Old 05-05-08, 10:56   #1

Casino cash: £2850
Anyone else think

Thats the last we have seen of Benji even O'brien stepped up from the bench before him yesterday.

I think he's a stone waller for the off

Sign the Morrocan boy from Killie tae keep zoomer company
Old 05-05-08, 11:00   #2

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Re: Anyone else think

Originally Posted by Greenman View Post
Thats the last we have seen of Benji even O'brien stepped up from the bench before him yesterday.

I think he's a stone waller for the off

Sign the Morrocan boy from Killie tae keep zoomer company
I agree but would suggest i'm worried for the state of mind of our manager when he chooses Donaldson and O'brien ahead of Benji to try and win a game in order to qualify for Europe.

Not playing Stevenson at left back with Murray in midfield baffles me anaw...
Old 05-05-08, 11:02   #3

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
I agree but would suggest i'm worried for the state of mind of our manager when he chooses Donaldson and O'brien ahead of Benji to try and win a game in order to qualify for Europe.

All I can say is thank feck Zurabi was'nt at left back yesterday.
Old 05-05-08, 11:04   #4

Originally Posted by Landells View Post
What is actually happening to Benji?
Petulant feckwit probably been disciplined by manager anyone else see him throw his jersey away at Pittodrie not for the first time. Getumtaefcuk
Old 05-05-08, 11:06   #5

All I can say is thank feck Zurabi was'nt at left back yesterday.
Maybe it could be suggested that it was John Collins who signed him?

Or maybe Rod Petrie? he did after all sign Rankin, Nish & Murray..
Old 05-05-08, 11:26   #6

Casino cash: £5147

I think Benji will be away in the summer. I have no insider knowledge about this but it's clear to everyone that there appears to have been major problems with the guy throughout this whole season. He looks like a player who has lost interest not only in playing for Hibs, but football in general. I have heard that his wife has gone back to Morocco as she could not settle here, and this will have affected him for sure. The injuries he has had have not helped at all, and bear in mind it was Mowbray who signed him and we now have a manager who is very different from Tony Mowbray. I find this situation with Benji very depressing because every Hibs fan knows what a fantastic strker Benji can be. He is a very talented lad, great with both feet, and blessed with a very accurate shot. I just think it is over from him at Easter Road. With IMO the likely departure of Fletcher in the summer, Mixu has a massive task getting in the required quality up front to replace those two.

I was not surprised to see Donaldson and O'Brien coming on yesterday before Benji. The huns were knackered after Thursday night and we needed players with pace to run at them late on in the game to try to snatch something in the latter stages. The problem is that they were up against one of the best defences they will ever have to play against, and who have managed in recent months to keep out far better teams than Hibs. We had to go with pace though later on though, it just didn't work out unfortunately.

I would like to have seen Murray kept in midfield as well, but he is far more dependable at left-back than Zarabi or Stevenson (who is too small and lightweight to play in that position IMO). Against a team like Rangers who are still going for the league, I can fully understand Mixu playing Ian Murray at left-back.
Old 05-05-08, 12:17   #7

Is it too wild to suggest he was tapped last summer?
Old 05-05-08, 12:18   #8

Casino cash: £7905

I'm more worried about Benji's state of mind than our manager's. Don't know about AOB (both him and Benji could well be off in the summer) but Donaldson has at least been working hard in the reserves where he has been scoring goals. Has Benji had many reserve outings? I genuinely don't know but I'm not aware of it. So where has he been showing form and willingness? Maybe you have been watching him closely at the training ground? On the park, Benji's attitude and form has been poor all season. He hasn't exactly set the heather on fire when he has appeared for the first team recently either, has he? So why should he be ahead of the others in the pecking order?
GalegoHibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 12:38   #9

Casino cash: £4036

like others on this thread i think both flecth and benji could be for the off in the summer, which really begs the question who do we get in to replace them? donaldson seems to have a lot of will power but lacks the raw talent (from what ive seen) and gray/campbell still seem a bit inexperienced....any ideas?
Old 05-05-08, 12:39   #10
Bad Moon Radge-ing

Casino cash: £995

Petulant feckwit probably been disciplined by manager anyone else see him throw his jersey away at Pittodrie not for the first time. Getumtaefcuk
Suggesting that he wants to be out scoring goals for Hibs...dont see whats wrong wi that, didnt Ivan Sproule do the same a few times and the response was "He wants to be playing football" as does Benji

Hibernian FC - Legends

Hearts FC - Bellends
ECKtheHIBEE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-08, 08:35   #11

Originally Posted by ECKtheHIBEE View Post
Suggesting that he wants to be out scoring goals for Hibs...dont see whats wrong wi that, didnt Ivan Sproule do the same a few times and the response was "He wants to be playing football" as does Benji
The last time I watched a Hibs player throw his jersey away was Gordon Durie in a semi final against Aberdeen at Dens Park many moons ago, Durie was away a couple of weeks later, much the same scenario as Benji he will also be away in two weeks time. I dont see the jersey throwing as frustration that he's not out there scoring goals, The laddie has thrown the towel in sadly he's offski. Wouldny surprise me in the least if he signed for the yams
Old 06-05-08, 10:19   #12

Casino cash: £4857

The last time I watched a Hibs player throw his jersey away was Gordon Durie in a semi final against Aberdeen at Dens Park many moons ago, Durie was away a couple of weeks later, much the same scenario as Benji he will also be away in two weeks time. I dont see the jersey throwing as frustration that he's not out there scoring goals, The laddie has thrown the towel in sadly he's offski. Wouldny surprise me in the least if he signed for the yams
Old 06-05-08, 12:10   #13

Casino cash: £5126

I agreed with that before the game but Chisolm and Rankin had good games so it worked oot no bad in that aspect. I would probably say Murray is our best left back even though it's not his favourite position.

Benji must be a goner. He starts Ross Campbell before him and then brings on Donaldson and O'Brien. Ross Campbell tried but it was like men against boys as far as he was concerned.