Old 09-04-08, 12:14   #1
All the Radge

Mr.Austin is on the way to a first team debut

Easter Road Uni Project

As a Graphic Design student, I'm currently doing a 'mapping' project, where we are to design a map of a landscape that is special to us. Naturally I chose Easter Road!

My concept is based on the stubborn nature of football fans and their refusal to wear, or be associated with the colour of rival teams. I'm planning on creating a green print of the stadium rather than a blue print.

It will be like a mock blueprint architectural drawing, except instead of marking out important structural aspects or whatever, it will mark out things that mean a lot to the fans and other funny (or serious) stuff. Eg. the pie stand, the exit frame that everyone taps on their way out of the East Stand, where the famous rugby ball landed vs Hearts, where the charity collectors are located so people can avoid them, the spot Chic Charnley scored from in the centre circle etc.

Has anyone got rituals they do every Saturday at the ground or special parts of the stadium that means something to them? Any funny or well known characters in the stand? Any aspect that is unique to Easter Road, or famous incidents that have happened at the ground I should include?

Any ideas are much appreciated.
Mr.Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 12:41   #2

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Re: Easter Road Uni Project

HT smokers at the back of the East.

Old 09-04-08, 13:57   #3

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

"Any aspect that is unique to Easter Road, or famous incidents that have happened at the ground I should include?"

Do you really need help with this ?

7-0, 6-2, juice factory, views of Arthur Seat, the old East Terracing, George Best, the weekend fire, HoH / Proclaimers.........etc, etc.......

And read your Lugton's, if you have them.

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 14:03   #4

"Any aspect that is unique to Easter Road, or famous incidents that have happened at the ground I should include?"

7-0, 6-2, juice factory, views of Arthur Seat, the old East Terracing, George Best, the weekend fire, HoH / Proclaimers.........etc, etc.......

It was at Tynecastle!

I would add in where Joe Baker kissed the ground at ER during the Hands Off Hibs rally. Towards the corner flag at the (now) FF & West Stand corner. But I'm a sentimental auld canute tbf...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 09-04-08, 14:44   #5
Radge Against The Machine

Cowshed Graffiti is on the way to a first team debut

The spot where Franck Sauzee's teeth landed after he knocked four of them out scoring in our 3-1 win over the Yamfuds on 18 March 2000.

"It's no problem. It happens in football."

What a man. What a hero. What a Hibee.
And make him yell.

But spare the bald young clerks who add
The profits of the stinking cad;
It's not their fault that they are mad,
They've tasted hell.
- Slough - John Betjeman
Cowshed Graffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 14:53   #6
All the Radge

Mr.Austin is on the way to a first team debut

Needs to be things that I can pinpoint exactly where they happened in the ground. For example 'the spot Latapy scored that goal from' or where the Half time Hibee draw sellers stand etc. I'm mapping out how Easter Road looks now so unfortunately things that appeared in the old terrace or main stand etc can't be included.

Whats the juice factory? Or Lugton's?
Mr.Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 15:00   #7

Needs to be things that I can pinpoint exactly where they happened in the ground. For example 'the spot Latapy scored that goal from' or where the Half time Hibee draw sellers stand etc. I'm mapping out how Easter Road looks now so unfortunately things that appeared in the old terrace or main stand etc can't be included.

Whats the juice factory? Or Lugton's?
You'll need to move it about 5 yards west from where you think it happened if you're using the current pitch in your greenprint. The first 5 rows of the terracing were knocked down when the West Stand was built so that the pitch could move.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 09-04-08, 15:10   #8

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

It was at Tynecastle!

I would add in where Joe Baker kissed the ground at ER during the Hands Off Hibs rally. Towards the corner flag at the (now) FF & West Stand corner. But I'm a sentimental auld canute tbf...
Aye, I wisnae thinking there................I kinda got lost in the moment.

