General HIBS Chat Hibernian Forum for all things Hibs.
Please post NON Hibs Content in the Cowshed.

Old 09-05-08, 12:24   #1

Default new signings in summer?

just thinking on who we could sign and what we need in summer? any ideas??
zuma#7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 12:36   #2

Default Re: new signings in summer?

first of all welcome to the bounce

About your question, it s up on how much hibs could pay
am_moroccan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 12:41   #3

cheers, if fletch leaves then i think well need a striker but maybe a wing back .
Old 09-05-08, 12:44   #4

Rep Power: 0 andyhibee2485 is on the way to a first team debut

It will probably depend on who leaves we know Rod will not want an escalating wage bill. I would imagine Boozy will be off, and any offers for Donaldson and O'Brien would be willingly accepted. The two penalties, red card and signing of Van Zanten surely spells the end of Gatheussi's Hibs career as well. The young midfielder Ayres was also released I believe. Also, of course, Real Madrid will be buying Fletcher when they give up on Ronaldo

I think it's been said a lot that the fullback and midfield positions require strengthening. Van Zanten covers one of those. We also apparently have first option on Yantorno who seemingly can play a few positions although I have no real knowldge of him..
Mark Kerr (free) and Alan Gow (possibly be available on loan) have both been linked with Hearts and I think these would both be excellent signings. Willo Flood is only on loan at Dundee United I think should be within our price range. Then there's the never ending Riordan rumour that was sparked of again after the rangers game...please oh please be true.
andyhibee2485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 12:52   #5

i was thinking maybe billy sharp from sheff utd if fletch leaves but he might cost a few million
Old 09-05-08, 12:54   #6

wouldnt mind seeing gow or riordan coming in also mccormack could be avaliable for a small fee at motherwell also another full back not sure who but we could do with another for the left side.Ian harte been released by sunderland but i think would be well out our wage structure saying that who isnt.
sauzee 1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 13:02   #7

Originally Posted by sauzee 1875 View Post
wouldnt mind seeing gow or riordan coming in also mccormack could be avaliable for a small fee at motherwell also another full back not sure who but we could do with another for the left side.Ian harte been released by sunderland but i think would be well out our wage structure saying that who isnt.
has he not already signed for a pre contract for an english team?
DonegalHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 13:04   #8

Rep Power: 0 andyhibee2485 is on the way to a first team debut

Did McCormack not already agree to go to Wigan in January? I'm sure I remember this but I've seen his name banded about a lot by Hearts fans as well so maybe I'm wrong here.
andyhibee2485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 13:41   #9

The two penalties, red card and signing of Van Zanten surely spells the end of Gatheussi's Hibs career as well.
Harsh. I think he should be kept and given another chance, he has pace and goes forward very well. I know next to nothing about Van Zanten, and Mixu thought Zarabi was a player, so not fail safe.
Old 09-05-08, 13:56   #10

Rep Power: 3 Stew the Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by DonegalHibee View Post
has he not already signed for a pre contract for an english team?
Originally Posted by andyhibee2485 View Post
Did McCormack not already agree to go to Wigan in January? I'm sure I remember this but I've seen his name banded about a lot by Hearts fans as well so maybe I'm wrong here.
Spot on.

Motherwell fans weren't too happy when they found out. Apparently the reason why he started on the bench a few times after January.
“I am very happy to take up this opportunity. Everyone knows of my great affection for this Club, and I believe my desire to see teams play exciting, attacking and intelligent football fits well with the Club’s philosophy.
Mixu Paatelainen Hibernian FC Manager 10/1/07
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Trial match with salvesen
Trial played, hopefully signed.
Stew the Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 14:06   #11

Originally Posted by Stew the Hibee View Post
Spot on.

Motherwell fans weren't too happy when they found out. Apparently the reason why he started on the bench a few times after January.
Mccormank was in yesterdays paper saying now that he has his first scotland call up he might be prepared to stay in scotland rather than go down to england were he might not feature as much.He also says that he wont decide his future until he sees if Motherwell secure 3rd(HOPE NOT THOUGH).As hes under 23 we would still have to pay a small fee but surley we can pay more wages than motherwell.I admit until i read his article yesterday i also thought he had signed a pre contract with wigan
sauzee 1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 14:07   #12

He was quoted in the papers earlier in the week saying that he might stay if they get 3rd.
Willief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 14:26   #13

Ross mc is a good player but dont think he'll come near us like .

I think gow is a real possiblity but i think only if donaldson leaves or some1 else, we have plenty strikers.

Would be a shame if o'brine leaves and hes actually a great player but a can't get my head round him not playing well once this season, so i'd be looking for mixu to punt him and bring in a left winger and left back.

I feel they are 2 weak position for us don't no who could come in there but think we've been weak dwn the left since murphy left.

STEPHEN
stephenfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 15:04   #14

Rep Power: 2 dangerousdavid is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Willief View Post
He was quoted in the papers earlier in the week saying that he might stay if they get 3rd.
Maybe he'll come to us when we beat Motherweel to 3rd then
I am in Ingurland watching The Open with me Da for his 50th b-day
dangerousdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 16:34   #15

Originally Posted by EasterToad View Post
Harsh. I think he should be kept and given another chance, he has pace and goes forward very well. I know next to nothing about Van Zanten, and Mixu thought Zarabi was a player, so not fail safe.
Not harsh. Get shot of him asap. For someone that "gets froward very well" I can only remember one goal and no assists from him...
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 17:10   #16

Rep Power: 3 stevehfc4life is on the way to a first team debut

Noal Hunts and good player and a decent goalscorer??? No chance he would come near us tho We need to get rid off Zarabi and Gatheussi imo.
Old 09-05-08, 17:43   #17
Perth Radge

john paul kissock, wee terrier on loan at gretna from everton, liked what ive saw of him this season, wouldnt mind seeing him at er, reckon everton may price him out of our league though
jakey boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 21:09   #18

I'd like to go for Craig Beattie who will nae doubt be emptied by West Brom or Stevie Thompson, who is not wanted at Cardiff.
hibeebenji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 23:42   #19

Originally Posted by zuma#7 View Post
i was thinking maybe billy sharp from sheff utd if fletch leaves but he might cost a few million
The word "million" alone will price him out of our range. The words "a few" are superfluous.