half in the 70's who moved to the States at an early age.
Old 20-05-08, 00:43   #50
Everybody is a Radge

I recall him taking a free kick (think it was his birthday that day - dunno why I remember that) which he bent round the wall into top corner.
Spoilsport ref said he wasn't ready and told him to retake it - which he did, into opposite top corner.
Was that not a New Years Day game versus Dundee? The Great Big Massive Club that is Hearts being in a lower division that season.

I was on the telly for when they showed the highlights of that game.

Ally McLeod was a GENUIS. A fat genuis but a GENUIS none the less.
Old 20-05-08, 00:44   #51
fife radge and proud of it

youngie75 is on the way to a first team debut

vCash: 4100

Immuno Rally Champion!

paul kane

mickie weir

keith wright

darren jackson
youngie75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 01:38   #52

fieryjack is on the way to a first team debut

Memory 2 Champion!

Was that not a New Years Day game versus Dundee? The Great Big Massive Club that is Hearts being in a lower division that season.

I was on the telly for when they showed the highlights of that game.

Ally McLeod was a GENUIS. A fat genuis but a GENUIS none the less.
Not 'unsung' as you say and a tremendous talent. I remember a game at Somerset (late 70's) when we were 1-0 down and getting nowhere until bang, bang bang three goals in the last 15 minutes (Rae, MacLeod and someone else?) had us all chased to the station afterwards.

I wore my Stranglers 'Who Wants the World Jumper' sweatshirt that day
"They have become the equivalent of a tolley that didn't flush the first time. They are floating, only just, stinking up the place, but the cistern is being refilled and they will be flushed down the pan, the smell will dissipate and we will never have to think of them again." The Vinster
fieryjack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 01:42   #53

fieryjack is on the way to a first team debut

Memory 2 Champion!

The midfielder...John Connolly?...about twenty years ago who turned in several good displays including a screamer from 25 yards at Hamilton in a 3-3 game.

The memory is going...
"They have become the equivalent of a tolley that didn't flush the first time. They are floating, only just, stinking up the place, but the cistern is being refilled and they will be flushed down the pan, the smell will dissipate and we will never have to think of them again." The Vinster
fieryjack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 02:21   #54
Everybody is a Radge

I wore my Stranglers 'Who Wants the World Jumper' sweatshirt that day
With Deer-Stalker and a pipe - very natty.
Old 20-05-08, 04:31   #55

Bampotto is on the way to a first team debut

As most people know, Matty Jack wasn't an unsung hero of mine, I raved about him regularly.
Anyway, also think Grant Brebner deserves a mention. In his first stint at ER he almost singlehandedly tried to drag us out of the dire position we were in. When United beat us at ER to condemn us, he was as visibly gutted as the rest of us.
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 08:00   #56

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Snods, who at that time lived in Whitburn, once gave me a lift to a game in his Gold Capri!

Old 20-05-08, 09:20   #57

Great thread S.

I'm shooting off out but i'll be back later to elaborate further on Gordon Hunter.
I swept the Auld ER stand with Gordon Hunter and Johnny Collins in 1984..

I've never believed GBH got the credit he deserved as a Hibs player.

IIRC he was a first teamer from 1985-1997.

If he could have passed a ball he would have been absolutely top class. However, he could tackle one-on-one for fun. Hard as nails.

I rememeber John Blackley as Hibs manager saying in his programme notes that he had been speaking to Paul Sturrock then of Dundee Utd and Paul had said Hunter was a nightmare to play up against.

I remember him scoring at ER in a win v The Huns in 1994 and of course a few weeks before at Tynecastle he'd put to an end a shameful sequence of results under Alex-500K-a-Year-Miller.

It was actually a really good finish! Sweet indeed...

His richly deserved testimonial (Mind them..) though v Coventry City in 1996 will always be remembered for the introduction of Ray-Applaud-The-Huns-Wilkins...

It's funny how you get a local boy like Hunter playing for the club for over ten years and then he just disappears of the radar...
Old 20-05-08, 10:00   #58

east calder hibby is a jewel in the rougheast calder hibby is a jewel in the rough

Desktop Fishing Champion!

Paco Luna

east calder hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 10:03   #59

If THAT header had gone in there would be no 'Unsung' about it..
Old 20-05-08, 10:11   #60

east calder hibby is a jewel in the rougheast calder hibby is a jewel in the rough

Desktop Fishing Champion!

If THAT header had gone in there would be no 'Unsung' about it..
Damn right mate, always liked paco thought he worked hard and could finish (sometimes
)

east calder hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-08, 10:28   #61

I like the suggestions of Crunchie and Neil Orr. The former was just great for Hibs and the latter was underrated in my opinion.

I never hear many mentions of Des Bremner from Hibs fans these days. I thought he was a tremendous player and served Hibs very well for a number of years. A class player who played with his heart on his sleeve.

Des Bremner was one of my heroes when he played for Hibs as well Stu.

Old 20-05-08, 13:13   #62

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

Darren Jackson.

What a shift he put in, week in, week out. I remember a game against Airdrie, i think it was a League Cup game, where we were getting beat and the whole teams heads were down. All except Jackson, that is. The ball was running out for a corner to Airdrie when Jackson ran from where he was (about the halfway line) just got to the ball and put it out for a throw-in instead and rollicked the defence for not giving 100%. Nothing startlingly brilliant about it, but it sums him up for me. He could score goals too.

Maybe it was his future career choices which cloud a lot of our judgements about him.