Old 25-03-08, 17:37   #1

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Kenny Clark is the whistler.........

....against M'well.

Could've been worse I suppose.

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-08, 17:43   #2

hughieo is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Kenny Clark is the whistler.........

I think KC is a good ref.

Tin hat on but why oh why do ER fans moan so consistently about refs?

Its week in week out whinging.

Yes most of them get it wrong (a lot) but all this paranoia about cheating does my heed in.

Old 25-03-08, 17:49   #3

Yes most of them get it wrong (a lot) but all this paranoia about cheating does my heed in.

Mainly against the old firm mate. Hibs commited the same amount of fouls as the huns on saturday but we had 3 players booked and they never had any. Billy Dodds said a few times on the radio that he couldn't believe that wasn't a free kick etc. Lee McCulloch apparently fouled Shiels twice yet still doesn't get booked. Billy Dodds again commented on that.
Old 25-03-08, 20:02   #4

Mainly against the old firm mate. Hibs commited the same amount of fouls as the huns on saturday but we had 3 players booked and they never had any. Billy Dodds said a few times on the radio that he couldn't believe that wasn't a free kick etc. Lee McCulloch apparently fouled Shiels twice yet still doesn't get booked. Billy Dodds again commented on that.
Spot on Grant. These ****s get away with murder and when a Hibs player puts in a hefty tackle he is in the book. Its only paranoia if it doesnt exist hughieo.

Old 25-03-08, 20:30   #5

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

If it's paranoia, thinking that we get a rough deal from refs, then i'm in the paranoid camp.

I don't know if it's deliberate or not, but sometimes some of their decisions really do have to be seen to be believed.

Old 26-03-08, 12:48   #6

I'm not looking for a fight wth my fellow hibbies but i believe there is an element of paranoia in all of this.
I will grant you the OF certainly do get the benefit of the 50/50 decisions when they play at home.The subtle pressure of 50- 60K people obviosly has an effect on any human being.
Beyond that tho i think that suggesting refs are actually in the pay of the OF or "cheating" is fanciful IMHO.
Am I being too fair-minded folks?

Are they really out to get us?

Old 26-03-08, 12:49   #7

If it's paranoia, thinking that we get a rough deal from refs, then i'm in the paranoid camp.

I don't know if it's deliberate or not, but sometimes some of their decisions really do have to be seen to be believed.
How many times this season have you seen tackles in SPL games and said "we've had a player sent off for less than that"? Happens in pretty close to every game I watch.

I do wonder at times if we have a reputation with refs where they feel they have to be ultra strict with our players for some reason. I'm far from convinced that the sustained criticism of refs from teams like Hearts, by managers like Levein or Jefferies, and the continual getting in the face of the refs by players like Ferguson is something that does not influence refs. It's something we don't appear to do much of, and we suffer for it in terms of decisions because we don't imo. It's similar to my argument about refs never giving someone a free kick who has managed to stay on their feet actually discouraging people from trying to do the right thing.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 26-03-08, 12:58   #8

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Shug, for me the final nail in the coffin was Walter Myth's behaviour at Ibrox when he manhandled / barged the 4th official. No action was taken by the "authorities" so we must assume that the referee didn't mention it in his report.
Hmm.....think Mikolaunas & Davis.....think Tony Mowbray and 4 match touchline ban........etc, etc............

Call me paranoid if you wish but when you have 2 clubs with circa. 50k home gates who also receive the lions share of TV revenue and who supply a majority of the games administrators and who also receive preferential treatment from our magnificently inconsistent, inept match officials, is it any wonder Scottish football is in it's present state ?

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-08, 13:06   #9
Victor Meldrew Toddler Radge

eckmf is on the way to a first team debut

I'm not looking for a fight wth my fellow hibbies but i believe there is an element of paranoia in all of this.
I will grant you the OF certainly do get the benefit of the 50/50 decisions when they play at home.The subtle pressure of 50- 60K people obviosly has an effect on any human being.
Beyond that tho i think that suggesting refs are actually in the pay of the OF or "cheating" is fanciful IMHO.
Am I being too fair-minded folks?

Are they really out to get us?

I have spoken of this before, an old freind of mine a certain Bill Crombie admmitted to me that he often found himself, subconciously giving decisions to the OF at ibrox or parkhead, he put it down to the power of the crowd through shear numbers.

"history is the foundation upon which the future is built"
eckmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-08, 13:10   #10

KP ..I was too far away to see what happened between the benches at Ibrox.Novo was sent off tho and smith saiid he was reacting to the hibs bench reaction.That was all handbags and doesnt really affect the game so i dont get annoyed by it.
If there had been no red card that would have been a different matter

Old 26-03-08, 13:17   #11

KP ..I was too far away to see what happened between the benches at Ibrox.Novo was sent off tho and smith saiid he was reacting to the hibs bench reaction.That was all handbags and doesnt really affect the game so i dont get annoyed by it.
If there had been no red card that would have been a different matter

Because if it was Gathuessi that banjo'd Novo in the same manner the Rangers bench would be nice and calm about it

Everything aboot the old firm stinks.
Old 26-03-08, 13:28   #12

Because if it was Gathuessi that banjo'd Novo in the same manner the Rangers bench would be nice and calm about it

Everything aboot the old firm stinks.
I listened to the game against the huns [league game] and the commentator made reference to the fact that there were some meaty tackles going in from rangers players and said that he would be willing to bet the first reasonably dodgy tackle by a hibs player would result in a booking. It did, he was right, how did he ever manage to guess that?????

Old 26-03-08, 13:28   #13

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

TBH, I find this post staggering!

The cabbage have had a hard time from refs for as long as I can remember. Rangers and Celtc have had an easy time for as long as I can remember.

Although in fairness, I'm only going back to 1979
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-08, 13:32   #14

I listened to the game against the huns [league game] and the commentator made reference to the fact that there were some meaty tackles going in from rangers players and said that he would be willing to bet the first reasonably dodgy tackle by a hibs player would result in a booking. It did, he was right, how did he ever manage to guess that?????
It must be becoming common knowledge to some pundits now even though it's been common knowledge to me since I started going to the fitba.