Old 12-05-08, 11:07   #41
Everybody is a Radge

Casino cash: £7405
Rep Power: 17 snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough
Re: Your Use Of Substitutes Is Rotten Mixu..

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
For someone who is a fairly regular exponent of picking stuff apart and recognising flaws in things, I find this a pretty strange argument tbh. I agree with you about team selection that the manager has a better idea having worked with the players in training up to that point, but I'd also be willing to bet that most of us have seen more games involving the majority of the current players who make up the squad than Mixu has. Given that, I'd say it is emminently reasonable for people to have an opinion based on not only that, but that they've been watching football for years in most cases.

Now to add on to that, I disagree with people all the time about how they seen a game, how they rate players etc, so it's not like any of these things are unarguable. A manager is obviously more qualified than me to make these judgements, but they do make mistakes all the time. If they didn't then they would all be Mourinho or Trappatoni, and they undoubtedly aren't. And regularly enough for it not to be a fluke, fans can see the mistakes.

FWIW I think Mixus subs are not very reminiscent of Williamsons at all since I can usually see the justification for the ones he makes. My only problem with his use of subs is that he seems to think they should only be used as a last resort and not to change the way a game is being played or to try and get a bit of momentum.
Al, Smurf posts regularly on this part of the site as though his opinion is the only one that is correct. He's even shown that on this thread at least he doesn't even look at another opinion - he's right in his own mind. I rarely post in this section (had my fill of dissecting tactics on the hibs.list years ago) but when I see some his shite (copyright shandongreen) I feel occasionally it's only right that another opinion is heard - and other opinions are just as valid. No doubt Smurf flukes a proper opinion occasionally - in this case I reckong there was a reason in keeping Campbell on - see above his mobility keeps more than one player occupied.
Old 12-05-08, 11:18   #42

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by snoots View Post
Al, Smurf posts regularly on this part of the site as though his opinion is the only one that is correct. He's even shown that on this thread at least he doesn't even look at another opinion - he's right in his own mind. I rarely post in this section (had my fill of dissecting tactics on the hibs.list years ago) but when I see some his shite (copyright shandongreen) I feel occasionally it's only right that another opinion is heard - and other opinions are just as valid. No doubt Smurf flukes a proper opinion occasionally - in this case I reckong there was a reason in keeping Campbell on - see above his mobility keeps more than one player occupied.
I don't think Smurf is the only one guilty of thinking his opinion is the only valid one on here. But it's someones opinion, and they are obviously going to think they're right because that's the way they are thinking. Personally speaking I think the amount of folk who have a completely closed mind about football and refuse to accept or acknowledge other alternative opinions is getting worse. You can count on the fingers of a Saudi shoplifter the amount of times you see people accepting a different opinion as being valid and softening their position on here.

While I was watching the game yesterday I was wanting a sub a long time before we made one, but I didn't think there was an obvious choice for who it should be that went off tbh. I thought Campbell was looking the most likely to get onto the end of something played through or force a mistake, so I wasn't sure he should be sacrificed. Fletcher you don't want to lose since he's the most likely to create something from nothing. Morais was very lively yesterday and for a change looked like there might just be an end product from his good build up play. Shiels I thought was awful quiet, but again he can produce something from not a lot.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 12-05-08, 12:56   #43

Casino cash: £17590
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by andyhibee2485 View Post
I agree to an extent that not many subs by Mixu have had a lot of impact, certainly in terms of attack which is what people are talking about.

I think a lot of that is simply that we do not currently have many back up players capable of contributing much, especially attac wise. Benji has simply had an awful season for whatever reason, Nish isn't exactly an 'impact' player and then there's...well Donaldson, O'Brien, Kerr and youth players with little experience.

I'm pretty hopeful this will be different next season. With Zemmama back, possibly Yantorno, hopefully a rejuvenated Benji fit and ready, and (hopefully) improving youngsters like Cambell, Gray and Byrne to add to Fletcher, Nish, Morais (if he continues his form of the last 2 games) and Shiels we will have a lot attacking options.

Surely this will leave us with options ot bring on and make an attacking impact??? I certainly hope so.

Well done, you managed to get all the bugbears into one basket FWIW I thought Donaldson did alright when he came on and very nearly snatched a goal.

