Old 10-05-08, 09:16   #1

Rep Power: 1 The Godfather is on the way to a first team debut
Default Is "Standing up and be counted" costing us more?

Hi Guys, don't know if this has been done to death already but I was just reading over on the Net.com and some of the increase's of season tickets at Easter Road seem OTT.

I have been a season ticket holder in the Edinburgh suite for the past 4 years and the FF before that and the East before that.

I first bought by Edinburgh suite ticket for approx £850.00 4 years ago, Then £950 threes years ago, then two years ago £1000 and last year £1050 this year it is going to cost me £1,100 to get my seat again. that's in increase over the four years off £250.00. I know that people may say, buy a ticket elsewhere in a cheaper area. But I just want to get a feel for what other areass have had large increase's

Just a thought "Stand Up and Be Counted" off which 11,500 of us have done is actually costing us more because the club have a demand for tickets and can up the charge to suit, dosn't seem fair does it.
The Godfather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 09:28   #2

Default Re: Is "Standing up and be counted" costing us more?

Originally Posted by The Godfather View Post

Just a thought "Stand Up and Be Counted" off which 11,500 of us have done is actually costing us more because the club have a demand for tickets and can up the charge to suit, dosn't seem fair does it.
not sure if the demand will be there for much longer, would be very surprised if next season's ST sales match this season's. An increase of £250 over 4 years is definitely a bit much considering that, if anything, the product on the pitch has only got worse over the last few years
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 09:32   #3

Hi Guys, don't know if this has been done to death already but I was just reading over on the Net.com and some of the increase's of season tickets at Easter Road seem OTT.

I have been a season ticket holder in the Edinburgh suite for the past 4 years and the FF before that and the East before that.

I first bought by Edinburgh suite ticket for approx £850.00 4 years ago, Then £950 threes years ago, then two years ago £1000 and last year £1050 this year it is going to cost me £1,100 to get my seat again. that's in increase over the four years off £250.00. I know that people may say, buy a ticket elsewhere in a cheaper area. But I just want to get a feel for what other areass have had large increase's

It's more than double the rate of inflation over the 4 years. But hey, I bet you got a fiver off that lurid away kit.

I wonder how long it'll be before people just can't justify paying the amount of money it now costs.

W.O.T.C.
Old 10-05-08, 09:44   #4

Originally Posted by hibadelic View Post
I wonder how long it'll be before people just can't justify paying the amount of money it now costs.
2 seasons at most,once £30 a match becomes the norm that'll be it for me i reckon.

I'll go to Tynie,Aberdeen and Inverness next season just for the day out factor,the rest aren't worth it.
Old 10-05-08, 10:12   #5

The East Stand S/T has gone up about £25-30 quid this season from last. About £1-1.50 a game for the everyday punter.

Hibernian FC are subject to inflation like every person/ business in the country.

I don't think it is an unreasonable price rice.

I am more bothered about the price i will have to pay for fuel to get to the bloody games!

You on the other hand chose the dear seats & are therefore probably assumed by HFC to have more cash than sense.

Ye pay for padded seat & prawn sandwiches mate.

Come back to the East Stand & bring yer own sandwiches & a cushion for yer erse.:YAYYY:

Funnily enough i was speaking to a dons supporter yesterday who told me that Aberdeen have frozen their S/T prices because their fans have had to fork out for the extra European matches.

Could simply be that they are struggling to get folk through the gate.
Old 10-05-08, 13:13   #6

Come back to the East Stand & bring yer own sandwiches & a cushion for yer erse.:YAYYY:

Like I said it's just that I feel the fans are being asked to pay to much in increases every season. I paid to go to the Edinburgh Suite 4 years ago cause I could afford it, year on year it is getting harder to pay even though my income has increased with inflation my season ticket has gone up well above the rate of inflation.

If the club is just paying of debt, does that mean I am just there to ensure that STF and RP get a better return on their investemnt when they choose to sell. If more money was being spent on players then maybe I wouldn't be such a moan, but the more we pay the less debt we have which is a good thing (but for who )

I will buy my season ticket this year, but for the first time I have thought hard about wether or not I should. Not because of the lack of success or good football (30 years a hibee and had plenty of that) but because I am starting to wonder if I/we are appraciatted as fans or just thought off and customers by this board determined to balance the books (Note that the term balance the books means break even and we have made an operating profit for the past 3 years).

Remember without the fans "Standing up and being counted" what position would hibs be in at this moment. I love this club, I just wish that it would start to show love back (Fuck I think i'm turning into a girl) anyway hopefully you get what i'm trying to say
Old 10-05-08, 13:25   #7

Like I said it's just that I feel the fans are being asked to pay to much in increases every season. I paid to go to the Edinburgh Suite 4 years ago cause I could afford it, year on year it is getting harder to pay even though my income has increased with inflation my season ticket has gone up well above the rate of inflation.

If the club is just paying of debt, does that mean I am just there to ensure that STF and RP get a better return on their investemnt when they choose to sell. If more money was being spent on players then maybe I wouldn't be such a moan, but the more we pay the less debt we have which is a good thing (but for who )

I will buy my season ticket this year, but for the first time I have thought hard about wether or not I should. Not because of the lack of success or good football (30 years a hibee and had plenty of that) but because I am starting to wonder if I/we are appraciatted as fans or just thought off and customers by this board determined to balance the books (Note that the term balance the books means break even and we have made an operating profit for the past 3 years).

