LinkBack (4) Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-08, 09:30   #1

Default Date for Barcelona Game

Apologies if this has already been posted, we will be playing Barca at Murrayfield on the 4th of August, also playing Wigan at ER the previous week.
kevinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 09:54   #2

Default Re: Date for Barcelona Game

Originally Posted by kevinc View Post
Apologies if this has already been posted, we will be playing Barca at Murrayfield on the 4th of August, also playing Wigan at ER the previous week.
Says who?
russ dinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 10:30   #3

Says someone who is involved in the organisation of the event.
Old 09-05-08, 10:32   #4

Says someone who is involved in the organisation of the event.

do these fixtures depend on whether we're playing in the intertoto or will they go ahead regardless?
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 10:34   #5

vCash: 46000

Monday

Why not a Saturday Get a much bigger crowd.
Old 09-05-08, 10:43   #6

I'll wait for official news about our fixtures as they may change regarding intertoto or uefa cup action.
Old 09-05-08, 10:50   #7

Originally Posted by stickyRicky View Post
I'll wait for official news about our fixtures as they may change regarding intertoto or uefa cup action.
I'm sure the date date could be subject to change, however, the company organising the corporate side of things and L&B Police have been given this date.
Old 09-05-08, 11:09   #8

vCash: 46000

Originally Posted by Briant View Post
Monday

Why not a Saturday Get a much bigger crowd.

I'll rephrase that...............

Why a Monday
Old 09-05-08, 11:21   #9

League campaign under way by then? Well the opening day of the season surely.

Old 09-05-08, 11:25   #10

I think we're making a big mistake playing it at Murrayfield,does anyone think there will be a big demand for the game?
Old 09-05-08, 11:37   #11

Originally Posted by russ dinse View Post
I think we're making a big mistake playing it at Murrayfield,does anyone think there will be a big demand for the game?
Disappointed Hibs have decided to do this if it is the case. Easter Road I might have been tempted but Murrayfield, nah give me Crewe Alexandria at Easter Road.

Old 09-05-08, 11:39   #12

Originally Posted by russ dinse View Post
From Hibs fans? Yes, probably around 20,000? But there's no way we'll match the attendance the scumbos had last year, as I would imagine a large chunk of that support were neutrals just interested in seeing a top class side playing on their doorstep. I'd doubt there would be such a large neutral turnout this time around.
Old 09-05-08, 11:49   #13

Originally Posted by TattooedHibee View Post
Disappointed Hibs have decided to do this if it is the case. Easter Road I might have been tempted but Murrayfield, nah give me Crewe Alexandria at Easter Road.
I'm with you on that score,and i wonder how many are of the same mind.
Old 09-05-08, 11:57   #14
The Lass thats Radge About.........................

vCash: 121400

I'm sure the date date could be subject to change, however, the company organising the corporate side of things and L&B Police have been given this date.
Weird as we have been given a different date by folk at visit scotland about the players staying at the hotel ! I won't believe anything until I get a rooming list !

Not saying your info is wrong btw as its more than likely ours !!
Old 09-05-08, 12:30   #15

Rep Power: 0 boomtown green is on the way to a first team debut

Totally agree we don't need this especially if comes after the start of the season,a few pre-season games against pemiership or championship teams at Easter Road would do just fine.Home comforts and all that
boomtown green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 12:45   #16

Who cares if the Scumbos have played them? If this is genuine does no one want to look forward tp the Hibees playing arguably the best team in Europe. Honestly get a grip - I'll be going along for sure
likeasalmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 12:53   #17

Originally Posted by likeasalmon View Post
Who cares if the Scumbos have played them? If this is genuine does no one want to look forward tp the Hibees playing arguably the best team in Europe. Honestly get a grip - I'll be going along for sure
At Murrayfield against the 3rd best team in Spain? I'll pass. Hibs willnae benefit from heidless chicken fitbaw.

Old 09-05-08, 13:18   #18

Rep Power: 34 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

At Murrayfield against the 3rd best team in Spain? I'll pass. Hibs willnae benefit from heidless chicken fitbaw.
The season starts on the 9th this year.

I also agree, I hope we dont play Barca on that date.

Why??? Well I am in bloody Mallorca that week
Old 09-05-08, 13:23   #19

Originally Posted by likeasalmon View Post
You obviously never watched the Grand Classico the other night cos they were absolutely spanked by Real Madrid and looked very average. They are going to have to qualify for the Champions League next year.

I'll probably have to go and take my wee brother but I'd much rather play the game at Easter Road. Full house and probably a good atmosphere.

Anyone else think it's rubbish that we're going to put our titles as "the only team in Scotland with an unbeaten record against Barcelona" at risk for a meaningless training game?!
Sauzee_62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 13:30   #20

Correct in that they are currently the third best team in Spain (at best) rather than the best team in Europe. But "heidless chickens"? That's taking it a bit far surely. If Champions League semi-finalists play heidless chicken fitba how would you describe the teams we play every other week?

I'd be very interested in going to this game (if it is confirmed) and I happen to be in Scotland at the time. I agree however, that it will not attract as big a crowd as Hearts v Barcelona last summer, due to it no longer being such a novelty for the Scottish public. No reason not to play the game in my opinion however. Can't understand the lack of interest from many of our fans. If it was Man U at Murrayfield would people still be moaning about it?
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 13:39   #21
Van Zanten Ya Radge

vCash: 24000

Originally Posted by GalegoHibs View Post
Correct in that they are currently the third best team in Spain (at best) rather than the best team in Europe. But "heidless chickens"? That's taking it a bit far surely. If Champions League semi-finalists play heidless chicken fitba how would you describe the teams we play every other week?

I'd be very interested in going to this game (if it is confirmed) and I happen to be in Scotland at the time. I agree however, that it will not attract as big a crowd as Hearts v Barcelona last summer, due to it no longer being such a novelty for the Scottish public. No reason not to play the game in my opinion however. Can't understand the lack of interest from many of our fans. If it was Man U at Murrayfield would people still be moaning about it?

I think what TH meant was that the Hibs players would end up running about like heidless chickens while Barca stroke the ball about without breaking a sweat.A likely scenario if you ask me.

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 14:11   #22

Hope the date changes as im in Turkey then
hibb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-08, 14:35   #23