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 17:00   #9

dangerousdavid is on the way to a first team debut

30k Starfighter Champion! 5 In A Row Champion! A-Blast Champion! A.L.I.A.S. Champion! Aggressive Alpine Skiing Champion! Alien Champion! Alloy Arena Champion! AnkoMako Champion! Apple Hunt Champion! Arh Tiger Champion! Astro Cave Champion! Avalanche Run Champion! Badger Racing Champion! Barney Blinddarm Champion! Bartender Champion! Barz Champion! Battle Pong Champion! Battle Pong Champion! Beer Golf Champion! Blob Lander Champion! Blob Twist Champion! Bloc Rouge Champion! Bomberman X Champion! BookBall Champion! Capture The Flag 2 Champion! Central America - Geography game Champion! City Jumper Champion! City Jumper: New York Champion! City Jumper: NY Bonus Edition Champion! Crab Ball Champion! Crazy Relax Champion! Crystal Island Champion! CubeZ Champion! Diamond Champion! DTunnel Champion! DTunnel 3D Champion! Flyer Champion! Foxhole 13 Champion! Free Fall Champion! Frosty Freakout Champion! Galactic Invaders Champion! Galaxians Champion! Grand Prix Champion! Great Gazoo Space Chase Champion! Hacky Sack Champion! Heli Attack 2 Champion! Hydro Blast Champion! Kakato Otoshi Champion! LEtters Champion! Lines Game Champion! Lost Treasure Champion! Love Champion! Luigis Mansion Champion! Mad Monkey Banana Toss Champion! Maeda Path Champion! Marvins Lucky 13 Solitaire Champion! Meow Champion! Palantir Champion! Panic Pro Champion! Penguin 4 Champion! Rick Dangerous Champion! Rollin X Pinball Champion! Rong Champion! Run Sam Run Champion! Samdodge Champion! Santos Champion! SD - Thrust Champion! Shootin Starz Champion! Skate Park Champion! Skip Rock Champion! Skip Rope Champion! Sleigh Ride Champion! Smashback Champion! Snow Ball Bash Champion! Snow Pinball 2 Champion! Solitaire Champion! Solitare Champion! Somethang Fishy Champion! Sonic Blox Champion! Sonic Heros Puzzle Champion! Soopa Sprinta Champion! Space Evader Champion! Space Rescue Champion! Space Runner Champion! Speedy Thief Champion! Spin Off Champion! Star Castle Champion! Starsky And Hutch Champion! Super Fishing Champion! Super Mario Flash HV Champion! Swap a Smiley Champion! Table Football Champion! Tanx Champion! Teddy Goes Swimming Champion! Ten Pin Bowling Champion! The Last Turkey in Town Champion! The Matrix Tunnel Recon Champion! The Wikings Champion! Thrust II Champion! Tiger Moth Champion! Tobby Champion! Towerball Champion! Trail Blazer Champion! Trick or Treat Smash Champion! Tube Race Champion! Turkey Bowling Champion! UFO Breaker Champion! Viking Champion! Virus Champion! Virus 2 Champion! Wasted Sky Champion! Zero Tolerance Champion! Gopher War Champion!

Tournaments Won: 6

As a Graphic Design student, I'm currently doing a 'mapping' project, where we are to design a map of a landscape that is special to us. Naturally I chose Easter Road!

My concept is based on the stubborn nature of football fans and their refusal to wear, or be associated with the colour of rival teams. I'm planning on creating a green print of the stadium rather than a blue print.

It will be like a mock blueprint architectural drawing, except instead of marking out important structural aspects or whatever, it will mark out things that mean a lot to the fans and other funny (or serious) stuff. Eg. the pie stand, the exit frame that everyone taps on their way out of the East Stand, where the famous rugby ball landed vs Hearts, where the charity collectors are located so people can avoid them, the spot Chic Charnley scored from in the centre circle etc.

Has anyone got rituals they do every Saturday at the ground or special parts of the stadium that means something to them? Any funny or well known characters in the stand? Any aspect that is unique to Easter Road, or famous incidents that have happened at the ground I should include?

Any ideas are much appreciated.
Fulton getting booked for being ugly?

What is that term? : Passion at everything - when you're making that tea, make sure it's the best cup of tea ever. Everything's got to be the nuts.
dangerousdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 17:11   #10

Where the cs gas cannister landed
Old 09-04-08, 17:28   #11

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

Where the cs gas cannister landed

Very funny in as sick sort of way, also who threw it ie Celtc fans should be pointed out and where they threw it from which was the right corner of the Dunbar end (now the South Stand).

The spot where Souness was sent off from (centre circle ish I think) for maiming 'Beastie' George McLuskey'.
should be marked for posterity.

I also used to like the Ricky Ragina old programme stand (being behind the east terracing on the left hand side nearest the FF stand I think).

Hope this helps.

Oh here's another one....... the mysterious old turnstyle that never had a number clicker on it.
and what would happen is that the money was put into an old grubby plastic bag and taken up to the directors office.

Not a remotely recent event of course.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 17:37   #12

BVilleggiante is on the way to a first team debut

How about where past Hibs fans can have their ashes scattered behind the goal posts of the Famous Five Stand.
BVilleggiante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 18:01   #13

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Two of the most violent acts at Easter Road happened on the west stand touchline.

About mid way from the halfway line to the away end was where Bobby Thomson knocked f**k out of a linesman.

And about mid way from the halfway line to the home end was where Joe T crippled Strachan with one of the worst tackles I've ever seen and got himself a straight red in the opening minutes of Gordon Rae's testimonial against Man Utd.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 18:29   #14

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

Where the guy in the East that sings opera sits/stands
Old 09-04-08, 18:42   #15

Where the guy in the East that sings opera sits/stands
His name is Stuart Reid

He used to do it from the North Enclosure of the old Main Stand

Old 09-04-08, 18:48   #16
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge