Old 20-03-08, 05:39   #1

Casino cash: £1404
new east stand

i've heard alot of rumours about a new east stand getting built in the summer, are these just rumours or has there been any confirmation?cheers.
chrishibs72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-08, 07:42   #2

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Re: new east stand

Originally Posted by chrishibs72 View Post
i've heard alot of rumours about a new east stand getting built in the summer, are these just rumours or has there been any confirmation?cheers.
Well i'll not be happy unless our plans fill lots and lots of boxes and it's photographed on our official sire saying 'That's a planning submission..'.

Old 20-03-08, 16:26   #3

Casino cash: £4917

I presume that all that was said about a new East Stand at the AGM was just to please the fans short-term and was, in fact, baws.
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-08, 16:45   #4

Casino cash: £967

I have no idea what the actual plans, if any, are for the East stand... but I do think it is something which should be addressed.... It won't kill the atmosphere if the right design is put in place and the same heeds are in it.
Old 20-03-08, 20:00   #5

Casino cash: £4584

the east stand is getting old but i does worryme that the atmosphere will be drowned out. but i agree if they design the stand properly ther wont be a door atmosphere we ned to raise the roof!!
Old 20-03-08, 22:11   #6

Casino cash: £5107

Originally Posted by Bampotto View Post
I presume that all that was said about a new East Stand at the AGM was just to please the fans short-term and was, in fact, baws.
It's going to be built, it's just a matter of when..

I was sure it was going to be this year, but it looks like probably next year now. It has to be done before 2010 as that is when the planning consent runs out.
Old 21-03-08, 18:23   #7

Casino cash: £4584

owell looking forward to it then it stil going to be the Holy ground
Old 21-03-08, 21:12   #8

Casino cash: £33353
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

It will cost £51million and have a hotel in it.
Old 22-03-08, 02:34   #9

Casino cash: £5601

I am an east stander my self and would be sorry to see it go although i suppose it has to go some time for us to move forward.
with regards to a new one being built, i reckon the planning is allready in full swing. I work next door tae ER at DF Wishart and walk past every day to and fro from work and this week they have had the drills in taking cores out of the ground, presumably to check if it is suitable ground to put a massive concrete structure on. Why else would they be doing that? So yeah maybe the time is right although i hope they take the atmosphere into consideration when they plan the seating because the east is the soul of hibernian fc.
kevvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-08, 03:12   #10

Casino cash: £2675

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
It will cost £51million and have a hotel in it.
Colr you a Jamtard too??
alexi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-08, 17:14   #11

Casino cash: £1964

hope its this summer cos as soon as its built then weve nowt to spend the cash on except the playin squad
minxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-08, 19:19   #12
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge

Casino cash: £4590

Originally Posted by minxster View Post
hope its this summer cos as soon as its built then weve nowt to spend the cash on except the playin squad

We'll still have to pay for the new stand.
Old 26-03-08, 20:26   #13

Casino cash: £1964

i thought the cash was sitting there ready?
minxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-08, 20:31   #14
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge

Casino cash: £4590

Originally Posted by minxster View Post
i thought the cash was sitting there ready?

Nay, nay and thrice nay, sir.

Rod will get a few good years of pensionable wage out of this.
Old 27-03-08, 22:25   #15

Casino cash: £4747

It's all gone very quiet down at Longniddry mansions

This is all very surprising as all the jungle drums pre xmas were pointing to a January announcement with 'Saint Rodney' even going as far to set up 'Focus Groups' to decide on whether the pizzas in the 'New East' were to be round or rectangle.

It can't be for immediate financial reasons as Hibs are absolutely swimming in cash with both the Whittaker and Murphy transfer fees still to feed through to the already bloated Balance Sheet.

Saint Rodney historically is a very cautious and conservative chairman and I have theory that he thinks that the crowd boom of the last 4 years may have peaked.

9,500 was the average crowd as 'Boaby' rode off into the sunset and 14,500 was last seasons trophy winning average. There are signs though that crowds generally are slipping

This years average could fall below 14,000 especially if Hearts don't make the top 6, the feel good factor of the 'golden generation' has gone and there is an economic slow down beckoning and there is a possibilty that Mixu's style of football might not suit everyone long term.

2010 is the crunch date and 'Saint Rodney has a huge decision to make in the next 12 months as he could saddle Hibs with £7m debt at the same time as falling revenue or he could dilly dally and have to face the chance of the planning permission being gone forever.

'Saint' Rodney has got more decisions right than wrong in the last 5 years but you don't envy him making that call.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-08, 22:32   #16

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by SlovSam View Post
It can't be for immediate financial reasons as Hibs are absolutely swimming in cash
I've heard the Bank of England are borrowing money from us..
Old 27-03-08, 22:36   #17

Casino cash: £9976
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

It's all gone very quiet down at Longniddry mansions

This is all very surprising as all the jungle drums pre xmas were pointing to a January announcement with 'Saint Rodney' even going as far to set up 'Focus Groups' to decide on whether the pizzas in the 'New East' were to be round or rectangle.

