Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,385 | Posts: 598,417 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 13-03-08, 10:01   #1

Nish v Curier

Nish has now scored 1 less goal for us than Curier. Nishy's first touch is quite good for a big man, his link up play is first class. His wee one touch flicks to bring someone in to the play were first class last night. He made us tick. Took his goal brilliantly as well.

Some people are getting excited about Curiers goals for Dundee but for me when Curier played for us he never made us tick at all, he isn't mobile enough and his first touch wasn't great. He done nothing Nishy does. The first division is rank and even I would be confident of scoring a few goals in it.
Old 13-03-08, 10:03   #2
Spaktacuradge

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

Re: Nish v Curier

It's a damn shame he was cup tied. Could've made the difference on Sunday.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-08, 10:05   #3

There was a long such thread on this yesterday.. Why start another?
Old 13-03-08, 10:08   #4

There was a long such thread on this yesterday.. Why start another?
Wasn't on after about 10am yesterday......... sorry

Thanks for taking time to reply though.
Old 13-03-08, 10:18   #5

Nish has now scored 1 less goal for us than Curier.
And Nish has started every game he's been available for. In other words he's had a run in the team. That was something Curier never got.

Nishy's first touch is quite good for a big man, his link up play is first class. His wee one touch flicks to bring someone in to the play were first class last night. He made us tick. Took his goal brilliantly as well.
If it had been Curier playing last night with exactly the same performance, people would have been going radge about missing a one on one with the keeper after Zemamma had put it on a plate for him, and there would have been masses of whinging about how his first touch in the last minute where all he needed to do was bring it down could have cost us dear.

Some people are getting excited about Curiers goals for Dundee but for me when Curier played for us he never made us tick at all, he isn't mobile enough and his first touch wasn't great. He done nothing Nishy does. The first division is rank and even I would be confident of scoring a few goals in it.
I think Nish has came in and done well for us. I don't think he is particularly mobile though. He is pretty good positionally, but being a few years older and with stacks more experience than Curier he should be better than him there.

And Nish played in the first division at the same age Curier is now, and his record was not spectacular. So he couldn't score the same goals you could have...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 13-03-08, 10:33   #6

And Nish has started every game he's been available for. In other words he's had a run in the team. That was something Curier never got.

If it had been Curier playing last night with exactly the same performance, people would have been going radge about missing a one on one with the keeper after Zemamma had put it on a plate for him, and there would have been masses of whinging about how his first touch in the last minute where all he needed to do was bring it down could have cost us dear.

I think Nish has came in and done well for us. I don't think he is particularly mobile though. He is pretty good positionally, but being a few years older and with stacks more experience than Curier he should be better than him there.

And Nish played in the first division at the same age Curier is now, and his record was not spectacular. So he couldn't score the same goals you could have...

If the score was the exact same I don't think people would have been going radge if Curier missed a one on one.

Nishy isn't a world beater but he's far better than Curier IMO. Curier never really done anything for us. Scored a couple of tap ins. Nish was all over the park last night. Linking up the play everywhere.

Your talking about Nishy being older. So your trying to tell me Curier is still a bit on the young side to do things that Nishy done last night. Curier is 25 years old. I'm sure he'd be able to link up the play etc by now. It's no as if he's a 17 year old breaking through the youth ranks. Nishy is 2 years older than him. It's not exactly a huge margin is it.

When you talk about experience. Curier has had more clubs than I've had hot dinners. He's not exactly short of it.
Old 13-03-08, 10:40   #7

If the score was the exact same I don't think people would have been going radge if Curier missed a one on one.
Well considering that there are plenty of folk who have said because of the chance he missed against Inverness when we were 3-0 up that they were glad to be rid of him, I disagree about what the reaction would be.

Nishy isn't a world beater but he's far better than Curier IMO. Curier never really done anything for us. Scored a couple of tap ins. Nish was all over the park last night. Linking up the play everywhere.

Your talking about Nishy being older. So your trying to tell me Curier is still a bit on the young side to do things that Nishy done last night. Curier is 25 years old. I'm sure he'd be able to link up the play etc by now. It's no as if he's a 17 year old breaking through the youth ranks. Nishy is 2 years older than him. It's not exactly a huge margin is it.
Curier is 23 isn't he? Joining us was a step up for him, and he'd never kicked a ball in Scotland before. Writing off players who don't settle in immediately and establish themselves is insane imo.

Dinnae get me wrong, I want Nish to do well. I just wish that the support would have shown some patience with Curier to the same extent that Nish will get.