Old 12-05-08, 13:25   #44

Casino cash: £6393
Rep Power: 1 andyhibee2485 is on the way to a first team debut

Fair enough over Donaldson, I agreet he did ok yesterday. I was just listing the attacking options we had on the bench yesterday (I didn't mention Chislom who again is young and will hopefully icontinue to improve). I'm not trying to have an easy go at the usual supsects who have got unneccesarily harsh criticism all year, just pointing out that overall these players have not shown they are likely to make a game-changing impact very often, had Benji been on the bench I would have included him, so to have a major go at Mixu's ue of substitutions is a bit unfair.
andyhibee2485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 14:00   #45
caribbean bound radge

Casino cash: £8210
vCash: 2147483647
Rep Power: 12 shandongreen is a jewel in the roughshandongreen is a jewel in the rough

Aye and cheers to you as well, tell me your shit doesn't smell - your the one with "Shan" in yer name.
Look in the paper last week and you'll see Campbell saying that he had a striker's role and was keeping Broadfoot in his own half. That means the full back and the centre half is kept busy as the latter has to cover if the full back gets beat. Bringing Nish on early means only the Centre Half is occupied as he hasn't the pace of the younger guys.

One thing your right about is football is a simple game. Sometimes simpletons don't grasp it though. I've seen Hibs when they just "go for it" - it was called "The Jim Duffy Era".
Its like listening to a coaching manual audio,complete gobbledy gook,confirmed by "look inthe paper",i just had to look at the game as club foot charged forward pulling campbell into playing almost at left back,leaving fletcher on his own up front against the best pairing in scotland.

And as for the bit in bold,is school off the day....

I try not to get involved in arguments with children(even big ones),so run along back to the champ manager book.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/newrep...treply&t=10968
shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 14:10   #46

Casino cash: £2800

Are we seriously blaming Mixu for our loss yesterday? I didn't even read the initial post.

*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 14:12   #47

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by *chops View Post
Are we seriously blaming Mixu for our loss yesterday? I didn't even read the initial post.

No i'm not blaming Mixu. I'll reply to Snoots later on...
Old 12-05-08, 14:21   #48
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by shandongreen View Post
Its like listening to a coaching manual audio,complete gobbledy gook,confirmed by "look inthe paper",i just had to look at the game as club foot charged forward pulling campbell into playing almost at left back,leaving fletcher on his own up front against the best pairing in scotland.
Don't listen then. Ooops just noticed you're not anyway.

And as for the bit in bold,is school off the day....
You started with the shite stuff - then get at me for doing just like you. Pathetic

I try not to get involved in arguments with children(even big ones),so run along back to the champ manager book.
OK - and you can just sit back and feel great about how you know so much better then everyone else.
Old 12-05-08, 14:21   #49
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

No i'm not blaming Mixu. I'll reply to Snoots later on...
So it's my fault now.
Old 12-05-08, 15:20   #50

Casino cash: £1228

Don't listen then. Ooops just noticed you're not anyway.

You started with the shite stuff - then get at me for doing just like you. Pathetic

OK - and you can just sit back and feel great about how you know so much better then everyone else.
but he says you started it and that he is telling the teacher you said he always thinks he is rite wen he doesnt, and his big brother is gettin you after school today btw. grow up mate you dont seem like you want to soften your opinion any more than he does. fwiw i think that mixu is a bit reluctant to make subs when games are calling for them. And i have played pro football so does that mean my opinion is more valid in regard to your earlier post?
Old 12-05-08, 15:28   #51

Casino cash: £3063

I thought given the importance of the game we could have sacrificed a defender for a forward and gone three at the back for the last 15 minutes or so in the hope of snatching a goal. Oh well inter toto it is, early competitive fitba, tidy!
Old 12-05-08, 15:29   #52
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by casey1875 View Post
but he says you started it and that he is telling the teacher you said he always thinks he is rite wen he doesnt, and his big brother is gettin you after school today btw. grow up mate you dont seem like you want to soften your opinion any more than he does. fwiw i think that mixu is a bit reluctant to make subs when games are calling for them. And i have played pro football so does that mean my opinion is more valid in regard to your earlier post?
Difference being all I'm saying is that is my opinion, not that I'm right.
Old 12-05-08, 15:38   #53

Casino cash: £2800

Originally Posted by casey1875 View Post
No mate - if anything, it makes your opinion less valid - everyone knows footballers are thick as shit!

Just kidding, btw
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 15:52   #54

Casino cash: £1228

Originally Posted by *chops View Post
No mate - if anything, it makes your opinion less valid - everyone knows footballers are thick as shit!

Just kidding, btw
Nah you have a good point anyone who knows me on here will tel u i dont half talk shit, more a lack of common sense though lol

why do u think footballers are good at playin with no time to think? they canny do it anyways
Old 12-05-08, 20:41   #55

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

So it's my fault now.
Aye!

Funnily enough i post somethings on here and read other posts and change my mind... Sometimes my opinion is hugely different from the beginning of a thread... Must be that my opinion has been altered or maybe just that i don't know where the feck i am..

