Old 05-05-08, 16:49   #1

Casino cash: £265
As an Irish Hibs supporter...........

I found the song about the Irish famine coming from the neanderthals yesterday extremely offensive and wonder why it has not been mentioned in the media

It beggars belief that some folk on here & hibs.net think we should be supporting that shower in the UEFA cup final
Brownlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 17:13   #2

Casino cash: £1803
Re: As an Irish Hibs supporter...........

Originally Posted by Brownlie View Post
I found the song about the Irish famine coming from the neanderthals yesterday extremely offensive and wonder why it has not been mentioned in the media

It beggars belief that some folk on here & hibs.net think we should be supporting that shower in the UEFA cup final
It took the media 100 years to decide that the " lyrics " to the Billy Boys were offensive so dont hold your breath on the Famine song. Like the BJK malarkey the media will feign selective deafness until outside forces ie UEFA highlight it and make it impossible for our media to ignore it.

The media are currently bending over backwards to congratulate the OF for cleaning up their act. Sad fact is that in the case of the sticky buns hardcore Loyalist away support theyve just substituted the Billy Boys and other add on songs with the Famine song and BJK.
Brizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 22:09   #3

Casino cash: £869

Shocking mate.

Agree.

Erin Go Bragh
Canon Hannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 08:52   #4

Casino cash: £2911

Don't think it is for any other reason than the Scottish coefficient fella. Most who are doing it are holding their nose as they do. The higher the coefficient the more likely we will get into the UEFA Cup in future years and not have the ridiculous situation of QOS, Gretna, Dunfermline et al getting in because they have bullshitted their way to the final and the team finishing fourth misses out.

I find some of the stuff Rangers and Celtic fans sing highly offensive. Bollox to the pair of them - they're as bad as each other.

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 11:03   #5

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Brizo View Post
It took the media 100 years to decide that the " lyrics " to the Billy Boys were offensive so dont hold your breath on the Famine song. Like the BJK malarkey the media will feign selective deafness until outside forces ie UEFA highlight it and make it impossible for our media to ignore it.

The media are currently bending over backwards to congratulate the OF for cleaning up their act. Sad fact is that in the case of the sticky buns hardcore Loyalist away support theyve just substituted the Billy Boys and other add on songs with the Famine song and BJK.
Will? Have more like it. Maybe a couple of hundred folk singing about David Murray in the terracing, commented on by Graham Spiers in The Times, and Ewan Murray in The Guardian. A couple of dozen folk in the terracing chanting Celtic for a couple of seconds also merited a mention from Ewan Murray. Thousands of Rangers supporters singing about the Irish Famine and how they consider the descendants of that to not be "the people" doesn't warrant a mention from either of them.

I hate the continual tactic of looking at someone else to excuse or condone behaviour "because they're worse", but in this case how the feck can these reporters even begin to claim to be giving their readers facts objectively? By all means mention that the Hibs support were singing songs you found sick or inappropriate, but if you don't mention what the huns were singing how can you expect people not to suspect you have an agenda.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
wee 162 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 11:12   #6

Casino cash: £2002
vCash: 10750

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
Will? Have more like it. Maybe a couple of hundred folk singing about David Murray in the terracing, commented on by Graham Spiers in The Times, and Ewan Murray in The Guardian. A couple of dozen folk in the terracing chanting Celtic for a couple of seconds also merited a mention from Ewan Murray. Thousands of Rangers supporters singing about the Irish Famine and how they consider the descendants of that to not be "the people" doesn't warrant a mention from either of them.

I hate the continual tactic of looking at someone else to excuse or condone behaviour "because they're worse", but in this case how the feck can these reporters even begin to claim to be giving their readers facts objectively? By all means mention that the Hibs support were singing songs you found sick or inappropriate, but if you don't mention what the huns were singing how can you expect people not to suspect you have an agenda

Game set and match!

Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 11:38   #7
Reggae Reggae Sauce Radge

Casino cash: £15907

nothing will be done. they are, 'the people' after all. it's actually a bastardised version of the soapies' ' he plays on the left.......' song that, like BJK, is all the huns can come up with since the billy boys was axed.

may they all catch scabies.

WE'LL KEEP THE GREEN FLAG, FLYING HIGH.....
HailHail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 11:54   #8
Listing Radge

Casino cash: £1852

Originally Posted by AndyM View Post
Bollox to the pair of them - they're as bad as each other.
I have to say, as an atheist from a protestant background and having lived in the weedge for a few years, I find the Herrenvolk a good deal worse than the Plastic Paddies. As you say though, bollox to the pair of them.
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 21:01   #9

Casino cash: £662

all the more incredible when ye think the same famine hit Scotland as well, albeit to a lesser extent than in Ireland

Highland Potato Famine (1846 - 1857 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)
"Despite everything, the ancient fires still smoulder in Scotland. The odd spark may fly harmlessly away, but blow on the embers, kindle the right kind of flame, and those fires will spread throughout this land."

Ronald MacDonald Douglas
Dublin_Hibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 23:25   #10
Survivor Radge

Casino cash: £3833
Rep Power: 18 Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

I wish the earth would open up and swallow the pair of them hole. The damage they have done to Ireland, and Northern Ireland's football is staggering.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 19:06   #11

Casino cash: £260
Rep Power: 0 LiverpoolHibs is on the way to a first team debut

Great post. It is absolutely sickening.
LiverpoolHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 17:03   #12

Casino cash: £130

I really don't understand Rangers fans. Some of them seem happy to make Nazi salutes and all that but then some carry Israel flags to games (Possibly the most Jewish country in the world, thus disagreeing with the Nazi 'theme').

Also, wasn't it the Nazis of Germany that killed so many BRITISH soldiers.

An explanation would be kindly accepted if anyone has one.
AlbertKidd86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 18:38   #13
Survivor Radge

Casino cash: £3833
Rep Power: 18 Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Originally Posted by AlbertKidd86 View Post
I really don't understand Rangers fans. Some of them seem happy to make Nazi salutes and all that but then some carry Israel flags to games (Possibly the most Jewish country in the world, thus disagreeing with the Nazi 'theme').

An explanation would be kindly accepted if anyone has one.
The reason for the Isreal flags stems from Norn Iron 'tic supporters using the Palenstinian flag. They identify with the 'indiginous population under seige' theme. The 'gers supporters identify with the 'legitimate goverment under attack' theme. I've seen 'tic supporters with Palestinian, Pakistan (for Kashmir), Armenian, Cuban flags. And 'ges supporters with Isreal, India, and Turkey flags. I've often though about logging into a 'tic site creating some bogus 'oppressed' group complete with phony newslink site (think Die Hard 1 where Alan Rickman is naming off all the 'brothers in arms' he wants released) just to see how quick some numbnut gets a flag up.

As for the Nazi salutes, they're just assholes is the best I can come up with.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-08, 09:43   #14
Reggae Reggae Sauce Radge

Casino cash: £15907

Originally Posted by Burbank Lilywhite View Post

As for the Nazi salutes, they're just assholes is the best I can come up with.
It's a 'roman' salute or even, laughably, a 'no surrender' salute according to the huns.

what a load of cobblers, it's a NAZI salute.

YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
WE'LL KEEP THE GREEN FLAG, FLYING HIGH.....
HailHail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-08, 10:25   #15
Officla 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)

Casino cash: £3921

Aye. The Isreali flags are to basically annoy the NI Green Hun supporters who wave the Palestinian flag about. There's also a good few Palastine murals up by my way, and from what I can gather the Isreal thing started in other areas in reaction to that.

RE the salutes, I was under the impression that was a symbol of solidrity with the Red Hand of Ulster rather than an actual Nazi thing. However, how many of those eejits actually know this is another point entirely.

Loki_Sproule is offline   Reply With Quote