Old 05-05-08, 18:46   #1

Casino cash: £10106
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about
The great Hibs fan myth

Reading some of the posts on here regarding some of the songs sung yesterday makes me think that some folk have this impression that Hibs fans are somehow better people than other fans,I'd be willing to bet that in each block of seats at ER there will be wife beaters,sex offenders,dealers and other crims just like in every other gathering of people.

The "Your not a real supporter" line being spouted each time someone finds a song unsavoury is laughable when you think of the not so right on jokes people tell..........................
Old 05-05-08, 18:54   #2

Casino cash: £2567
Re: The great Hibs fan myth

I can't believe the reaction to some of the immature songs in recent seasons. If you think singing a song about Wallace Mercer is offensive then thank feck there was no internet 25 year ago. What would you hand wringers have said on the bounce about a bunch of lads arranging to meet in Motherwell for the sole purpose of battering the shit out of each other in public city centre locations, all in the name of Hibs?
Old 05-05-08, 19:17   #3
THE RADGE THAT DOESN'T SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY

Casino cash: £13545
Rep Power: 19 chez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nice

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer View Post
I can't believe the reaction to some of the immature songs in recent seasons. If you think singing a song about Wallace Mercer is offensive then thank feck there was no internet 25 year ago. What would you hand wringers have said on the bounce about a bunch of lads arranging to meet in Motherwell for the sole purpose of battering the shit out of each other in public city centre locations, all in the name of Hibs?
Ahh - the casual era, now we have two debates here, the casuals and the immature fans singing sickening songs, or is it one and the same

Strangely enough, in all my years of attending Hibs games - home and away - I've not had/will have any such desire to be involved in anything like you describe in your post Proclaimer.

chez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 19:21   #4

Casino cash: £5865
vCash: 11989
Rep Power: 16 bigmanandy is just really nicebigmanandy is just really nice

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY View Post
Reading some of the posts on here regarding some of the songs sung yesterday makes me think that some folk have this impression that Hibs fans are somehow better people than other fans,I'd be willing to bet that in each block of seats at ER there will be wife beaters,sex offenders,dealers and other crims just like in every other gathering of people.

The "Your not a real supporter" line being spouted each time someone finds a song unsavoury is laughable when you think of the not so right on jokes people tell..........................
Your right i am sure that in years gone by there have been far worse songs sung at a game but lucky there was no internet back then or we could be having the same disccusion then that we seem to have every week we play the OF or Hertz....its getting a bit of a joke now....

What next....people moaning because Hibs used to wear the Hoops.
Old 05-05-08, 19:59   #5

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

I understand the Mercer song. Too feckin true.

However, "Celtic! Celtic! Celtic!" WTF.

Have we no imagination?

What's the last song generated at ER? Oh to be?

I remember being on the old terracing with my pals at Easter Road and shouting daft things as a wee laddie. I'd get a look, stare or shake of the heid from an older supporter that would tell me politely to shut it.

I learnt that this was a club with standards and a touch of class.
Old 05-05-08, 20:01   #6

Casino cash: £5818

Hmm, maybe the views expressed on the bounce are actually representative of the Hibs support as a whole?

Think back to racist chanting sung by (what sounded like) a large proportion of our support in the 80's/early 90's. Anyone like to hold their hands up and admit to that?
Old 05-05-08, 20:11   #7
caribbean bound radge

Casino cash: £8225
vCash: 2147483647
Rep Power: 12 shandongreen is a jewel in the roughshandongreen is a jewel in the rough

[quote=Hibee Kev;833635]Hmm, maybe the views expressed on the bounce are actually representative of the Hibs support as a whole?

Think back to racist chanting sung by (what sounded like) a large proportion of our support in the 80's/early 90's. Anyone like to hold their hands up and admit to that?[/QUOTE]

Trying to remember when it was,midweek at darkheid,if i remember right hibs 1 up and the fog dropped game abandoned,Paul Elliot got "monkey chants"from start to end and it was from most and there were a few as i think we would have went top with win or moved further ahead.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/newrep...treply&t=10968
shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 20:16   #8

Casino cash: £5989

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

Have we no imagination?

I remember being on the old terracing with my pals at Easter Road and shouting daft things as a wee laddie. I'd get a look, stare or shake of the heid from an older supporter that would tell me politely to shut it.