It can't be for immediate financial reasons as Hibs are absolutely swimming in cash with both the Whittaker and Murphy transfer fees still to feed through to the already bloated Balance Sheet.

Saint Rodney historically is a very cautious and conservative chairman and I have theory that he thinks that the crowd boom of the last 4 years may have peaked.

9,500 was the average crowd as 'Boaby' rode off into the sunset and 14,500 was last seasons trophy winning average. There are signs though that crowds generally are slipping

This years average could fall below 14,000 especially if Hearts don't make the top 6, the feel good factor of the 'golden generation' has gone and there is an economic slow down beckoning and there is a possibilty that Mixu's style of football might not suit everyone long term.

2010 is the crunch date and 'Saint Rodney has a huge decision to make in the next 12 months as he could saddle Hibs with £7m debt at the same time as falling revenue or he could dilly dally and have to face the chance of the planning permission being gone forever.

'Saint' Rodney has got more decisions right than wrong in the last 5 years but you don't envy him making that call.
I forsee £5m for Mr Fletcher and reduced capacity single tier stand in the future......
Old 27-03-08, 22:49   #18

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY View Post
I forsee £5m for Mr Fletcher and reduced capacity single tier stand in the future......
Your right about Fletcher but surprisingly for once money just isn't an issue as Hibs are bouncing in the stuff.

I think the delay is due 'to bums on seats' and why take the stadium capacity to 21,000 if your average home support drops back to a more reasonable historical average of 11,000 - 12,000

A single tier is a possibility but it goes against the planning permission already granted which is for a two tier.

GreenMachine can ask him at the AGM or has that passed.

Ariggo Sachi.
Old 27-03-08, 23:04   #19

Casino cash: £33353
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by alexi View Post
Colr you a Jamtard too??
I believe in the promised land!!! I believe!!!

...and that hotel will be worth the same as the Caledonian and we WILL win the European Cup.
Old 27-03-08, 23:11   #20

Casino cash: £5107

Your right about Fletcher but surprisingly for once money just isn't an issue as Hibs are bouncing in the stuff.

I think the delay is due 'to bums on seats' and why take the stadium capacity to 21,000 if your average home support drops back to a more reasonable historical average of 11,000 - 12,000

A single tier is a possibility but it goes against the planning permission already granted which is for a two tier.

GreenMachine can ask him at the AGM or has that passed.
I'm sure there will be questions being asked at the AGM about the stand Sam, but since that meeting isn't until September I would have thought there would be some sort of announcement before then !

At last Septembers AGM, the key announcement of the meeting was on the new East stand. They went into some detail as to what the stand would be like, and the subsequent discussion took up a fair bit of the proceedings. The impression I got, along with just about everyone else there that night was that they were going to announce details regarding fan consultancy and timescales fairly soon after the New Year. Clearly that has not happened, so we will just have to wait to see what develops now.

Interestingly, this may mean nothing, but I don't know if anyone else has noticed that there appears to be some sort of tripod machine testing the ground beside the east stand at the moment. This could mean something is imminent with regard to the stand, but they will have to make some comment soon I would imagine.
Old 27-03-08, 23:26   #21

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post
I'm sure there will be questions being asked at the AGM about the stand Sam, but since that meeting isn't until September I would have thought there would be some sort of announcement before then !

At last Septembers AGM, the key announcement of the meeting was on the new East stand. They went into some detail as to what the stand would be like, and the subsequent discussion took up a fair bit of the proceedings. The impression I got, along with just about everyone else there that night was that they were going to announce details regarding fan consultancy and timescales fairly soon after the New Year. Clearly that has not happened, so we will just have to wait to see what develops now.

Interestingly, this may mean nothing, but I don't know if anyone else has noticed that there appears to be some sort of tripod machine testing the ground beside the east stand at the moment. This could mean something is imminent with regard to the stand, but they will have to make some comment soon I would imagine.

Thanks

With the AGM in September time therefore is still on Hibs side with a January 2009 to August 2009 as a possible construction plan schedule.

I think your earlier post is right and it will happen as the alternative is to let the permission lapse and have a three sided ground forever or possibly even worse a lop sided ground if a one tier option was to occur.

Ariggo Sachi.
Old 27-03-08, 23:37   #22
Football Daft ya Radge

Casino cash: £515
Rep Power: 3 Continental bam is on the way to a first team debut

I hope the new East stand is a tribute to the old one! A sort of unfinished Maracana if you will! IMO a replica of the west would make ER look too symetrical and like a green & white Brockville.

A panoramic view towards the forth, marble arches and a new entrance Eastside please, step forward Mr Gaudi!
Old 27-03-08, 23:42   #23
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2944