Old 05-04-08, 19:57   #1

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough
So just when did we turn into Hearts?

It doesn't take a footballing genius to say that was dire today. The most exciting thing I saw from the terracing after 3.05pm was that fire. Shocking stuff.

The thing that gets me though is the attitude of our support. Loads of folk seem to be happy with the gash thats being served up and just because we're beating the teams we should be beating. 3 points doesn't hide the fact we're a long ball team, rapidly running out of ideas and fitness. It's Jambo fitba and Williamson fitba.

Before anyone comes in with the old chestnut - it's nonsense to think the only alternative to winning ugly is losing attractively.
Old 05-04-08, 20:00   #2

Re: So just when did we turn into Hearts?

As i said on another thread the lots of empty seats around us when we're challenging for third spot tells a story...
Old 05-04-08, 20:01   #3

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
As i said on another thread the lots of empty seats around us when we're challenging for third spot tells a story...
Oh stop being such a misery guts the night you

Easter holidays bound to have had an impact
Old 05-04-08, 20:05   #4

Originally Posted by SKII View Post
Oh stop being such a misery guts the night you

Easter holidays bound to have had an impact
I was a bit shocked with the crowd in our previous ER fixture J.

Remember the excitement at this point season 2004-2005 as we challenged for 3rd spot?

Where is it now?
Old 05-04-08, 20:09   #5

COWDEN-HIBEE is on the way to a first team debut

Mixu football is mince , dont care if its winning it is brutal . And we are carrying some luck to win games
COWDEN-HIBEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-08, 20:13   #6

boydy 1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Remember the excitement at this point season 2004-2005 as we challenged for 3rd spot?

Where is it now?
down the tubes there is little singing and the little singing there is lasts about 20 seconds then fades

RIORDAN IS HOME
boydy 1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-08, 20:14   #7

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

Where is it now?
I actually was thinking back to 2004/5 last week when I was sat in the stand at Fir Park...and minding how we were also crap in the corresponding "Amadou" game that scraped us over the line to that Uefa Cup spot - all the remaining fixtures we spluttered and stuttered and got there after that god damned awful game v the huns on the final day.

I think we have higher expectations now generally. I think we have a generally poorer squad due to our prime assets being sold. I think I would rather be where we are than where we were when Mixu took over but I know it is not ideal, far from it. However, until we start afresh next season I am not prepared to judge what is likely to be the case long term - making silk purses out of sow's ears would be an impressive trick. More likely we need new faces and the Finn has more in mind.

Today the game went flat after we went 2-0 up so quickly. Again it was (in the main) a problem with the middle of the park.

Alan Reid was on the park today bringing back horrible memories of Blobby and his interpretation of the beautiful game. Wee Zoomer would be half way to Inverness by now if we were back in those times - wouldn't he?
Old 05-04-08, 20:21   #8

Originally Posted by SKII View Post
I actually was thinking back to 2004/5 last week when I was sat in the stand at Fir Park...and minding how we were also crap in the corresponding "Amadou" game that scraped us over the line to that Uefa Cup spot - all the remaining fixtures we spluttered and stuttered and got there after that god damned awful game v the huns on the final day.

I think we have higher expectations now generally. I think we have a generally poorer squad due to our prime assets being sold. I think I would rather be where we are than where we were when Mixu took over but I know it is not ideal, far from it. However, until we start afresh next season I am not prepared to judge what is likely to be the case long term - making silk purses out of sow's ears would be an impressive trick. More likely we need new faces and the Finn has more in mind.

Today the game went flat after we went 2-0 up so quickly. Again it was (in the main) a problem with the middle of the park.

Alan Reid was on the park today bringing back horrible memories of Blobby and his interpretation of the beautiful game. Wee Zoomer would be half way to Inverness by now if we were back in those times - wouldn't he?
Sensible words. I pretty much agree.

However, i am concerned that this is Mixu fitba..

But, contrary to what Forza is implying i'm certainly not saying 'Mixu isn't the man for the job'.

I think that's the Jocky Wilson territory..
Old 05-04-08, 20:25   #9

F Sauzee's Sake...dinnae mention Tam the Bam
Old 05-04-08, 22:22   #10

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

I say we bring back John Collins and lose our next 5 games and finish next season in the bottom 3 or 4. At least then, we wouldn't have people waiting to slag Mixu, which is the feeling I get on the bounce these days.
Old 05-04-08, 22:24   #11

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

Sensible words. I pretty much agree.

However, i am concerned that this is Mixu fitba..

But, contrary to what Forza is implying i'm certainly not saying 'Mixu isn't the man for the job'.
Yet, almost every thread you have a problem with a decision he has made.
Old 05-04-08, 22:26   #12

Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
Pretty much how i read it
Old 05-04-08, 22:27   #13

wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer View Post
It doesn't take a footballing genius to say that was dire today. The most exciting thing I saw from the terracing after 3.05pm was that fire. Shocking stuff.

The thing that gets me though is the attitude of our support. Loads of folk seem to be happy with the gash thats being served up and just because we're beating the teams we should be beating. 3 points doesn't hide the fact we're a long ball team, rapidly running out of ideas and fitness. It's Jambo fitba and Williamson fitba.

Before anyone comes in with the old chestnut - it's nonsense to think the only alternative to winning ugly is losing attractively.
Hadnae seen this before I posted a comment that if I wanted to watch that shite I'd have bought a ST for Tynecastle.

You're spot on. It's like watching a Williamson side.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 05-04-08, 22:27   #14

I have concerns. That's obvious.

I am not alone in that respect. That's obvious.
Old 05-04-08, 22:37   #15

I've not got a problem with "every" decision he has made. I think he made two very good signings in Murray & Canning. Both are better signings up till now than anyone Collins made imo.

Are we more consistent than under Collins? Yes imo. However that consistency has meant beating sides who are far worse than us, toiling against sides who are on a similar level to us, and being sklelped by sides that are better than we are.

In other words we're playing like Hearts. Not a good thing.

Old 05-04-08, 22:41   #16

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
I've not got a problem with "every" decision he has made. I think he made two very good signings in Murray & Canning. Both are better signings up till now than anyone Collins made imo.

Are we more consistent than under Collins? Yes imo. However that consistency has meant beating sides who are far worse than us, toiling against sides who are on a similar level to us, and being sklelped by sides that are better than we are.

In other words we're playing like Hearts. Not a good thing.
Canning was very lucky to get away with 2 , 40 inch passes in his own box today (first half)
Old 05-04-08, 22:46   #17

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
Canning was very lucky to get away with 2 , 40 inch passes in his own box today (first half)
Centre halfs can't pass a ball. The ones who can end up way beyond the level they should be at (see Gary Caldwell).

If we wanted to criticise every centre half who couldn't pass a ball who has played for Hibs we'd be here a while.

Old 05-04-08, 22:48   #18

Centre halfs can't pass a ball. The ones who can end up way beyond the level they should be at (see Gary Caldwell).

If we wanted to criticise every centre half who couldn't pass a ball who has played for Hibs we'd be here a while.
My favourite ever Hibs centre half Gordon Hunter couldn't pass..
Old 05-04-08, 22:58   #19

So a one yard pass is better than knocking the ball out for a throw or corner ??
Sorry but not in my book (or am i just another one of those fans who knows fuck all ?)
Old 05-04-08, 23:03   #20

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
So a one yard pass is better than knocking the ball out for a throw or corner ??
Where the fuck did I even remotely say anything even in the vicinity of that? And aye! A ball which is kept in our posession is a fucking hundred miles better than leathering the baw out of play!

Is a pass better than a clearance? Fucking hell dude!