Old 10-05-08, 17:11   #1

*chops is on the way to a first team debut
Gatheussi's impact on this season.

It's really remarkable what an impact that a few moments of stupidity from this guy have had on our season.

The two penalties he gave away have, IMO, cost us at least 3 points. Maybe we wouldn't have won both games in which penalties were conceded, but I think that at the very least, we'd have won one, and drawn the other. Instead, we took a single point from those two games, rather than the 4, or possibly 6, that we should have. Had this happened, we'd be sitting 3rd just now, on 56 points, level with Motherwell after today's game, and ahead of them on goal difference. As it stands, we're 4 points behind them, and, once we've played Celtic, they'll have a game in hand.

I'm not sure about blaming all of this on Gatheussi, as doubtless there were other chances to win the games in which he messed up, and, in any case, had our away form not been so disgusting all season, there would be no question about us finishing 3rd in the League anyway, as we'd have a lead of about 9 points at this point.

I would say that had this not happened, I'd be feeling a lot more confident about our chances than I do just now. I still think we can do it, but the mistakes Gatheussi made in first giving away the penalty v Utd, then giving away the penalty v Aberdeen, before talking himself into a red card and throwing away any chance we had of making a come back in that game, have decreased the ease with which we could have achieved third place this season. If we do it, it's going to be a massive achievement, as Celtic know they have to win tomorrow to be in with a shout of winning the League.
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 17:13   #2

TattooedHibee has a spectacular aura about
Re: Gatheussi's impact on this season.

Are we honestly going top blame Gatthuessi for not making 3rd? I didn't even read the post.

Old 10-05-08, 17:15   #3

hughieo is on the way to a first team debut

scapegoat stuff is boring
Old 10-05-08, 17:16   #4

wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Take it we're just going to ignore the penalties others have given away this season? And ignore the fact that both penalties were incredibly soft?

If football is a non contact sport they're both penalties. But it isn't. De Vries dived, and so did Miller for both penalties. There may have been contact but in neither case was it remotely close enough to knock them over.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 10-05-08, 17:19   #5

Originally Posted by *chops
I'm not sure about blaming all of this on Gatheussi, as doubtless there were other chances to win the games in which he messed up, and, in any case, had our away form not been so disgusting all season, there would be no question about us finishing 3rd in the League anyway, as we'd have a lead of about 9 points at this point.
Originally Posted by TattooedHibee View Post
Are we honestly going top blame Gatthuessi for not making 3rd? I didn't even read the post.
Perhaps you should have read the post then.

I'm not trying to say it's his fault. It's a team game, and all that. I'm just saying that these things haven't exactly made it easy for the rest of the team.

I don't think he should be made a scapegoat, or that he should be emptied from the club in the summer. I think he's a decent enough attacking full back, who has made a couple of very important mistakes.
Old 10-05-08, 17:20   #6
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by *chops View Post
It's really remarkable what an impact that a few moments of stupidity from this guy have had on our season.

The two penalties he gave away have, IMO, cost us at least 3 points. Maybe we wouldn't have won both games in which penalties were conceded, but I think that at the very least, we'd have won one, and drawn the other. Instead, we took a single point from those two games, rather than the 4, or possibly 6, that we should have. Had this happened, we'd be sitting 3rd just now, on 56 points, level with Motherwell after today's game, and ahead of them on goal difference. As it stands, we're 4 points behind them, and, once we've played Celtic, they'll have a game in hand.

I would say that had this not happened, I'd be feeling a lot more confident about our chances than I do just now. I still think we can do it, but the mistakes Gatheussi made in first giving away the penalty v Utd, then giving away the penalty v Aberdeen, before talking himself into a red card and throwing away any chance we had of making a come back in that game, have decreased the ease with which we could have achieved third place this season. If we do it, it's going to be a massive achievement, as Celtic know they have to win tomorrow to be in with a shout of winning the League.
What impact do you think John Collins has had on this season? Becasue to be perfectly honest with you the shambles that he left behind should have consigned us to the bottom 6, lucky for us Mixu sorted it.Gatheussi has made individual errors that have cost us points...he's not the only one.Get off his back and get behind him and the rest of the team.The next two games are crucial and what we dinny need right now are threads like this with negativity.

C'mon the Hibees!

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 17:22   #7
HGV Learner RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice
How can we blame one person for a TEAM not playing at there best for some off the season? Yep his actions have contributed to the situation but i feel its unfair to blame him for the situation butPosted via Mobile Device
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 17:23   #8

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Take it we're just going to ignore the penalties others have given away this season? And ignore the fact that both penalties were incredibly soft?

If football is a non contact sport they're both penalties. But it isn't. De Vries dived, and so did Miller for both penalties. There may have been contact but in neither case was it remotely close enough to knock them over.
No, I'm not ignoring the rest of the season at all. I felt my point regarding the shiteyness of our away form this season made that clear.

I agree that they were soft penalties, but the fact is that he displayed a degree of stupidity in allowing the opposing players to take advantage of his body position in the way that they did. In both cases, I feel the opposing players have a reputation for doing things like that - as Gatheussi is new to the SPL, and Scotland as a whole, it's not really his fault that he clearly didn't know that if you even fart in Miller's direction in the box, he'll hit the turf. He should have known that, though - either his manager, or his team mates, should have told him.
Old 10-05-08, 17:27   #9

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

Don't think the original poster is having an actual go at Gathuessi, just pointing out that he's cost us with individual errors at a crucial point in the season. Don't really see how anyone can argue with that.

