Old 07-04-08, 12:10   #1

Concerns with Mixu

What are they from everyone?

Mines are basically pretty much all concerned with the way we're playing. Battering it forward early to one of the strikers and hoping to pick up something from that seems to be the first thing the players are wanting to do. It wasn't the way they were playing under Collins or Mowbray, so I have to assume it is under instructions from the manager. I've been using the pitch as a mitigating factor for this, as it is tough to play football when you have no idea what way the ball is going to bounce, but that wasn't the case on Saturday since the pitch at ER appears to have had a Lazarus like return to a decent surface.

My other concern is to do with bringing young players through. He's gave Hanlon a wee chance but is dropping him for Zarabi for none too many reasons that I can see. Chisholm has had a few chances. Stevenson has had a few minutes here and there, McCann has disappeared almost completely for the sake of playing a centre half instead of him. Our main advantage over a lot of other sides in the league for the last few seasons was a great generation of young players, plus bringing through others. We have to keep doing that as we rely on these young players that are going to have to be better than what we can sign through transfers in the vast majority of cases. A team made up of re-cycled SPL players isn't going to get it done long term.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 07-04-08, 12:17   #2

stickyRicky is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Concerns with Mixu

What are they from everyone?

Mines are basically pretty much all concerned with the way we're playing. Battering it forward early to one of the strikers and hoping to pick up something from that seems to be the first thing the players are wanting to do. It wasn't the way they were playing under Collins or Mowbray, so I have to assume it is under instructions from the manager. I've been using the pitch as a mitigating factor for this, as it is tough to play football when you have no idea what way the ball is going to bounce, but that wasn't the case on Saturday since the pitch at ER appears to have had a Lazarus like return to a decent surface.

My other concern is to do with bringing young players through. He's gave Hanlon a wee chance but is dropping him for Zarabi for none too many reasons that I can see. Chisholm has had a few chances. Stevenson has had a few minutes here and there, McCann has disappeared almost completely for the sake of playing a centre half instead of him. Our main advantage over a lot of other sides in the league for the last few seasons was a great generation of young players, plus bringing through others. We have to keep doing that as we rely on these young players that are going to have to be better than what we can sign through transfers in the vast majority of cases. A team made up of re-cycled SPL players isn't going to get it done long term.
My concern is also the style of play we are doing now. I would rather lose by playing pretty ("sexy football") football than win ugly.
Old 07-04-08, 12:20   #3

My concern is also the style of play we are doing now. I would rather lose by playing pretty ("sexy football") football than win ugly.

That baffles me really. I would rather win to be honest.
Old 07-04-08, 12:21   #4

That baffles me really. I would rather win to be honest.
I'll re-phrase that, i would rather lose trying to play pretty football than ugly football.
Old 07-04-08, 12:26   #5

I'll re-phrase that, i would rather lose trying to play pretty football than ugly football.
At the end of the day I would rather win and I dinnie bother how we dae it. We'd aw love sexy fitba but Mixu has not got millions of pounds to spend and he's not got the quality youngsters Mowbray and Collins had at their disposal. Mixu is playing to the strenghts of the players in his team.
Old 07-04-08, 12:29   #6

At the end of the day I would rather win and I dinnie bother how we dae it. We'd aw love sexy fitba but Mixu has not got millions of pounds to spend and he's not got the quality youngsters Mowbray and Collins had at their disposal. Mixu is playing to the strenghts of the players in his team.
You can't say you're no bothered about the way we get a win, then in the next sentence say we'd all love sexy fitba. What you're really saying is that you'll sacrifice good fitba for the sake of results.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 07-04-08, 12:30   #7

More negativity.. would you rather no just win
Old 07-04-08, 12:32   #8

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

We've got exciting players like Shiels and Zoomer. I want to see them on the ball.
Old 07-04-08, 12:33   #9

You can't say you're no bothered about the way we get a win, then in the next sentence say we'd all love sexy fitba. What you're really saying is that you'll sacrifice good fitba for the sake of results.
Well I think we'd all love to watch sexy fitba but yes you are right I would sacrifice sexy fitba for results on the park and final league positions.

I loved watching Hibs under Mowbray but we still never won anything and we got humped in europe from a team that the sheep beat last year (don't know if they had changed much though
)

It is very early days for Mixu.
Old 07-04-08, 12:36   #10

We've got exciting players like Shiels and Zoomer. I want to see them on the ball.
They have both had their chances under Mixu. Zoomer has shown his quality. 99% of the time Shiels has been annonymous.
Old 07-04-08, 12:37   #11

HutchieHibee is on the way to a first team debut

to be fair to Mixu...

Hibs in December were completely and utterly rank...

the fact we have not only stopped the rot but are challenging for the UEFA Cup slot is a minor miracle...

while overall some games have been rather poor we at least show flashes of brilliance and putting points on the board...

