Intertoto
Hearts not going for it so its Hibs or Falkirk.
[Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] I think its good to go for it as they are competitive matches but they need to have a plan be if they go out.
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Re: Intertoto
worry bout the toll on players fitness thru next season tho
Capital Green
"2008-09 is a very important season in the history of Hearts, and everything we do must be right."
Surely every season is important no ?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. - Visit the official bebo site of the Hibs Ultras. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. - The official website of the Capital Greens. Please sign up for our newsletters, and sign up to the site. It's worth it, I promise |
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2005
Hopefully we'll manage to qualify for the UEFA Cup directly via 3rd in the league, but if not I think the Intertoto is a good move.
OK, the old system of endless rounds of matches was awful, but in the current structure 2 rounds of matches would get us into the last qualifying round of the UEFA Cup. Maximum of 4 matches, starting no earlier than we're usually starting our pre-season friendlies (last year the friendly in Austria was in the 1st week of July), it gives us a pretty good chance of making the UEFA Cup, and if we don't manage it we at least get some meaningful pre-season matches against better quality opposition than Berwick Rangers and Brechin City. And of course the chance of a Summer European trip to watch Hibs. :YAYYY: |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
better to have competitive matches for a warm up. Correct me if i'm wrong, but we've had two no bad seasons after entering? won a cup in 1, should've won the SC in the other (2004/2005)
Mixu Paatelainen Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2006
They will win the champions league and the league next year obviously To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The 2 seasons we entered the Intertoto could be called successful To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. 2004-05 - SPL 3rd - qualified for Uefa 2006-07 - SPL top 6 - CIS Cup winners To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I dont have a problem wae Hibs using this as an alternative to getting into Europe. So the players have to come back a couple of weeks early for pre-season(something TM didn't do in '04), that should be no big deal. In fact they should be champin' at the bit tae get tore in and make up for not making the Uefa through the normal way. Hopefully this isn't the case tho', and we do finish 3rd, as we go straight into the 1st round, which is the one before the group stages. Intertoto qualification puts us in at the 2nd qualifying Rd.
![]() Join Date: Mar 2008
Not even thinking about intertoto..We are getting third...we'd better or will be seriously hacked off
We could be in the Intertoto in the next 5 days. Guarantees a decent Hibs swally trip atleast - good times. I'm unsure how thios current Hibs crop plus any additions would fair compared to the squad at the start of 06/07, was the squad of 2 seasons ago stronger? I think so in certain two of the four positional departments.
Nevertheless, third is still very much in our own hands if we get a decent result on Saturday and the split isnae a fixture shambles.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
We have the best fixture on Saturday and would be wholly dissapointed if they didn't beat st mirren.Rangers and cetic should trounce the opposition
A good thing about this?
Falkirk obviously fancy it, so assuming we stay ahead of them and they finish in the top 6 it's in their interests to do something good against Dundee Utd and Motherwell.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Think the 1st round would be against "modest" opposition anyway no so we would hopefully get a good first leg result and "rotate" a few players if need be. Obviously the 2nd round would be trickier but there will be a gradual improvement in the oppositon before we face AC Milan in the group stages of UEFA Cup
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Ah f**k it we'll get 3rd in the SPL. |