Old 29-03-08, 19:24   #1

Just Back... My Thoughts

Goalie - Too wee but not to blame

Canning - Not his best game in a Hibs shirt but he will come good I think?

Hogg - More mistakes than usual but still a good player

Jones - Ok, but can be Bambi on Ice sometimes

Hanlon - The laddie done well, although some fans are now rounding on him, he is 17 FFS.

Sheils - Not sure what position he was playing, he wasn't either, nor was Mixu. His 25 minutes as a left winger was nothing short of embarrassing and Mixu got that very wrong.

Murray - Our best player

Rankin - Just doesn't do it for me, I expected much more

Zemmama - A showman playing fitba on a tattie field, it was never going to happen.

Morais - A complete and utter waste of space.

Nish - Not his best game but he was often trying to win the ball and play a lone striker type roll.

Subs

Benji - Pace, passion, desire to get the ball, he currently has none of these.

Donaldson - Actually looked better than most when he came on and nearly stole us a point.

Mixu - Some of his decisions baffle me.

Pitch - A disgrace, more sand than grass.

Motherwell - A better fitba' team than us, buy half an inch. The game was error filled and more like a relegation dogfight between two pish teams than the battle of a UEFA Cup place.

The Hibs Support - Large, but strangely resigned to our fate I thought?

Old 29-03-08, 19:28   #2

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Just back... my thoughts

Mark, there is every chance a bastardised version of that report will appear in tomorrow's SoS.

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 19:32   #3
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough

vCash: 25

Agent Footy Champion! Agent Footy 1: Chasing Change Champion! Celebrity Hitman Terroist Alert Champion! Goal Keeper Champion!

Goalie - Too wee but not to blame

Canning - Not his best game in a Hibs shirt but he will come good I think?

Hogg - More mistakes than usual but still a good player

Jones - Ok, but can be Bambi on Ice sometimes

Hanlon - The laddie done well, although some fans are now rounding on him, he is 17 FFS.

Sheils - Not sure what position he was playing, he wasn't either, nor was Mixu. His 25 minutes as a left winger was nothing short of embarrassing and Mixu got that very wrong.

Murray - Our best player

Rankin - Just doesn't do it for me, I expected much more

Zemmama - A showman playing fitba on a tattie field, it was never going to happen.

Morais - A complete and utter waste of space.

Nish - Not his best game but he was often trying to win the ball and play a lone striker type roll.

Subs

Benji - Pace, passion, desire to get the ball, he currently has none of these.

Donaldson - Actually looked better than most when he came on and nearly stole us a point.

Mixu - Some of his decisions baffle me.

Motherwell - A better fitba' team than us, buy half an inch. The game was error filled and more like a relegation dogfight between two pish teams than the battle of a UEFA Cup place.

Spot on with your assessment of the players Mark,

As for the bit in bold...

Agreed, i personally think that we all know that we don't have a team capable of scrapping for points and in all the Big games that we've had since Mixu arrived (Yams, Celtic Home, Rangers away twice) the players and manager have bottled it, today IMO was no different.

I think Mixu has done a good job since arriving but thats the 5th game hes been caught out tactically, worrying thing is though, whenever its not working hes really reluctant to change things.A trend that needs to be bucked if we want to finish third.

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 19:34   #4

Bob1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Wasnt at the game today, but if your right about Morais, surely its time to get him to feck. Coz he IS a waste of space.

Bob1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 19:49   #5
A Radge Looking On The Bright Side

KeithTheHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Beach Football

That pitch was a disgrace. Trying to play football on it was just a no-go
One quarter of the pitch had been re-laid, the rest had been covered in sand. Zemmama didn't seem to grasp that he couldn't play his usual game on it, his shot in the second half where he kicked more sand than the ball summed it up. Also, why were we playing in the black strip? There's no need to, they play in Orange and maroon, hardly a clash of kits.

WELCOME HOME DEEKS!!!
KeithTheHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 19:49   #6
Roots Rock Radge

Dunc89 will become famous soon enough

The pitch contributed hugely in turning what should've been a decent game of football into a scrappy affair with no room for any fluent football. All to Motherwell's advantage, ofcourse. They were stronger and faster than us, and that's what won them the 3 points today.

Hibs' lacklustre passing and movement today was immensely frustrating, and although many of the players seemed up for the game today, none could channel this into good football. From early on in the game it was clear that every potential move would be halted by either a misplaced pass or dogged motherwell defending, which is why the Hibs support, although large, was so subdued today.
Old 29-03-08, 20:00   #7

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Agreed, i personally think that we all know that we don't have a team capable of scrapping for points and in all the Big games that we've had since Mixu arrived (Yams, Celtic Home, Rangers away twice) the players and manager have bottled it, today IMO was no different.

I think Mixu has done a good job since arriving but thats the 5th game hes been caught out tactically, worrying thing is though, whenever its not working hes really reluctant to change things.A trend that needs to be bucked if we want to finish third.
Interesting to read the comments so far. I don't really get some of these though, BB. Firstly, did we "bottle it" or is it more a case of setting out with a cautious approach which hasn't come off?

Also, what do you mean when you say Mixu is reluctant to change things? We made subsititutions today didn't we? And someone said Deano ended up on the left wing. Last week many on here were saying we should've started with Zoomer and/or Deano. Well today we started with both and the result was the same.

I think it's just that we're still a bit short on quality rather than tactical ineptness or whatever. As you say, Mixu has done a good job so far. Thing is, expectations have risen again, and now fans are going to be very disappointed if we don't get into Europe.

Don't blame anyone who was at the game today for being pissed off as it sounded like a very poor performance from Hibs.That's disappoinitng. But we have to remember where we were a couple of months ago and despite the shecht some have been speaking about this being "a must-win game" we are still in the hunt for Europe. Sounds like we'll have to play a lot better in the coming weeks though and improve on our results in the type of big games you mention.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 20:09   #8
Anti-Old Firm Radge

murray will become famous soon enough

IMO the pitch wasent to blame i don't think it was as bad as everyone makes it out to be (on this occasion).Motherwell defended well, pretty much 11 men behind the ball at all times.Haning was doing my nut in today more so than the rest of the team (bar murray) the laddie just hasn't got any presence.A fecking poor poor performance im absolutely gutted we didn't take anything from todays game.Deano wtf was he upto the day.
murray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 20:09   #9
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Agent Footy Champion! Agent Footy 1: Chasing Change Champion! Celebrity Hitman Terroist Alert Champion! Goal Keeper Champion!

Interesting to read the comments so far. I don't really get some of these though, BB. Firstly, did we "bottle it" or is it more a case of setting out with a cautious approach which hasn't come off?

Also, what do you mean when you say Mixu is reluctant to change things? We made subsititutions today didn't we? And someone said Deano ended up on the left wing. Last week many on here were saying we should've started with Zoomer and/or Deano. Well today we started with both and the result was the same.

I think it's just that we're still a bit short on quality rather than tactical ineptness or whatever. As you say, Mixu has done a good job so far. Thing is, expectations have risen again, and now fans are going to be very disappointed if we don't get into Europe.

Don't blame anyone who was at the game today for being pissed off as it sounded like a very poor performance from Hibs.That's disappoinitng. But we have to remember where we were a couple of months ago and despite the shecht some have been speaking about this being "a must-win game" we are still in the hunt for Europe. Sounds like we'll have to play a lot better in the coming weeks though and improve on our results in the type of big games you mention.

Reluctant in the sense that hes waiting far too long to change things, christ 5minutes after half time today it was pretty clear that throwing Benji on and changing to a 4-4-2 wasn't working, yet he still waited until about 15 minutes to go to put Clayton on.

At ibrox last week it was the same, it wasn't working before half time and still he didn't change it until 15 minutes into the second half.

Anyway, we lost and we can't dwell too much, as you rightly pointed out we're still in the hunt and there are plenty points still up for grabs.

Old 29-03-08, 20:13   #10

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Reluctant in the sense that hes waiting far too long to change things, chirst 5minutes after half time today it was pretty clear that throwing Benji on and changing to a 4-4-2 wasn't working, yet he still waited until about 15 minutes to go to put Clayton on.

At ibrox last week it was the same, it wasn't working before half time and still he didn't change it until 15 minutes into the second half.

Anyway, we lost and we can't dwell too much, as you rightly pointed out we're still in the hunt and there are plenty points still up for grabs.
Cheers for your views, mate.
GGTTH. By the way, I always wonder which person in your pics is you.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 20:17   #11
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Cheers for your views, mate.
GGTTH. By the way, I always wonder which person in your pics is you.
Far left

Old 29-03-08, 20:28   #12

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

The pitch was a midden.

Driving back from the match I heard some gadgey on the Traynor programme (not a Hibby btw) saying that Boyle's assertion he was relaying the pitch was a lie.

They had done some resurfacing - less than a quarter of the half of the park nearest the away end. The rest of the pitch was exactly as it has been - only covered in a couple of inches of sand.

