Old 07-04-08, 21:41   #1

Spell Racer Champion!
Tournaments Won: 1

Thinking New East Stand Consultation-Discuss

There has been a lot of rumour regarding the building of a new East Stand at Easter Road this season. The club has indicated that this will go ahead and some preparation work has already been undertaken at the back of the East Stand. Many fans who frequent the East will be sad to see it go, for others, progress is a positive step. The fact is that redevelopment now seems inevitible, it's just a question of what is going to replace the old East Terracing.

There has been a small amount of garbled communication from the club through various sources (small scraps of paper stuck to the pie stand, Chinese whispers etc.) that the club will consult the fans regarding the new stand, possibly some time in the next week or two. Whilst this does look like lip service, given the small amount of time between now and when the building work will need to start, presuming the stand is to be ready sometime near the start of next season. We as fans should still make every effort to have our opinions heard.

The Hibees Bounce proposes a discussion on the message boards over the next few days and we have prepared a short questionaire for Bouncers to complete. We'll gather all the information, format it and present it to the board at Easter Road. Hopefully, at a later date, the club will provide us with feedback.

Discuss the new development [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

Fill in the questionaire [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]
Jamie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 22:07   #2

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

Re: New East Stand Consultation

Submitted mine.

Hopefully the Club pay at least a little bit attention to what the fans want.

Old 07-04-08, 22:10   #3
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

Six Feet Under Champion!

Submitted mine.

Hopefully the Club pay at least a little bit attention to what the fans want.

i'm done too, and heres hoping

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 22:18   #4

Good work Hibees Bounce.
Old 08-04-08, 00:41   #5

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Good work Hibees Bounce.
It was your idea, K.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
hibadelic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 09:28   #6

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Re: New East Stand Consultation-Discuss

Interesting to note a few replies on the other thread suggest an adult only stand.

I know it's all about opinions, but i think thats possibly the worst suggestion possible.How many kids go to the East just now?Quite a few I'd wager, allienating them and the parents who take them straight off.

I stand in the east at the moment, the only reason I dont take my kids is because they couldnt see a thing as it exists now.Once it's redeveloped I'll start taking them...thats 2 extra season tickets each year straight away.

I'd hope that the new stand be an all-encompasing all welcoming stand, not an exclusive adults only venue.

Out of interest, is there any adult only stands anywhere else?
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 10:49   #7

hib17 is on the way to a first team debut

Dont agree with the adult only theme either unless there is going to be a pole dancing bar for half time. I have been in the east for a considerable time barring a couple of years in the old main stand. It is nearing the time for me to start taking my son on a regular basis and would prefer to remain where I am and next to my mates
hib17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 11:09   #8

Interesting to note a few replies on the other thread suggest an adult only stand.

I know it's all about opinions, but i think thats possibly the worst suggestion possible.How many kids go to the East just now?Quite a few I'd wager, allienating them and the parents who take them straight off.

I stand in the east at the moment, the only reason I dont take my kids is because they couldnt see a thing as it exists now.Once it's redeveloped I'll start taking them...thats 2 extra season tickets each year straight away.

I'd hope that the new stand be an all-encompasing all welcoming stand, not an exclusive adults only venue.

I think by "adult only" people are actually meaning somewhere where they aren't going to be pulled up by someone for a profanity or two, and aren't going to get told to sit on their arse every time they stand up. Rightly or wrongly people think that people with bairns will be the folk to do this. And they have a point tbh.

I don't think it should be adult only, but I think there should be some form of tolerance level accepted by anyone taking a bairn in that there is going to be things which in the other stands currently get complained about. If you want something sterile where little ears aren't going to be offended then have a bit of the ground where bad language is not tolerated and it's enforced by the stewards. Increasing homogenisation of the ground leaves absolutely no-one satisfied as those who swear feel they are being censored, and those who have bairns hear every sweary word that ever exists. It ends up pissing off everyone.

