Is it mathematically possible for us to make Europe?
I've a funny feeling we can't.
My point is...
Re: Is it mathematically possible for us to make Europe?
... is what?? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. If Hibs win both their last two games( or draw with Celtc and beat 'Well) then we will finish 3rd, as we have a far superior goal difference over 'Well. Also, provided Dundee Untied don't do the same against both OF, as we'd have to score 1 more goal than them. So, yes, it is mathematically possible that we can make Europe from 3rd place.
We'll draw against the other half of Scotland's shame and pump an over arrogant led McGhee Motherwell.
Lovin' your spirit, K. Fingers and toes crossed that I get left at home long enough to catch the last game of the season. After volunteering to stay offshore an extra 3 days (missing the Huns game) then being fogbound for a further 2 days (of my holidays), I think they owe me that. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
I think we can even get away with only beating Motherwell, provided they don't beat Aberdeen tomorrow. Motherwell then lose their game in hand against the huns, Dundee Utd lose their final 2 games against the Old Firm, and Aberdeen don't beat the huns on the last day of the season. Not unrealistic?
Come on Well/United I hope they make third
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Then it's off to Sweden:YAYYY:
Aberdeen could beat Motherwell at the Weekend, they'd both be level on 53 points. Assuming both don't win against Rangers all we would need to do is beat Motherwell at Easter Road.
If we were to secure a point at Parkhead on Sunday, and the above scenario happened, we'd all be on 53 points. Relying on Rangers to beat Motherwell in that game in hand again. Both Aberdeen and Motherwell could draw and thus if Motherwell picked up another point against Rangers they'd be 3points in front of us. Fear not, going into the last game if we won we would be above them by goal difference. We will still be in it (until Motherwells game in hand) if we pick up a point at Parkhead, no matter what the results are at the weekend.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
Norwegian Hibs Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2004
![]() Join Date: May 2008
I reckon we've a fair chance of a point on Sun - just a gut feeling.
Well and Sheep to Draw, and Hun to win at Utd (just to prove that scottish football is against them but they dont care anyway). Which takes us to the final game - where we CAN beat Well, and the OF will beat Sheep and Arabs. Crucial game is Well v SHeep - cause if Well win and we dont get at leasta point at Tic - we're stuffed for 3rd.
My own personal feeling is that we've had an awful lot of lucky weekends recently where all the results have went our way and we've not taken advantage of them. We would have been in a bit better position than we are just now imo if we'd got just one big result in the last few weeks. But we haven't and we are still in with a serious shout. We've two games left and I don't fancy us to take much from Parkhead on Sunday. A point would be fantastic, and assuming Utd get beat at Hunbrox, and Motherwell don't beat Aberdeen we'd be close to being favourites imo. But at this moment in time we have 3 games outwith our own fixtures where the result can't go too badly against us or we're fucked. Tell you what though, if Aberdeen win at Fir Ark, and both us and Utd pick up a point against the OF, you'd have the best finish to a league in my memory. Title would go to the last day, and all 4 other teams in the top 6 would be level on points with one place in Europe up for grabs. If we lose at Parkhead, we can't afford Motherwell to pick up more than 2 points, or Dundee Utd more than 3 from their remaining fixtures or we're fecked. If we draw at Parkhead, we can afford for Dundee Utd to pick up 4 points, and Motherwell 3 and still have a chance. If we win on Sunday, as long as Motherwell don't pick up maximum points against Aberdeen and Rangers we're favourites unless Utd also pick up maximum points against the OF.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
However results go this weekend I would snatch your hand off to have the situation where on the last game of the season we have to beat Motherwell at ER to take 3rd place.
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge
Sad times if this is the case.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I can see Motherwell winning tomorrow against Aberdeen..
They were unlucky not to take anything at Ibrox the other night, and they know that they really just have to win this game and they are more or less there. Aberdeen are a poor away side who have a bad record at Fir Park. My only hope is that Motherwell look like they are starting to feel the pressure and the antics of a few of their players and the comments of McGhee after the game are signs of a wee bit of panic setting in. Hibs will do well to take anything at Parkhead, but it's not beyond them to get a point. We are certainly a harder team to beat under Mixu, and hopefully we can snatch the first goal (vital against the OF), and frustrate Celtic who will be under massive pressure from their fans. Even if we don't make third, Hibs have done remarkably well since January to get to the situation where we are still in the mix right up to the end. With even a slightly better away record this season we would have been third comfortably. This is one of the things Mixu has to really work on when he re-shapes his team for next season.
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white. |
Because I've already got Sweden booked up!!! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
THE RADGE THAT DOESN'T SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2006
Rep Power: 22 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: |
Mathematically - Yes
In Practice - unlikely
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. THE BEST HIBS STRIKER EVER!!! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
Rep Power: 16 ![]() ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: Tournaments Won: 1 |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. already in a dilemma over which end to sit in To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. But to point, We can do it, but would need other results to go our way
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Victor Meldrew Toddler Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2004