Old 14-03-08, 08:52   #1

Casino cash: £5931
vCash: 25700
SAD On This Day: Hibs rue the lack of married players...

ON THIS DAY:

4 Years Ago,
Sunday 14 Mar 2004

Hibernian 0 - 2 Livingston : Link Here

ON THIS DAY:

62 Years Ago,
Thursday 14 Mar 1946

The Birth of Alec W Edwards : Link Here
Old 14-03-08, 09:16   #2
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £3004
Re: On This Day: Hibs rue the lack of married players...

Spookily it's also the anniversary of the only Hibs-Hearts final in 1896

Hibs team was Hibernian: McColl, Robertson, MacFarlane, Breslin, Neill, Murphy, Murray, Kennedy, Groves, Smith, O'Neill.

O' Neil scored for Hibs in what IIRC was his only game.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-08, 09:59   #3
Mussel-bound Radge

Casino cash: £2681

Originally Posted by Purple & Green View Post

Hibs team was Hibernian: McColl, Robertson, MacFarlane, Breslin, Neill, Murphy, Murray, Kennedy, Groves, Smith, O'Neill.

You can recall 1896?? Respect.

Sorry, couldn't resist.
Old 14-03-08, 10:14   #4

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Wonder if we'll ever again see so many Hibby's in a crowd as we experienced 4 years ago...

Doubt it.
Old 14-03-08, 10:23   #5

Casino cash: £5931
vCash: 25700

Originally Posted by Purple & Green View Post

in another thread we established i played fives with barney breslins great grand son...

was one of that lot related to sir pat of stanton?
Old 14-03-08, 11:21   #6
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £3004
Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
in another thread we established i played fives with barney breslins great grand son...

was one of that lot related to sir pat of stanton?
I can't remember ever hearing that before, but it wouldn't surprise me.

Originally Posted by Weehibbydrew View Post
You can recall 1896?? Respect.

Sorry, couldn't resist.
True, I struggle to recall 2006

I read it somewhere, recently, I think.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-08, 15:37   #7

Casino cash: £1580
vCash: 26400

Grim day, always remember me, my old man and his mate on the bus going into town and not 1 of us being in the slightest bit up for the game, just knew it was all gonna go tits up.
Old 14-03-08, 18:07   #8
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge

Casino cash: £3661

Originally Posted by Thomson_19 View Post
Grim day, always remember me, my old man and his mate on the bus going into town and not 1 of us being in the slightest bit up for the game, just knew it was all gonna go tits up.
Yep, that 'were gonna lose' feeling of impeding doom is one of my main memories of that awful day. Just somehow never felt we were going to do it, despite the results in the previous rounds.

The idea of Blobby actually managing to do something right was too hard to imagine.
Baron von Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-08, 21:36   #9
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge

Casino cash: £6886
vCash: 30000

Originally Posted by Baron von Hibee View Post
Yep, that 'were gonna lose' feeling of impeding doom is one of my main memories of that awful day. Just somehow never felt we were going to do it, despite the results in the previous rounds.

The idea of Blobby actually managing to do something right was too hard to imagine.
the "awwh keek i think we are going to get humped today feeling" was with me from the moment i left with my wife and bairns that horrible horrible day -shudder- my two bairns faces with tears of disapointment was to much to handle that day walking out of hampdump, but i said to them ,we will be back and we will lift a trophy....not realising it would be an absolutely joyous day on the 18-03-07 , hey but thats fitba thats hibs and thats why we all love them eh !!