FWIW I think if Gathuessi plays tomorrow he'll do ok, played well against Celtc the last time around. My overall opinion of him over the whole season is that he is excellent going forward, and lends himself well to supporting attacks. But is lacking in the defensive department at times. A poor-man's Steven Whittaker if you will (tin hat on!)
Old 10-05-08, 17:28   #10

Originally Posted by Broxburn_Hibby View Post
What impact do you think John Collins has had on this season? Becasue to be perfectly honest with you the shambles that he left behind should have consigned us to the bottom 6, lucky for us Mixu sorted it.Gatheussi has made individual errors that have cost us points...he's not the only one.Get off his back and get behind him and the rest of the team.The next two games are crucial and what we dinny need right now are threads like this with negativity.

C'mon the Hibees!
I'm well aware that the next two games are crucial - my posts in other threads should have revealed that I thought from the start of the split that we'd finish 3rd, and that I also think that we've got every chance of finishing 3rd by picking up at least 4 points in our next two games.

I think John Collins had a neutral impact on us this season. The great run we had at the start of the season is cancelled out by the shite he produced after that. We're the only team to take anything from Ibrox in the league this season, and that was a result achieved under John Collins.

I'm not trying to say that Gatheussi is the only player who's made any errors this season - I'm pointing out that he's been the unfortunate one to have these things happen at the crucial part of the season - Alex Ferguson's famous "squeaky bum time".
Old 10-05-08, 17:31   #11

Kenny is on the way to a first team debut

tommy craig would be my most likely candidate for scapegoat...
Old 10-05-08, 17:32   #12

Well we could of been in a far better position than we are now if it where not for him....

The STUPID penalty he gave away against D'Utd then to make it worse he does it again the next week when he should not even be playing because of his shocking performance the previous week.

Why play a player who isn't even a defender by the looks of it when we have a far better player in Hanlon....Its a joke!!

http://www.capitalgreens.co.uk/forum...;boardseen#new

Old 10-05-08, 17:44   #13

Tibs will become famous soon enough

These things balance themselves out over the season though. Gathuessi may have cost us 4 points, but there have been more than a few games earlier in the season where we were very lucky to win. games like the 1-0 at Ibrox, and the 3-2 win over Celtic. 3rd place is something you need to earn over the entire season, and to be honest I don't think we deserve it. Far too many awful performances
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 17:45   #14

Originally Posted by bigmanandy View Post
Well we could of been in a far better position than we are now if it where not for him....

The STUPID penalty he gave away against D'Utd then to make it worse he does it again the next week when he should not even be playing because of his shocking performance the previous week.

Why play a player who isn't even a defender by the looks of it when we have a far better player in Hanlon....Its a joke!!
I forgot the season started in April.
Take yer fùcking heid oaf yer bellend. Ye dinny half talk shîte oan here. All opinions, nae substance.

Out of interest, what positions do both Gatthuessi and Hanlon play?

Old 10-05-08, 17:47   #15

I forgot the season started in April.
Take yer fùcking heid oaf yer bellend. Ye dinny half talk shîte oan here. All opinions, nae substance.

Out of interest, what positions do both Gatthuessi and Hanlon play?
Thats the fucking point in the site....You have your own oppinion, you dont need to agree with it but you can discuss it....dont waste my time!!

Old 10-05-08, 17:51   #16

Originally Posted by bigmanandy View Post
Thats the fucking point in the site....You have your own oppinion, you dont need to agree with it but you can discuss it....dont waste my time!!
No if yer posting shîte. There's nae gist behind anything ye post.

Old 10-05-08, 17:55   #17

I am simply posting what i think....Ive always posted what i think, put up with the crap i sometimes get back and i continue to do that.

And is there any 'gist' in anything you post

Old 10-05-08, 17:57   #18

Yer arse , Hanlon has been great when filling in at right back this season
Old 10-05-08, 18:01   #19

I am simply posting what i think....Ive always posted what i think, put up with the crap i sometimes get back and i continue to do that.

And is there any 'gist' in anything you post

I dont rate Gattussi like many fans who would rather see Hanlon in at that right back position...I travelled up to Aberdeen and seen him play and fair enough he did play quite good in the first half but he still didn't look like a defender and never has done all season and in the second half of that game he made the same mistake he should of learned from the week before and its not just him but Mixu needs to take a look at him aswell and see the error he is making in playing him, its a bit like the Whittaker theory when he was at Hibs.

Thiery has had his good games but i really dont rate him as a defender and think that he would be a better wing player as his running up the wings seems to be really good and he scored a amazing goal earliar on in the season against Celtic so i dont understand why we dont try and play him in that wing position like we tried to do with Whittiker, I mean why not just try it?.

Hanlon (if you have ever seen him play) is a very good player and seemed to be dropped out the squad for no reason what so ever after having a good run in the first team and he should still be there as everyone has told me that the lad has strolled through the reserves and very rarely ever puts a foot wrong.

Old 10-05-08, 18:03   #20
Salvey Radge

Stew the Hibee has a spectacular aura about

Why are we all being negative

the way some of us are acting is as if we have already lost 3rd place. As it stands, Motherwell are surely favourites to win the 3rd spot, but we still have the ability to beat Celtc, and we have to get behind the players, try to push them on to a victory, then hopefully 3rd place, instead of blaming them.

www.capitalgreens.co.uk - The official website of the Capital Greens.

Please sign up for our newsletters, and sign up to the site. It's worth it, I promise
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Trial match with salvesen
Trial played, hopefully signed.
Stew the Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote