Old 04-05-08, 16:16   #1

ayegudyin is on the way to a first team debut
hibs-rangers player rating

OK display, strong defence and some good moves going up not enough chances

Mcneil 7 - a couple of good saves, beaten by thompsons wide shot
Jones 8 - excelent, first to most balls and some great challanges and blocks
Canning 7 - solid and a good partnership with jones
mccann 7 - some very good challanges inside the box but lost concentration
Murray 7 - great player and holds our defence and midfield together
rankin 6 - some good moves but touch and passes let him down
sheils 8 - as the comentators said "everything good came through him"
morais 7 - very good return to first team, great play up the wing
chisolm 5 - poor i thought, bad touch, passes and not strong enough
fletch 6 - some good runs but should've created more chances
campbell 6 - disappeared for long periods and rightly hooked

subs:
donaldson - 5 got the ball in good areas but no creativity
obrien - 4 one touch of the ball and crossed it high and wide

i think we could have got something, id'v bet shiels wouldve scored if the linesman hadnt ruled him offside
ayegudyin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 16:34   #2

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut
Re: hibs-rangers player rating

Cant disagree with any of that. Decent team performance which was good to see.
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 17:04   #3

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by ayegudyin View Post
OK display, strong defence and some good moves going up not enough chances

Mcneil 7 - a couple of good saves, beaten by thompsons wide shot
Jones 8 - excelent, first to most balls and some great challanges and blocks
Canning 7 - solid and a good partnership with jones
mccann 7 - some very good challanges inside the box but lost concentration
Murray 7 - great player and holds our defence and midfield together
rankin 6 - some good moves but touch and passes let him down
sheils 8 - as the comentators said "everything good came through him"
morais 7 - very good return to first team, great play up the wing
chisolm 5 - poor i thought, bad touch, passes and not strong enough
fletch 6 - some good runs but should've created more chances
campbell 6 - disappeared for long periods and rightly hooked

subs:
donaldson - 5 got the ball in good areas but no creativity
obrien - 4 one touch of the ball and crossed it high and wide

i think we could have got something, id'v bet shiels wouldve scored if the linesman hadnt ruled him offside

Mcneil 8 - Looked Goramesque today.
Jones 7 - Better display but still isn't making his presence felt at set pieces
Canning 7 - Might keep Hogg out the side
McCann 6 - Rash at times.
Murray 7 - Good, but would have preferred him in midfield!
rankin 6.5 - Good engine, got in about Rangers
sheils 7 - Would have scored if not for that BS flag!
morais 7 - Final delivery still not good, but troubled Rangers.
chisolm 5 - Poor, game went past him.
fletch 6 - Wasn't supported enough from a weak central midfield
campbell 6 - Young lad tried hard, but never looked like troubling Weir or Cuellar.

AOB 4 , looks the part, but only contribution was one poor cross
Donaldson, 5 Some good running, looked hungry.
Old 04-05-08, 17:09   #4

baggageandfibs is on the way to a first team debut

Mcneil 7 - really pleased for him and us, he generally reads the game well and was pretty solid throughout although a couple of times I would have liked to have seen him off come off his line quicker
Jones 7 - solid, missing a midfield link man so went long to poor effect too often for my liking
Canning 7 - good game, solid and unexciting, fine by me for a cb
mccann 6 - great tackle in first half but was v. slow to read it in the first place, some good tackles, less of a liability than gathuessi
Murray 7 - doesn't offer a lot going forward but tightens us up at the back
rankin 5 - don't see the point of this guy, yet to see anything of note, stevenson every time for me
sheils 7 - looked like he took responsibility today and mostly made good decisions
morais 7.5 - can't remember him playing better than this, excellent crossing and committed their defenders several times. Faded at the end but played really well.
chisholm 4 - this time last year he showed ferguson up, this time he showed himself up, poor game but capable of better
fletcher 5 - off the boil
campbell 4 - want him to do well, might have to wait a few years, was on the pitch far too long

subs:
donaldson - 2 why when you have benji on the bench?
obrien - why when you have anyone else on the bench?
baggageandfibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 17:19   #5

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Shiels was immense today. Ran his heart out and seems to have a real hunger at the moment.
Old 04-05-08, 17:45   #6

harris07 is on the way to a first team debut

ref 10 if your a hun
Old 04-05-08, 17:46   #7

Originally Posted by SkyeHibs View Post
Shiels was immense today. Ran his heart out and seems to have a real hunger at the moment.
A new deal must be put in front of him. Is a key player for us now.
Old 04-05-08, 18:00   #8

Originally Posted by EasterToad View Post
notice how he gets himself between players and the ref? he's gotta cool head on him and knows when to shut people up. chisolm looked like he wanted a go at the ref and sheils was right in there, same with TG last week.

He plays his heart out consistently and keeps the game moving when everyone else stands and watches. I would nominate him for captain, but i think people wouldnt take him seriously.

why oh why didnt you play him JC??
Old 04-05-08, 18:02   #9

Originally Posted by harris07 View Post
ref 10 if your a hun
thought the ref let a few go our way today, there were times today when i cringed as a reckless tackle went in, only to see the ref wave it off. its the linesman who's suckin the queens knob.
Old 04-05-08, 18:16   #10
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough

I agree with the o.p's assesment of every player apart from McCann.

I thought he was pretty damn awful today.Some touches and passes which if it were Gatheussi or Zarabi they would have been slaughtered.Didn't offer anything when we were attacking i could go on but i wont because in all fairness it was his first game back.

We had 3 younger players playing today and while i thought Campbell put in a shift i think that all 3 are some way off the satandard that we need.

Thank fuck Rangers are shite or we'd have been on the end of a drubbing.Positive aspect of todays game, we battled hard and didn't make any daft errors.

Lastly, how good was the ref today? I thought he was excellent when you consider what dross we are usually subjected to.

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 18:18   #11

harris07 is on the way to a first team debut

the ref clearly didn't want to book any huns incase he got in trouble fi the sfa
Old 04-05-08, 18:30   #12

Tkraz is on the way to a first team debut

I couldnt believe Donaldson's diving about at the corner flag when he had done well to run into the space down the wing. Total let down when he came on.
Tkraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 18:35   #13

Tkraz is on the way to a first team debut

I didn't think Shiels was all that for us today. Think he gave the ball away softly most times he tried to run with it or find a pass.

In saying that though, he was making positive moves all game, and if he can add consistency to his game , as we all know he is capable of producing, then he seems to have the hunger and/or desire at the moment to be a useful player.
Tkraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 20:53   #14

gragil69 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by ayegudyin View Post
thought the ref let a few go our way today, there were times today when i cringed as a reckless tackle went in, only to see the ref wave it off. its the linesman who's suckin the queens knob.
Thought the ref had a good game today..its a contact sport and he treated it as one.

The only one he got wrong (I think) was Nacho's dive to get a freekick...was diving before there was anyone near him!
Old 04-05-08, 20:55   #15

gragil69 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Landells View Post
Shiels was pish the day!!
Pish....him and Morais were the most creative players we had....thought the two of them were good....not brill but good.
Old 04-05-08, 21:05   #16

GalegoHibs is a jewel in the roughGalegoHibs is a jewel in the rough

Whatever his weaknesses, I'd be disappointed if Shiels wasn't offered a decent new deal. Can create and score out of nothing and ten goals isn't half bad from a player who hasn't started all that often this season.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 22:19   #17

DonegalHibee is on the way to a first team debut

i taught chisholm did ok in midfield, apart from the time he lost it on the edge of the box and ferguson had a chance
DonegalHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-08, 22:57   #18

Can't agree with that-thought Shiels put in a good shift again to-day!
Old 04-05-08, 23:51   #19

Shiels was good, but I thought Benji should have started and Murray should have anchoured the midfield, not Chisholm. I'd have played Stevenson at right back. But a point is okay.
Old 04-05-08, 23:59   #20

OwenWright is a jewel in the roughOwenWright is a jewel in the rough

Posted from iPod Touch

Personally I thought sheils and morais were the better players today. Mcneil played well too.

Woo this wee gadget is class LOL
OwenWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-08, 00:34   #21

Originally Posted by Broxburn_Hibby View Post
I agree with the o.p's assesment of every player apart from McCann.

I thought he was pretty damn awful today.Some touches and passes which if it were Gatheussi or Zarabi they would have been slaughtered.Didn't offer anything when we were attacking i could go on but i wont because in all fairness it was his first game back.

We had 3 younger players playing today and while i thought Campbell put in a shift i think that all 3 are some way off the satandard that we need.

Thank fuck Rangers are shite or we'd have been on the end of a drubbing.Positive aspect of todays game, we battled hard and didn't make any daft errors.

Lastly, how good was the ref today? I thought he was excellent when you consider what dross we are usually subjected to.
McCann made 2 amazing tackles in the box today on novo and cousin, when they were bearing down on goal from 6 yards out. we know what happens when Gatheussi tries to tackle in the box...
point is you dinnae wanna let them players get their shot off from that range, doesnt matter whos in goals. he stole the ball from right under them, which could well have won us the point.
Old 05-05-08, 00:58   #22
Aged Radge

Originally Posted by SkyeHibs View Post
One of a shrinking band of really talented players at ER.

ref 10 if your a hun
I thought this was one of the best refs I've seen this season. No real complaints about the guy.

Absolutely. Calderwood is desperate to sign him and was previously given encouragement. It would be a bad move to let him go to an SPL club.

the ref clearly didn't want to book any huns incase he got in trouble fi the sfa
He booked Cuellar didn't he? Could have booked Dailly (three times at least,) and Weir, and ........OK I take your point. But still a decent ref compared to usual expectations.

Landells is pished the night.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 05-05-08, 01:19   #23