Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,478 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat
Mixu's done ok but is he the new Bobby?
So I should really be a sheep or, far worse, OF glory hunter. But I' was born in Dun Eidann. On Easter Sunday. So... And I'm glad. Think Hibs represent everything I agree with. Style, class and open mindedness to name but a few traits. So I need to ask, Is Mixu the new BobbyW? Yes, he's turned our season round but style seems to have evaporated? I liked McLeish with latapy et al doing 6-2. I liked Tone's cavalire brilliance. I liked JC passing the hun off the pitch at hun-box. But Hibs are Hibs. I can sacrifrice results for doing it the hibs way. Can Mixu? Tell me?
Re: Mixu's done ok but is he the new Bobby?
Otherwise, fuck it. We probably have two games left at ER this season. Today was game 1 of 3 for me about whether or not I buy a st next year. If there aren't two monumentally better attempts to play football than today I won't be getting a ST next year. In absolutely all likeliehood I'll be at every game at ER next season as usual whether I buy one or not, but it's just going to have to be a tiny token protest at this style of fitba. It's fucking horrible to watch atm.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Bring on the Hearts next season though :YAYYY:
I think the jury's still out boys. I've always advocated playing football in the last third, which we are still doing to a certain degree? It's not quite Jamboo hoofball just yet. However, WHEN they were winning Scotish Cups and finishing 3rd in league - - did you ever hear their fans complaining about the lack of football played at the PBS....? Maybe we have to adapt?
Silky soccer is one thing, but I'd much rather see eleven hairy arsed weight lifters kick Hearts off the park, dominate for ninety minutes, wipe their willies on a rag and leave-type win than getting shafted by the likes of Brellier and Velicka. Thing is - for years on this board we have cried out for a 'decent target man'...now we have one. We've long been needing a bit of midfield muscle, and in Ian Murray we have that...........so.....??? |
And that's one of the reasons why I support Hibs and not Hearts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
I dont think you can compare Blobby (one of our worst managers ever) and Mixu and lets not forget before he came in at the start of the year we were on a severe slide down the table thanks to the previous management and he really had no time to wheel and deal in the transfer market to make his own mark on a squad that to me was poorly put together by Collins and Craig.
Take yesterdays match against St Mirren we score to peachy goals and granted we had Andy McNeil to thank for 4 great saves to help us get 3 points. However I firmly believe that under previous regimes we would have lost that match. If we get 3 points by winning ugly at this moment in time I will take it as long as we are still in the hunt for European football and 3rd place. |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
I think you're the first person I've heard mention on here the fact we scored two great goals yesterday. Zem's in particular was a goal that in the darker days of the past, we'd have been talking about for the rest of the season and beyond. Instead, it seems to have been almost forgotten in the clamour to have a go at our style of play and/or Mixu. This may not be a popular view but I think that many myths have sprung up surrounding our general style of play over the last thirty years. Yes, there have been periods of style and panache, but I don't recall too many under Duffy, Auld or Miller to name a few. And the latter was around for a long time. Even the likes of Stanton and Blackley didn't exactly have the team playing with anywhere near the style of the side they played in, as I recall it. Williamson is far from alone in that respect. As for Mixu, give the guy a chance. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
Rep Power: 20 ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: Tournaments Won: 1 |
question and i want a straight answer,
if Mixu had not come to ER when he did, would we still be in a chance off Europe, or would we get our derby, but in the bottom six, I think it would have been the latter, he has taken a team in a nosedive and brought us back up, so fuck he did it with some 'ugly' football, but the whole point off this game is TO WIN not out sexy your opposing team
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. from 11pm friday To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
#9 | ||||||
Rep Power: 42 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 5000 Arcade Stats: |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. That said, it is all relative and they most certainly have been the industrial football team for at least 3 decades To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quote:
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. But it soon went Paul Tosh To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quote:
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quote:
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Derek Rodier and Stuart Turnbull To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: May 2007
2. Not really. I just don't get it because some of the people coming out with this stuff are not much younger than me and have probably been to ER more times than I have. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
The current footballing style is a means to an end - ie. winning games at the business end of the season. Despite attempting to play football under TM and JC at this stage of the season, we rarely played anything worth watching, probably due to the pitches cutting up, injuries and fatigue setting in and the fact that teams were getting desperate for points and dragging us into dogfights. Mixu has adapted the way we play to get around these factors. Don't forget the fact that there has been so much change since Mixu came in - it isn't fair to judge him as the team isn't fully settled yet.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Been going to see hibs for nearly 30 years and the majority of that time the football has been, well best forgotten apart from a couple seasons under miller(and only a couple) but under eck its the best sustained seasons i can remember, Tonys time he was forced to use a lot of young guys and some turned out to be diamonds, great going forward painful to watch at the back most of the time, JC time apart from couple great results fecking disaster IMO, Dont think i could bare to watch the boring shit of old cause i was not fortunate enough to see the truly great sides at ER but i still want to see my team play in a certain entertaining way and i'm hoping with the kind of player big mixu was he'll entertain us with his team when he puts it together.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. good 2 b To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Let him get some more of his players in then decide . To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. GGTTH |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Overall we have been grim to watch, really grim infact but under Mixu we have scored some fine team goals (Inverness at Easter Road spring to mind straight away)
I really hope right now Mixu is only pissing with the cock he has and in the summer will be looking to buy better cocks to do nicer pishes more often next season. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
#16 | |||
So you would see rather us winning in spectacular style half the time, that us winning every game 1-0, boring as ferk and winning a treble??? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Quote:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|||
Everybody is a Radge
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
There isn't a manager worth his salt is going to arrive in Scotland in the middle of winter and ask never mind get his players to play silky espansive football. We'd be just above Gretna if he'd tried that. He's had to toughen up the side and grind points, that's percentage stuff, he's actually done the right thing. The players heads were/are all over the place as well. It took Eddie Turnball 18 months and McLeish 2 and half years before we decent.
Dont think many if any would disagree that winning is what really matters to us,but if along the way we do it with style and entertain then thats just an added bonus,you tend to see teams that win most times are entertainin to watch and pleasing on the eye, when we played under eck and tony and the football was no bad we were hardly cannon foder, we had no bad players and especially under eck good to watch and hard to beat cause the balance was right, under blobby he told us his teams job wasn't to entertain, and we were shit to watch and not very hard to beat, IMO it comes down to the manager and how he wants to play and i dont see mixu as the type to sit back and afraid to take chances, he's no had long enough for any of us to judge him yet.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. good 2 b To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
THE RADGE THAT DOESN'T SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2006
Rep Power: 23 ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() vCash: 4500 Arcade Stats: |
I think it is a bit early to make any judgement of Mixu just now. Lets see what happens after the summer and he has had the time to build up the team and then make it. No one surely could be like Bobby, however, if Mixu does end up like him, I can see a Yogi Hughes thread on here again.