Aye right.
Old 05-05-08, 20:20   #9

Casino cash: £16045
Rep Power: 25 Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

I had exactly the same experience and it saddens me when Hibs fans lower those standards today with classless, base or moronic behaviour. Maybe we are in a minority then K.
Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 22:34   #10

Casino cash: £12006
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken View Post
I had exactly the same experience and it saddens me when Hibs fans lower those standards today with classless, base or moronic behaviour. Maybe we are in a minority then K.
Your not, those arguing from the other side generally seem to be under thirty?
Old 05-05-08, 22:53   #11
THE RADGE THAT DOESN'T SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY

Casino cash: £13545
Rep Power: 19 chez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nice

Have we no imagination?

Same here smurf

Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken View Post
I'll join the club Dixie

Originally Posted by 1875 View Post
Agree Mark

chez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 22:56   #12

Casino cash: £6281

Have we no imagination?

Laughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 23:01   #13

Casino cash: £2057

Originally Posted by 1875 View Post
Come on, what happens these days is kindergarten stuff compared to what went on in the 70s
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 23:14   #14
Stu

Casino cash: £5155

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY View Post

I dunno, Mikey. I guess I might see it a little different to you mate.

I'm not under any illusion that Hibs supporters are in some way more holy than others, just as you say they're a cross section of people like many other football crowds.

I'm not at all sniffy about what these guys sing and chant. Many of us have done stupid things at football matches in our time so should not be too hypocritical about that, but if pushed for a comment about jeering at the physically disabled and the dead I'll pass thanks.

It's just a game of football and in spite of Hibs being an emotional issue for me I attempt to keep some kind of perspective about that. I'd also reserve the right to have an opinion about it and voice it too if I think it's wrong. That's everybody's right No offense intended mate.
Old 06-05-08, 00:22   #15

Casino cash: £3184

if there's one chant that I wish we as a support could rise above...its the fuckin awful 'who are ya, who are ya' chant, which got a good few airings yesterday. am I the only person who finds it utterly cringeworthy? tedious, generic, small-time, Soccer AM, pile of shit of a chant. same goes for 'easy, easy' and 'sit down, shut up'.

surely we can be a bit more original?
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 00:33   #16

Casino cash: £2627

Have we no imagination?

I dont think singing about a guy dying of cancer shows any class at all if you ask me,even if that guy was a toilet bowl.
russ dinse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 00:44   #17
Atlanta Hibs Radge

Casino cash: £3302

The great Hibs fan myth is exctly that..a myth.

much as I'd like to think we are a superior breed, I've witnessed our support doing some pretty vile stuff.

At the cup final last year, I was walking up to the ground and thinking to myself that I wished my wife had made the journey with me from Atlanta to witness the pre match atmosphere.

No sooner had that thought entered my mind when some we shite in a Hibs top emerged from a boozer and screamed "you f**in paki scum" at some opposition fan on a bus.

The guy on the bus appeared to me to be of Indian descent, which coincidentally is the same as my wife.

I wanted to skelp the wee shite, but he was away before I could even respond. It did make me glad though that my wife had not witnessed that.

Sad that it came from "one of our own."

Unfortunately we have our share of morons.

luckily for us, hertz got the majority of believers
barney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 01:00   #18

Casino cash: £1917
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Tibs View Post
if there's one chant that I wish we as a support could rise above...its the fuckin awful 'who are ya, who are ya' chant, which got a good few airings yesterday. am I the only person who finds it utterly cringeworthy? tedious, generic, small-time, Soccer AM, pile of shit of a chant. same goes for 'easy, easy' and 'sit down, shut up'.

surely we can be a bit more original?

Northern Ireland Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 01:05   #19

Casino cash: £4036

i can honestly say i dont give a damn what anyone sings at easter road, be they home or away fans. As long as the subject of race isnt touched upon then it doesnt phase me. Look, songs about disability be they sung by us at david murray or the hearts at dean shields just dont bother me, why let it rile you? Cant you just chill out and enjoy the football/rise above it? Is there really any need to chat about it on message boards the week after? Also what do you want? Inoffensive chants of 'hibees, hibees' complete with matching confetti?

Just my opinions but....
Old 06-05-08, 01:35   #20

Casino cash: £316

Think some fans have a misguided approach to the wind-up. Singing for your opponents bitter rivals in a European tie is quite funny. If it's a domestic and they're your rivals tae, no thanks!

Oh, if we have to go down the Intertoto route, who are Elsberg's bitter rivals?
80/ barman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 06:27   #21
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23251
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by psychocandy