FWIW my wee brother who's 9 prefers the terracing as well and would probably end up in there if he could see so it's not like I'm remotely suggesting it should be adult only.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 08-04-08, 11:18   #9

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

I think by "adult only" people are actually meaning somewhere where they aren't going to be pulled up by someone for a profanity or two, and aren't going to get told to sit on their arse every time they stand up. Rightly or wrongly people think that people with bairns will be the folk to do this. And they have a point tbh.
I agree to an extent.Swearing is part and parcel of football, whether it's fans or players.I'm not gonna start on anyone who tells someone they're fuckin shyte or a jambo bastard, but i might have a word if it's nothing but unadulterated swearing with no reason or humour.

My wee girl is 8, she's no doubt heard all the swear words by now, she knows it not acceptable for her to use them but understands that adults swear.Whenever she comes to ER, we're in the west in the posh seats, she hears it there so I accept she'd hear it in the east too.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 11:22   #10

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

so it MIGHT be happening this year?
Old 08-04-08, 11:25   #11

Easter Heaven is on the way to a first team debut

I feel that a 1 tier stand with 100% regular seating would be the ideal solution to the divided debate. the 'fans stand' would retain the atmosphere that the regulars crave, as well as providing the stadium with it's final piece.

However i have no objections to a 2 tier stand. i think the imperative aspect is a 100% regular fans seated stand. i.e no executive areas or boxes.
Easter Heaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 11:27   #12

so it MIGHT be happening this year?
From what i have heard from someone who works at the council is that its not likely to happen until next year now

Old 08-04-08, 11:29   #13

I feel that a 1 tier stand with 100% regular seating would be the ideal solution to the divided debate. the 'fans stand' would retain the atmosphere that the regulars crave, as well as providing the stadium with it's final piece.

However i have no objections to a 2 tier stand. i think the imperative aspect is a 100% regular fans seated stand. i.e no executive areas or boxes.
Yeah agreed that a 2 tier stand would be good aslong as theres none of this Executive shite and we're not getting told to sit down because we are blocking them, its the East it needs its banter to return.

Old 08-04-08, 11:37   #14

I agree to an extent.Swearing is part and parcel of football, whether it's fans or players.I'm not gonna start on anyone who tells someone they're fuckin shyte or a jambo bastard, but i might have a word if it's nothing but unadulterated swearing with no reason or humour.

My wee girl is 8, she's no doubt heard all the swear words by now, she knows it not acceptable for her to use them but understands that adults swear.Whenever she comes to ER, we're in the west in the posh seats, she hears it there so I accept she'd hear it in the east too.
And if everyone had your attitude, there wouldn't be anyone even thinking about suggesting an adult only stand. But they don't.

People are just trying to protect their fitba experience.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 08-04-08, 15:15   #15
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Dont agree with the adult only theme either unless there is going to be a pole dancing bar for half time. I have been in the east for a considerable time barring a couple of years in the old main stand. It is nearing the time for me to start taking my son on a regular basis and would prefer to remain where I am and next to my mates
Move the "Western Bar" to the new East stand! I'll buy that for a dollar!

I would like a "Punter's" cafe in the East , rarther than a posh "Businessmans" type resturant you see in the West. Have a big pub with large TV screens open at about 11 o clock on match days where you can get a decent bite to eat whilst watching the 12:30 kick off game.

Kinda like "Sportsters" on Market street , but with more taste.

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 16:29   #16

HutchieHibee is on the way to a first team debut

to be honest I don't think there is any plans to put any hospitality type facilities in...

a "members bar" like "Behind the Goals" but bigger yes
HutchieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 22:37   #17
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

Six Feet Under Champion!

whats the target figure for replys ?

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 16:10   #18

tricky will become famous soon enough

currently kids season tickets in the west and famous five are about half the price of a kids season book in the east stand, I wonder if they will continue with this pricing policy post re-development, might not be a bad move imho in order to keep the FF as a bit more of a ' family stand. '
Old 09-04-08, 19:34   #19

It looks very much like it will be next year before the stand is built.

The EEN are saying that Hibs reckon it will take seven months to knoock down the current structure and build the new stand. That means from about February next year if it is to be ready for the 2009/2010 season.