Mixi is still assessing the squad... as seen by throwing on players like Donaldson "for a runout" against St Mirren...

stopping the rot was Mixus first task... completed IMO

winning enough to get us in top six... completed

winning regularly ... completed

winning and playing good football .. still to come

but given the few months he has been in charge I wouldn't be too upset about not achieving that yet
HutchieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 12:47   #12
The whole world has gone radge

we scored two cracking goals on saturday and won did we no and although mcneil had to make some good stops to 'save the day' we're starting to look a better team, mixu had to pick the pieces up from JC's departure and he's done a sterling job IMO brought us back up the league and possibly getting us into europe. What else can we ask for in this short period?

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 12:47   #13

Bubbels Champion! Glop Champion! Glop 2:Glops Revenge Champion! Glop 3:Final Battle Champion! Gold Strike Champion! Halloween Pumpkins Champion!

I think it is far too early to get concerned about his football strategy. He’s hardly got his feet under the table and clearly wants to try out a few ideas before deciding where he wants to take the team and how. He is a Hibs fan and is well aware of the fans expectations of playing with a bit of panache.

If I was forced to criticise his style however, I’d have to say I’m not sure about that overcoat. It just seems a bit short to me – almost like the ‘car coat’ of the sixties, usually in a sort of velour material with fake fur collar. I’d like to see a return to the knee length overcoat, perhaps with the belt unfastened, but definitely NOT fastened in a loop at the back. That’s the sort of style that I’d expect to see at the PBS to be honest.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 07-04-08, 13:02   #14

More negativity.. would you rather no just win
Win pretty, yes.
Old 07-04-08, 13:02   #15

Briant will become famous soon enough

From December 2nd to January 5th, under Collins/Craig, Hibs went from 3rd to 8th; we were in free fall.

In two months, after a shaky start, Mixu had Hibs back up to 3rd.

Losses to Rangers and Motherwell have seen us drop to 5th.

I think Mixu has done what he was asked to do when he got the job.

Mixu said from the start that he wants to build a team from the back. I assume he said that in his interview and the board were happy with that. I dont recall reading lots of protests about it at the time

He also said he wanted Hibs to play football and that would come after a solid defence was in place.

I too am a bit surprised about some of his choices to start games but am willing to put it down to him assessing players in the heat of battle (
)

Anyhoo, he deserves a fair crack of the whip before we bump him

">
Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 13:06   #16

You should start going to Old Trafford then
Old 07-04-08, 13:11   #17
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

Six Feet Under Champion!
Tournaments Won: 1

my one concern for and not with mixu is plain and simple,

to put it bluntly all the guys on here and else were having a go at Mixu because were not playing pretty football with pink bows on it, so what

We are in the top 6 with a chance off Europe and still having a team to play next year,

Yes we all got used to sexy football, but tactics change, we obviously don't have a team that can play with flair at the moment

MIXU YOU HAVE MY VOTE, KEEP DOING WHAT YOUR DOING COS SOMETHING MUST BE WORKING

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 13:15   #18

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

Rangers play the worst football in the league but are the champions elect.

Old 07-04-08, 13:27   #19

Vini1875 is on the way to a first team debut

I agree with most of the points in the first post and would rather see the young guys come through. I think a big part in making our golden generation was the fact that they had to play week in, week out. It is really difficult for young guys to make an impact for one game and then stay in the team performing well and consistently. I recall Murray and whitaker in particular taking pelters as they struggled to establish themselves. So Mixu's reluctance to persevere with the younger guys like Hanlon, McCann and Stevenson is a worry for me as I rate those three highly and ahead of guys like Gattheusie (sp) Zarabi and Rankin.

What I think about Mixu is that he has a system the diamond shape midfield and needs very powerful, quick full backs who can cover the full length of the pitch, who are equally as good in attack as they are at defending. He also
needs two midfielders who can cover and tackle and close down anything moving from the opposition midfield and turn defence into attack very quickly. We don't have the guys who can do this.

The system might be sound but if you don't have the players to play it what you get is defenders caught out of position and knackered from being wingers and defenders. Central defenders with no option but to punt it and midfielders who have to watch as the ball sails over there head or are chasing shadows because they are up against three guys in the middle of the pitch.

Murray has been brilliant just in front of the back four, but Zemmama playing just behind the front two blows hot and cold. We need a Latapy type player there and the two in the middle we need a Brown and Thompson type combo. I don't think we have these players at the club so either Mixu gets them in or changes the system.

I think the other thing is that we are playing no uglier than the rest of the SPL the trouble is we have had it very good for a while in terms of good football that what is plain SPL fare looks very ugly to us. I think comparisons with Williamsons teams are not valid BW's football was rank and it didn't get results. Mixu is getting some results and the habit of winning is the first and best habit to have, I just hope they have the bottle for the remaining games to get us into Europe and then give Mixu the chance to bring some new talent.
Vini1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-08, 13:36   #20
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club