Casino cash: £4845 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 17
Hibs line up summer clash with Barcelona
Mixed thoughts on this one. If handled properly it could be great. Has anything really changed since this fixture was mooted last year though?
Hibs line up summer clash with Barcelona |
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
Casino cash: £7790 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
Re: Hibs line up summer clash with Barcelona
I wonder if Hearts pre-season plans include going to the wall.
Casino cash: £5046 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Queue the constructive comments from the scumbos that Hibs were second choice and Hertz haven't got time for teams like Barcelona.. when in reality they would love to play a team like Barcelona again. Might have been there last chance before they go tits up... in fact it's already went tits up for them
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge
Casino cash: £9570 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Spooky Admin Radge
Casino cash: £2534 vCash: 10000
I kind of feel that we missed a trick by not playing them last year
HOWEVER If they win the Champions League, then we'll easily top the 58,000 that Barlecona attracted last year. I'm surprised they are coming back mind, the cigars and the malt whiskys must be really good at Gleneagles.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
Casino cash: £2492 vCash: 10000
I think it would be a bad idea,chasing shadows for 90mins would'nt be my idea of a glamour friendly.Now if it were at ER that would be a different ball game,like Utd i think we would give them a game.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
Casino cash: £3694 vCash: 70000
Bloody hell!
We could have a wee tourney with Barcelona and Real Madrid (as part of the Fletch deal)! Apart from that NO! The ‘game’ last year was a farce as a football match and did nothing to prepare Hertz for the season, other than make them even more deluded. Maybe if we looked on it as an extra outwith the pre-season fitness preparation it might be worth it. Having said that FCB charged Hearts a reported £1m at then time with that now exaggerated to £2m. (58,000 x £25 comes in around £1.5m
Casino cash: £3091 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I agree I would play at Easter Road but not Murrayfield. If Dundee Utd can play them in 12,000 stadium surely they'll play at Easter Road in front of 17,000?I know they want proceeds to go to Unicef surely if they're that keen on that to happen they can drop their "appearance fee"?
Also, it will be good preparation for our UEFA Cup clash with AC Milan next season |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Casino cash: £979 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £2617 vCash: 52500
Casino cash: £3767 vCash: 220739400 Thanks: 69
This isnae for me. The last thing the cabbage needs mid season is the bollox the gunts had last season.
Hope it doesn't go ahead...
Casino cash: £2726 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Bouncers should have no doubts this is about Barcelona not Hibs - like our maroon chums last year we are the daft wee nuisance team from a diddy league put there to be swept aside - nothing more. Barca enjoyed the training facilities at St Andrews and their players, officials and manager enjoyed the golf - that is whay they are in Scotland.
We may agree to play them but once Rod Petrie signs the deal the whole thing will be taken out of his hands by Barcelona's management company Platinum One. They will run the whole thing and market it lock stock and barrell and they'll take the bulk of the profit. Platinum One will say the game is at Murrayfield, they want 50k not 18k - and they will negotiate to broadcast it thru Sky or Setanta - we will have no say whatsoever in this and there is no chance of the game being at Easter Road. Our job is to turn up at Murrayfield and play. This is about marketing the Barca brand and selling the new Barca home and away shirts which naturally will be on sale at the stadium. I doubt Hibs will even be allowed to sell our new kits at Murrayfield from the same stalls as the Barca shirts will be sold from - we'll be relegated to some wee side stall. Hardcore Hibs ST Holders will be given NO consideration here as its not about us - its more about the once a year attenders who watch their football on Sky.. Thank f**k I'm a Valencia fan!! ![]()
Casino cash: £10501 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
![]() ![]() ![]() |
By the way it was St Andrews they stayed at and they loved it, hence the trip back. |
Casino cash: £4192 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
can't believe were even questioning the idea playing a friendly v barcelona-it's fecking barceclona FFS
i'd prefer it to be played at ER to be honest
Casino cash: £5706 vCash: 25700 Thanks: 5
reporter in barcelona let me know roughly how much barca were looking for. we'd have been lucky to break even... EDIT : 1M euro was the figure quoted but they were tarting themselves to anyone to get a bidding war - not sure how much of that went to unicef though ? |
Casino cash: £20855 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If this comes to pass my eldest laddie is going to be gutted
![]() He loves Henry (esp) and Co but is spending the summer training in Milan. Hibs versus Barcelona would be something he would relish - but he won't be here ![]() Just have to tell him how it was I guess ![]() ![]()
![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
Casino cash: £3694 vCash: 70000
Casino cash: £3771 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Atletico Bilbao for me
Casino cash: £4192 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Casino cash: £4337 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
This sounds like a bit of a non story particularly as Hibs may well be in the Intertoto cup at around the same time.
![]() A match at Easter Road would be interesting but as for Murrayfield the novelty as worn off as last years match against Hearts was decidely one paced and bland and any neutral who was there paying £25 was completely short changed and won't be coming back. Barcelona remind me to much of Celtc anyway with their paranoia, chips on the shoulder and a very embellished history and they also have a very small section of right wing Catalan ultra nationalists who are downright racist who I had the misfortune to sit beside when Samuel Eto played for FC Mallorca ironically. ![]() These boys over on a stag weekend from Dinaburg or FC Swan Vesta or whatever they were called sound a much better shout.
![]() Join Date: Mar 2008
Casino cash: £7085 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 7
I agree this is definately a merchandising drive for barcelona not that they need it,but don't think it will do us any harm to go ahead with it
![]() Join Date: Jan 2008
Casino cash: £7378 vCash: 10000
Re: Hibs line up s |