As Mark says, the match was error ridden - and both sides were culpable. Motherwell's passing etc was a smidgeon (and by that I mean a slither of a smatter) better than ours. The only difference between the sides in terms of the quality of play was they put the ball in the back of the onion bag.

I felt sorry for wee Zooms. He did his best in the first half to get us going but it was like trying to roll an egg across a ploughed field.

Jones didnt have his best outing - more like the old giraffe on roller skates at times. Canning looked reluctant to go forward at all and was a little bit off the pace too often.

The folks having personal pops during the game at the likes of Hanlon really are very troubled people. He is 17 years of age

Rankin didnt show. Morais played far longer than he deserved - ie a whole performance longer. There was one stage in the second half where wee Zooms didnt pass to him when really a pass was the right thing - but Morais had performed so ineptly nobody could blame him.

Best player on the park - and possibly the main difference between the sides - was Stephen Hughes. Really wish we had been able to sign him. He was what we were missing today as we were far too lightweight in midfield, failed to track runners and struggled to hold onto the ball under pressure. We missed the players who were not fit - especially Fletcher and in midfield.

Motherwell may well be happy with their three points tonight but the supporters were short changed today. That park is STILL a disgrace and it led to 90 minutes masquerading as a football match. Outrageous conditions - and somebody must be held responsible for the mess that has resulted at Fir Park.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 20:36   #13
Anti-Old Firm Radge

The pitch was a midden.

Driving back from the match I heard some gadgey on the Traynor programme (not a Hibby btw) saying that Boyle's assertion he was relaying the pitch was a lie.

They had done some resurfacing - less than a quarter of the half of the park nearest the away end. The rest of the pitch was exactly as it has been - only covered in a couple of inches of sand.

As Mark says, the match was error ridden - and both sides were culpable. Motherwell's passing etc was a smidgeon (and by that I mean a slither of a smatter) better than ours. The only difference between the sides in terms of the quality of play was they put the ball in the back of the onion bag.

I felt sorry for wee Zooms. He did his best in the first half to get us going but it was like trying to roll an egg across a ploughed field.

Jones didnt have his best outing - more like the old giraffe on roller skates at times. Canning looked reluctant to go forward at all and was a little bit off the pace too often.

The folks having personal pops during the game at the likes of Hanlon really are very troubled people. He is 17 years of age

Rankin didnt show. Morais played far longer than he deserved - ie a whole performance longer. There was one stage in the second half where wee Zooms didnt pass to him when really a pass was the right thing - but Morais had performed so ineptly nobody could blame him.

Best player on the park - and possibly the main difference between the sides - was Stephen Hughes. Really wish we had been able to sign him. He was what we were missing today as we were far too lightweight in midfield, failed to track runners and struggled to hold onto the ball under pressure. We missed the players who were not fit - especially Fletcher and in midfield.

Motherwell may well be happy with their three points tonight but the supporters were short changed today. That park is STILL a disgrace and it led to 90 minutes masquerading as a football match. Outrageous conditions - and somebody must be held responsible for the mess that has resulted at Fir Park.
Age is irrelevant hanlon was mince....along with the rest of the team.
Old 29-03-08, 20:39   #14

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

Originally Posted by murrayx
Age is irrelevant hanlon was mince.....
He is a BOY. He isnt even old enough to vote.

Most decent people don't abuse children.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 20:40   #15

Vini1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Two teams who struggled to play any real football. It was the type of game you could see on any public park between two huffing and puffing pub teams. We simply had no fight when things were clearly not going our way. You might put it down to an off day, but as already been stated when we need to win we often don't. Still the battle for 3rd is still on, however I think Mixu has his work cut out to get us there with this squad of players. We have too many average players.
Vini1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-08, 20:42   #16
Van Zanten Ya Radge

He's old enough to play for the team though and old enough to be paid for it, so while i see where your coming from, his age doesn't make him exempt from criticism when its merited.

Personally the only complaint i had of him today was his distribution but with a pitch like that and players around him who were just as bad or worse, it would be extremely harsh to single him out.

Old 29-03-08, 20:43   #17
Anti-Old Firm Radge

LOL well he shouldn't be playing then,that im afraid is part and parcel of the game! Obviously he aint ready for 1st team football or should we wait until he is a couple of years older so he can handle the abuse from paying punters ?
Old 29-03-08, 20:47   #18

Originally Posted by murrayx
LOL well he shouldn't be playing then,that im afraid is part and parcel of the game! Obviously he aint ready for 1st team football or should we wait until he is a couple of years older so he can handle the abuse from paying punters ?