Old 07-04-08, 18:42   #1

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough

Killie 6 Hibs 2

The 'this week in Scottish football' section in the paper today mentions a 6-2 defeat to Killie in 2003 where McSweegan scored 4. Luckily I have selective memory and seemed to have erased this game from the brain. It does ring a bell though, i'm thinking an end of season bottom 6 game possibly - anyone remember any details?
Old 07-04-08, 18:44   #2

Re: Killie 6 Hibs 2

The 'this week in Scottish football' section in the paper today mentions a 6-2 defeat to Killie in 2003 where McSweegan scored 4. Luckily I have selective memory and seemed to have erased this game from the brain. It does ring a bell though, i'm thinking an end of season bottom 6 game possibly - anyone remember any details?
Another fine Boaby Williamson memory.

That said i'm sure we got hammered at Rugby Park with Mogga?
Old 07-04-08, 18:49   #3

Boaby's last game in charge??

I think we also set a new SPL record that day

anyone remember which one

Old 07-04-08, 18:50   #4

Tkraz is on the way to a first team debut

2 Ball Pool Champion! Bugs Are Coming Champion!

Dont think it was Williamsons last game.

Ian Murray scored and was sent off as well was he not?
Tkraz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 18:56   #5

Dont think it was Williamsons last game.

Ian Murray scored and was sent off as well was he not?

just looked at it again

wrong season, it was the one after that I was talking about, 2004

Old 07-04-08, 18:56   #6

Tkraz is on the way to a first team debut

2 Ball Pool Champion! Bugs Are Coming Champion!

Is that the game where Thomson and Caldwell both scored free kicks using that kinda funny set piece routine?

Then we got a penalty at the end. Could that be the record? Longest time without being awarded a penalty?
Tkraz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 19:07   #7

I can't remember this game at all..
Old 07-04-08, 19:08   #8

Is that the game where Thomson and Caldwell both scored free kicks using that kinda funny set piece routine?

Then we got a penalty at the end. Could that be the record? Longest time without being awarded a penalty?
Nah, the game I was thinking about was in '04, we got humped 2-0, but Boaby brought on Jamie McLuskey to set the record for the youngest player in the SPL

Old 07-04-08, 19:12   #9
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice

Nah, the game I was thinking about was in '04, we got humped 2-0, but Boaby brought on Jamie McLuskey to set the record for the youngest player in the SPL

wiki:

Youngest player: Jamie McCluskey, for Hibernian vs Kilmarnock, 16 years 2 months and 18 days, 24 January 2004

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: The oh so sweet 16th ;)
47 days 22 hours 37 minutes
Riordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 19:22   #10

alexi will become famous soon enough

Was at that horror show.Got to the ground 5 mins into the game and left not long after HT. Main memory was us all sining 6-2 at Jumbo Jeffries, oh how little we knew what was in store. The journey home was a long one.
alexi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 20:19   #11
Pizza Munchin' Zoog Radge

zondervan is on the way to a first team debut

Here is the "On This day In History" version from Seven Tattoos, which his inner sanctum of associates still receive at least once a week.

Oh, how this board misses him.....

Five years ago to the day and to the date: Friday 4 April 2003 - Keith 'Moodz' Moodie's stag-do. We (Moodz, Funboy, Goose, Stevie, Muff, Robin Gossip, Daz, Gianni, Sanchez, Mini Moodz, John, Michael Maxwellhouse n Swearadge) met at the Bank Hotel at 9ish before heading to the Waverley Bridge and boarding a McHendry coach, complete with crossed Saltire and Union Jack emblem (more of that later). Twas a bright sunny morning and Sweary, resplendent in that season's home top (think 4-4) and a fake Burberry baseball cap (purchased from one of those Asian tink shops on Junction Street), presented Keith with a small jar of Nescafe, given that we were heading to Hollyoaks land, Chester. Keith looked suitably underwhelmed before getting the party starting the best way possible: that's right, with 'Pirate Porn'! Keith had had the foresight to purchase several copies of said classic jazz from some upmarket shop on Easter Road and the connoisseur of filth himself, Mr Kerr, declared the items 'top drawer' before spending the rest of the journey shouting:
'EVEN PIRATES NEED SEX'!

The journey, interrupted with a smoky stop at Killington Lakes, went well and Keith's bro, Mr Scottish Equitable, provided the bulk of the entertainment by getting ridicul@rsely shedded on voddie-Orangina and accusing The Goose of sporting hertz tattoos. Oh, how we laughed.

After getting lost and seeking the help of the local constabulary we eventually found our motel before heading oot on the razzle dazzle. We headed to a couple of boozers in what is, it has to be said, a fairly affluent market town. Without wishing to sound like some kind of pretentious, w@nky pseudo-town planner it appeared that the demographic make-up of Chester largely consists of petit bourgeois well-to-do individuals. It reminds me of a big version of Cowbridge. When we reached a large boozer called 'Over The Wall' (not to be confused with 'Behind The Wall' in Falkirk) Sweary's wee bro, Grant, turned up. Just in time, as it transpired, to see Moodz advising Craig that it was time he went home as he was 'p!shed'. We've all been there. Some of us more than most. Me, at Munro's stag-do recently. And I never even made his wedding. But I digress.

We the ventured on to a club called 'The Loaf'. It was one of those tossy, art decor, designed by Colin n Justin's stoned and constipated rent boy's kind of places. But like these kind of establishments it was full of vapid, airhead tarts and I like that. Smooth bastud that I am I produced my usual killing chat-up line and showed ma tatz. KB!

I cannae really mind anything else of the evening as I was 'ootmat!tz' but I do recall us finding a very pleasant creperie on the way home. To me that is the litmus test of 'posh', i.e. does your night end with a 'bab' or a crepe. Having said that, after eating a bab many of my nights have subsequently ended with a crepe! WAHEY HEY! BOOM! BOOM! (Did you see what I did there?)

On getting back to the motel Sweary and Yung Skud sat up for the night, drinking 'Mellowbirds'. It was cool. Maaaaaaaaaaan.

When morning arrived Sweary bequeathed his Hibs top to his bro who then had the fun of going around Manchester with a green top with 'Carlsberg' emblazoned across it (United were at home to Liverpool that day and even though Grant's a Manc he wisely hid the top under his jacket). Sweary, however, in matching Aquascutum shirt and baseball cap looked like one of the jockeys, as Sanchez drily remarked. And we all laughed for twelve minutes.

After that, just to prove what a fanchita he really is, The Swear headbutted the Union Jack emblem. And with that we were off to the races. Our journey was enlivened by our driver's palpable lack of a sense of direction and Daz regaling us all with Jimmy Egan's gag about the guy sharing the cell with the hardest kant in Saughton and being made to play 'Mummies and Daddies'.

When we got to the event itself two remarkable things happened:
1) Sweary decided it was time to swallow the full Anadin, which rendered him 'interesting' for the rest of the event.
2) The Three Blind Mice AKA Goose, Funboy and Sanchez fecked off to Shellsuitpool to spend an afternoon in jazzbars.

Without the triumvirate of lusty deserters the Top Ten made it through the airport style security and into the event itself. After passing a stereotypically loud group of chavvy looking weegies - who we wisely chose, as a group, to ostracise - we eventually made up with Keith's soon-to-be father-in-law, Raulio, who got us into the main part of the National. Much gratitude and respect to the big man.

Nobody had won much on the races and Sweary, being in the more advanced stages of paranoia as he was, was wearing his baseball cap so far down his face it virtually covered that strange-shaped snoz of his when it was decided we'd all put a single English pound on a horse in the last race. After the type of adolescent squabbling which tneds to typify our communications we elected to back a rider wearing green with white sleeves (and a big p00fy pink sash) and gave 'The Stag' the poppy to put the bet on. We then stood on the edge of the terraces and marvelled as our hoorse came in at odds of 20-1! Despite the Hibs losing 6-2 at Killie that afternoon (be nice if the Ayrshiremen repeat that score against hertz the morn) chants of 'Hail Hail The Hibs Are Here' filled the air as Moodz went off to collect the winnings. And returned with £480! He'd backed it on Tote, the genius!

After a triumphant bus journey back to the motel, the chaps sat down for dinner, well, except for Sweary who mysteriously had no appetite, and Maxwell commented on the ridiculous beermats featuring a large brown bear. Ever the (t)wit Sweary remarked that really, that was inappropriate as you don't get many bears in Chester, perhaps the odd aardvark though. It was at this precise nanosecond that a large brown bear came up from behind Moodz and started drumming his baldy bonce. Sweary looked like he was going to have a coronary.

The evening then passed in a hail of booze and our erstwhile chums from Liverpool's qu!m quarter even made a prodigal return. Sweary remembers getting the DJ to play '500 Miles' for 'The Hibs Boys From Edinburgh' in 'Over The Wall' while dancing, tattz oot, with some radge burd's feather boa.

However, the best, as ever, was saved to last. As the night drew to a close the creperie was again our destination and a polite, harmless looking individual stood in front of Sanchez in the queue for said French delicacy. At this point Sanchez jumped on his shoulders and started bouncing around and the poor guy, presumably thinking it was just mild 'horseplay', tried to join in before turning around and noticing that Sanchez's scants and troosers were round his ankles! Being dry-ridden outside a creperie in Chester! The shame of it! Like the potting shed scene in 'Scum'. But with pastry.

So, was Keith's stag-do to Chester a success? Damn straight. I'd go to Hollyoaksland again. But just watch out for that crepe stall.

zondervan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 23:55   #12

the doomed is on the way to a first team debut

Hib's Cannie Handle Killie's Big Mac Attack!
Kilmarnock 6 Hibernian 2
(SPL Match No.32 Apr 5th 2003 - Rugby Park)

Bobby Williamson's (who?) Hib's side failed to contain Killie's triple "Big Mac Attack" as Killie ran riot over them. Gary McDonald, Gary McSwegan & Andy McLaren all shone as Hib's were truly outclassed, by a better hungrier outfit from Ayrshire.

Striker Gary McSwegan helped himself to four goals as Kilmarnock demolished hapless Hibs at Rugby Park.

And the former Hearts hit-man could have had a few more such was the dominance enjoyed by the home side, who are pushing hard for a Uefa Cup place.

Gary McDonald (right) scored the first of Killie's goals and Kris Boyd landed the final blow from the penalty box.

The Hibs goals came from Ian Murray and Matthias Jack.

Kilmarnock gave a league debut to 23-year-old goalkeeper Colin Stewart, while Derek Riordan was handed his first start of the season for Hibs and both men were involved immediately, with the custodian doing well to hold the young striker's shot.

The home side enjoyed a good spell of early pressure with McDonald looking lively and McSwegan shooting over the bar from 16 yards.

The opening goal came after 11 minutes when young Gary McDonald (left) recieved a terrific cross from Steve Fulton. From 12 yards the young midfielder still had work to do and he finished the job in style, cracking it first-time into the top corner.

That was a sensational strike to mark the 20-year-old's first goal for the Rugby Park club and how he lapped it up.

Soon after, McSwegan should have added to the Killie tally but fired an easy chance wide.

The home side's lead lasted just seven minutes when Murray drilled home from 18 yards after a clever pass from Jack.

Kilmarnock came roaring back and the home fans were cheering again in the 24th minute when McSwegan got on the end of a headed knock down from a Fulton free kick to hit the bottom right corner of the net.

On the half hour Colgan turned away McSwegan's shot for a corner when he dived at his right-hand post. Jack then put his keeper under pressure with a back-pass but Colgan cleared as Andy McLaren closed in.

In the 35th minute, Riordan wasted a rare chance for Hibs when he shot over the bar from 20-yards.

Four minutes from the interval Gary McSwegan struck again for his second goal of the game with a low drive from 22 yards after Mahood's cross was only partially cleared by the Hibs defence.

HT: Killie 3 Hibs 1

It was Killie who were next to score only a minute into the second half.

It was a beautifully worked move from Kilmarnock fully deserving of the end product. Fulton provided again with a perfectly paced throughball into the path of Andy McLaren. Pushed wide by the retreating Hibs defence he surveyed the situation before lifting an inviting cross to the back post for McSwegan (above left) to head past Colgan for his hat-trick.

Williamson by now was being seriously mocked by the home fans who took to appropriating that old Hibs ditty There’s Only One Sauzee.

That there was only one Gary McSwegan yesterday was enough for bedraggled Hibs.

The visitors were a disjointed outfit and in the 62nd minute, McSwegan grabbed his fourth goal when he tapped the ball into the net from a yard out after being set-up by a deep Peter Canero cross.

Then most of the grim Hibernian fans in the sunshine filled Chadwick Stand decided they’d had enough and made for the nearest exit.

Killie replaced McSwegan after 75 minutes with Boyd and unsurprisingly the striker left the park to rapturous applause, none so more than from Killie manager Jim Jeffries.

With ten minutes remaining, Hibs pulled a goal back when Jack slotted home his first goal of the season.

However, there was to be more misery for the men from Edinburgh as super sub Kris Boyd completed the scoring from the penalty spot in the 89th minute after he had been felled by Paul Fenwick. This was Boyd's 11 goal of the season.

Kilmarnock: Stewart, Shields, Innes, Dindeleux, Canero, McDonald, Fulton (Locke 87), Mahood, Fowler, McSwegan (Boyd 77), McLaren (Murray 90).
Subs not used: Marshall, McLaughlin.

Scorers: McDonald (11), McSwegan (24, 42, 47, 62), Boyd (pen 90)

Attendance: 5,558.

Post Match Comments

Jim Jefferies......"We scored a great opening goal (McDonald's first for the club) and it just got better and better after that. I couldn't ask for anymore, We've had good away performances at Livingstone and Dunfermline this season but this was the best home display since I came to Rugby Park. All credit to the team for a great performance and now we just have to keep playing the way we did against Hibs to keep trying for third sport in the SPL, which would guarantee us European football next season." More Jim Jefferies Comments

Bobby Williamson ....... "I'd like to apologise to the fans who traveled to Kilmarnock for the performance we put on today. The way we played it's going to be tough (to finish in the top six). We don't seem to be learning from out mistakes and that's costing us dearly. But these are the guys that we've got and we have to carry on and hope that things go our way next Saturday. To be perfectly honest, the way I feel now I hope we don’t get into the top six, because if we come up against teams of the class Kilmarnock were, we will get punished, It’s as simple as that.

Scotland on Sunday... He would have been excused for basking in the limelight after but McSwegan instead opted for a study in modesty. Describing himself as "fortunate" he did at least admit that it was the first time he’d registered four in a Premierleague encounter. "But I don’t want to detract from what the team did." Fair enough but that in turn should not detract from what McSwegan did.

Glasgow Herald...For much of this season, Rugby Park has held on to its tradition as something of a fortress. Kilmarnock have ground out many an unspectacular home win here to elevate them into the European reckoning. On Saturday, however, they emerged from a slightly fearful shell that seemingly inhibited the top-drawer football they showed they were capable of in sweeping Hibs aside. It is perfect timing for Jim Jefferies' side, as they have enjoyed a run of form that has given them a lot to play for, stretching 18 games. The carrot-dangling exercise that surely dominates Kilmarnock's pep talks has rubbed off as they played with composure, tenacity and ruthlessness, perhaps exposing Hibs' own forlorn-looking desires to eat at the top table come the split. The key to the convincing nature of their display was the industry and energy of the midfield. Peter Canero's pace on the left flank, McLaren's old head and craft, Fulton's bulky experience, and Alan Mahood's graft all combined to maximum effect. Killie, robust in defence, solid and fluent in midfield, and ruthless in attack, were a joy to watch and in hammering Hibs equaled a club record for SPL wins in a season.

:YAYYY:
the doomed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-08, 11:00   #13

I was so disgusted with Hibs that day, I called the Jim Traynor show from Dudge's/ Bartok's (Cannae mind who) car on the way home. We happened to be on the Kingston Bridge when I got through and Traynor, being a drinking buddy of Moonface, tried to suggest a) I didnt like Blobby because he had played for Rangers and b) I wanted to throw Williamson off the Kingston Bridge.

The tit couldnt grasp that I was calling to express my disgust at witnessing Hibs losing 6-2 to a Jumbo Guffries managed Killie, when I could have been better entertained at the pictures.