Remember without the fans "Standing up and being counted" what position would hibs be in at this moment. I love this club, I just wish that it would start to show love back (Fuck I think i'm turning into a girl) anyway hopefully you get what i'm trying to say
I BOUGHT MY SEASON TICKET AND THINK IT'S TREMENDOUS VALUE,1 ADULT AND 5 CONCESSIONS FOR UNDER 800 QUID IN THE FF. IF YOU THINK YOU ARE PAYING TOO MUCH YOU ARE OBVIOUSLY IN THE WRONG SEATS.
russ dinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 13:37   #8

Serious question mate, what do you actually get for your £1100 in the Edinburgh suite? Presumably a nice padded seat in the middle section of the West, but what else? Access to a bar at HT/FT possibly?

It's just that my ST in the West upper only cost £400, and I have a great view of the match just right of centre.
Old 10-05-08, 13:50   #9

vCash: 11989
Rep Power: 0 bigmanandy is just really nicebigmanandy is just really nice

Prices at games are too expensive and its not going to be long before we see the attendances at ER drop because of the high increase in prices which people cant afford to pay every season.

I for one struggled to get the money and had to get a lend and am now struggling to pay that back so next season will probaly be my last as a ST Holder until prices go down.

Old 10-05-08, 13:57   #10

Come on be honest it's not the money now is it.

You can afford to pay £1,100 a season but if you so choose you could get a seat 25 yards to your left or right for £400 so saving yourself £700 a year.

Your an 'Edinburgh Club' member for reasons of prestige and belonging and the right to spend your hard earned money as you so choose but dinnae harp on about your season ticket going up beyond the levels of inflation and that you are not sure if you can afford it because I'll start to cry.

Despite what I say from time to time about 'Saint Rodney' I think Hibs are much more in touch with the supporters than they ever have been and that they have made great strides in treating them as supporters first and customers second. I wouldn't exactly call Hibs 'The listening club' but they are much better than they used to be.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 16:13   #11

vCash: 9000

Originally Posted by bigmanandy View Post
Prices at games are too expensive and its not going to be long before we see the attendances at ER drop because of the high increase in prices which people cant afford to pay every season.

I for one struggled to get the money and had to get a lend and am now struggling to pay that back so next season will probaly be my last as a ST Holder until prices go down.
Not if you actually budget over the season, put the money that you would spend going to see the game away so when next years STs come up for renewal you have most of the cost already sorted. I got 2 STs for Hibs, 1 for Newcastle and 2 Newcastle Rugby STs by doing that after I got my first set, a lot easier
Gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme

Cos, I'm all right, I'm all right
Union Jack, fly the flag
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 18:21   #12

Originally Posted by SlovSam View Post
Come on be honest it's not the money now is it.

You can afford to pay £1,100 a season but if you so choose you could get a seat 25 yards to your left or right for £400 so saving yourself £700 a year.

Your an 'Edinburgh Club' member for reasons of prestige and belonging and the right to spend your hard earned money as you so choose but dinnae harp on about your season ticket going up beyond the levels of inflation and that you are not sure if you can afford it because I'll start to cry.

Despite what I say from time to time about 'Saint Rodney' I think Hibs are much more in touch with the supporters than they ever have been and that they have made great strides in treating them as supporters first and customers second. I wouldn't exactly call Hibs 'The listening club' but they are much better than they used to be.
Your right mate just cause I can afford an expensive seat I have no right to moan if it gets that expensive that I can no longer afford it and I shouldn't have the right to cry about it and just shut up and listen to other people moan about cheaper seats getting more expensive
Old 10-05-08, 18:27   #13
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Rep Power: 40 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by bigmanandy View Post

In saying that , you're unemployed aren't you so thats one reason why you are struggling . Interesting though that the Broomloan is cheaper for an adult ST than our East
Old 10-05-08, 18:30   #14

I think the club really should have frozen all season ticket prices this coming season from last.

Things are tough in the current economic climate except a certain football club that's generated Lottery Rollover transfer funds in the past year yet reinvested none of it back on the park...
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 18:31   #15

I agree that the prices are going up, a big jump in price for 15 -18 to their first adult one. But if you save up over the year it makes it easier, i have to renew 2 adult and 1, 15-18.
janehfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 18:35   #16
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Rep Power: 40 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by janehfc View Post
I agree that the prices are going up, a big jump in price for 15 -18 to their first adult one. But if you save up over the year it makes it easier, i have to renew 2 adult and 1, 15-18.
I reckon the instalment plan is the only saving grace , without it i'd certainly be walking up
Old 10-05-08, 18:39   #17

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
I reckon the instalment plan is the only saving grace , without it i'd certainly be walking up
Same for me. One of the good things Hibs have done over the past few years has been the payment plan.
Old 10-05-08, 18:42   #18

Guys,

The point of the original post was that I'm interested in knowing if anyone thinks that if we had a average season tickts of about 6000 like we had a few years ago would the board still be putting the prices up?

The point is because we have come out in numbers and bought season tickets the board are pushing prices up, supply and demand theory. I personally think that the club should show loyalty to the fans who did "Stand Up and Be counted" in what ever stand they sit or however much their season tickets cost.

Loyalty schemes that you can build up points and get free gifts or discounts not this buy now and we giive you £5 of your next purchase etc
Old 10-05-08, 18:49   #19

Originally Posted by russ dinse View Post
I BOUGHT MY SEASON TICKET AND THINK IT'S TREMENDOUS VALUE,1 ADULT AND 5 CONCESSIONS FOR UNDER 800 QUID IN THE FF. IF YOU THINK YOU ARE PAYING TOO MUCH YOU ARE OBVIOUSLY IN THE WRONG SEATS.
WHY ARE YOU SHOUTING?
Old 10-05-08, 19:50   #20