So my mind is never closed. I never think i'm right and that's it. If i come across in that way then i need to look at how i communicate. Sometimes of course i will have an opinion and that's that. I feel strongly on it. I believe it. Oh and the counter arguement isn't compelling...

I like Mixu. I'm glad he's our manager. I hope he does well. I expect he'll do well.

However, that shouldn't prevent him from being questioned on a forum. That shouldn't stop him being criticised. Sory state of affairs if that's the case IMHO.

Yesterday, we played the ball through midfield for most of the game and that delighted me as frankly in recent times the quality of football has been rotten. Others share my view. Others have voiced it on here.

So the football was better. I thought Celtic were pretty poor yesterday. No great shakes IMHO. They looked nervous. The longer it went without getting that second goal you could detect creeping nervousness. The Mcgeady shot that went over the bar when he ought to have burst the net...

Had we equalised there would have been panic on and off the park by those Celtc minded. League over. We needed a draw minimum. We're a goal down and frankly never looked like scoring in all honesty.

As Mixu said afterwards up front we were "Blunt". However, i don't recall any chances created for Fletcher.. I recall Fletcher who got battered all game as he played the lone striker. He worked his socks off. He created a half chance for himself out of nothing in the first half.

I stated use of substitutes was rotten but i'd go further actually... I feel Mixu has yet to demonstrate an ability to change a game from the sideline. Where's the plan B? We never looked like scoring so why wait to take Canning off at right back for Nish so late in the game that Nish's sending off beat him to it?

Mixu knows more about football in his farts than i'll ever know but yesterday we needed a goal. It didn't look like it was coming and i saw no evidence that Mixu knew how to change the shape from the sideline.

It was our cup final yesterday. In a cup final you gamble when 1-0 down with the clock ticking do you not?

He could have gone with 3 at the back with Murray tucking in and Jones going up front. He could have done lots of things but he didn't.. He went like for like with Donaldson on for Campbell.

A missed opportunity. And that's rotten.
Old 13-05-08, 00:19   #56
Everybody is a Radge

Cheers Smurf, that a really well considered and balanced replay. I think it just bugs me when things are addressed straight to the manager - (reminds me too much of John Findlay the Jittery Jambo (no offence) ), sounds a bit arrogant but you probably didn't mean it that way - we were all a bit disappointed yesterday after all.

I totally see what you mean re-subs during the game but that doesn't mean there isn't a reason for not making one. If you go for broke too early at Parkhead it can backfire on you badly EUFA qualification or not - you've seen it before and I've seen it before. Canning's sending off scuppered the move anyway. Collins did indeed make some subs that contributed but it could be argued he got initial selection badly wrong in the first place.

For what it's worth here's RC's interview after the huns game, wouldn't surprise me if had a similar role yesterday -Doens't sound very complicated to me. ,-

"Against Rangers I didn't have too much to do offensively as I was asked to keep tabs on Kirk Broadfoot so I had to track him but I was just happy to be on the pitch so would have done any job."

Ross Campbell reckons he can fire Hibs to glory - Scotsman.com Sport
Old 13-05-08, 09:36   #57

Casino cash: £2567

Even if you don't agree on subs, surely there was a definite call to change the shape. Can anyone remember any match where Mixu has actually changed the formation during the game? (Not being sarky, genuinely can't remember.)
Old 13-05-08, 10:54   #58

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer View Post
Even if you don't agree on subs, surely there was a definite call to change the shape. Can anyone remember any match where Mixu has actually changed the formation during the game? (Not being sarky, genuinely can't remember.)
Think that's been the biggest contrast with the JC era. Collins fiddled about with the team during games like he was on crystal meth. It worked in some games, it didn't work in others, but at least you felt there was going to be a change if it wasn't working. At times the changes were probably done too much and the players never settled into any of the systems getting played.

There's something to be said for both approaches. If players are training all week knowing how they'll be playing on a Saturday it is bound to make them comfy with the system and knowing their jobs. But it leaves you a bit fucked if they then can't adapt to play any other way. The JC system was to get the most amount of flexibility possible, but it did take players away from playing in positions they were comfy at.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 13-05-08, 11:04   #59

Casino cash: £2690

Bet Jockey Wilson is gutted he took a strop,this thread would his main vein throbbing.

IMO it was a bit baffling as to why Mixu didnt put on Nish sooner or why he put Donaldson on first. Felt we could have taken Rankin off as he yet again had a quiet game. Saying that,being a fitba manager is a tough job.Everyone seems to know the job better than the guy in charge.
alexi is offline   Reply With Quote