My whole problem with the reaction to Curier is that people had judged him before he kicked a ball for us. They didn't see someone playing for Hibs, they seen someone who had been at 5 clubs in a season as a young laddie.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 13-03-08, 10:45   #8

Wasn't on after about 10am yesterday......... sorry

Thanks for taking time to reply though.

Old 13-03-08, 10:45   #9

Boogy is on the way to a first team debut

I think they both have there merits, and are two quite similar players. I think Curier is a bit more robust and would be a handful to mark, but Nish holds the ball up extremely well and rarely gives away posession cheaply (FWIW, who seen his back-heel down the line last night?!).

I'd like to see them BOTH up front with Fletcher playing off them, think that would be a very dangerous set up.
Boogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-08, 10:48   #10

Well considering that there are plenty of folk who have said because of the chance he missed against Inverness when we were 3-0 up that they were glad to be rid of him, I disagree about what the reaction would be.

Curier is 23 isn't he? Joining us was a step up for him, and he'd never kicked a ball in Scotland before. Writing off players who don't settle in immediately and establish themselves is insane imo.

Dinnae get me wrong, I want Nish to do well. I just wish that the support would have shown some patience with Curier to the same extent that Nish will get.

My whole problem with the reaction to Curier is that people had judged him before he kicked a ball for us. They didn't see someone playing for Hibs, they seen someone who had been at 5 clubs in a season as a young laddie.
We have sections of our fans that over react. That will never change. I am not judging Curier on chances he's missed. Just his general play and comparing him to what we've got. He's not better than what we currently have IMO so whats the point in bringing him back? Ex amount of goals for Dundee means feck all to me.

I think Curier is 25? [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

I like to see everyone get a chance. It's only fair. I look to see potential in players. Curier busts a gut for the jersey but that isn't eveything.

Him having so many clubs doesn't have a bearing on his ability IMO - maybe more his attitude.
Old 13-03-08, 11:56   #11

Tattooedhibee is a jewel in the roughTattooedhibee is a jewel in the rough

Americas Army Champion! Get A Grip Champion! Hit the fan Champion! Speed Master Champion!

Given the circumstances I don't know how you can compare at this moment. Yes, maybe a quick judgement but certainly not compare because of many factors which people have already mentioned on numerous threads.
I find the ridiculing of the first division baffling.

Tattooedhibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-08, 12:09   #12

Given the circumstances I don't know how you can compare at this moment. Yes, maybe a quick judgement but certainly not compare because of many factors which people have already mentioned on numerous threads.

Duffy filled our team with 1st division players and thats where we ended up. They were no where near good enough for the premier league.

Is the first division any better or worse nowadays? IMO it's always been a very average league full of very average teams. Apart from the year the cabbage were in it of course.
Old 13-03-08, 12:12   #13

Duffy filled our team with 1st division players and thats where we ended up. They were no where near good enough for the premier league.

Is the first division any better or worse nowadays? IMO it's always been a very average league full of very average teams. Apart from the year the cabbage were in it of course.
Duffy filled our team with bad players. Doesn't matter where they come from. Canning has looked a very decent player for us imo. Had never kicked a ball at any level above the first division. Hartley played for a chunk of time in the first division, and probably has around 20 caps for his country.

Of course there's shite in that league, but there are always a few players who are pretty decent as well.
Old 13-03-08, 12:21   #14

Duffy filled our team with bad players. Doesn't matter where they come from. Canning has looked a very decent player for us imo. Had never kicked a ball at any level above the first division. Hartley played for a chunk of time in the first division, and probably has around 20 caps for his country.

Of course there's shite in that league, but there are always a few players who are pretty decent as well.
I wasn't meaning Diffy filled our player with players from the 1st division. I was just meaning he filled the team with players of '1st division class' and ultimately thats where we ended up.

Without a doubt there are some decent players in that division. There will be decent players throughout the leagues but just in general the league isn't the greatest. Just my opinion of course
Old 13-03-08, 14:12   #15

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

The Scottish first division is the worst league I've ever seen though admittedly this is based on the 1998 experience of 'The Great Adventure' (Copyright Tom O'Malley
)

Stranraer turned up at Easter Road 15 minutes late because they got stuck and then lost in Edinburgh traffic, St Mirren didn't turn up at all because they got stuck on the motorway,Clydebank played at Dumbarton's ground and Hamilton played at Partick Thistle's ground.

The standard of football was kick and rush hoofball and Hibs would easily coast to vistory after victory even with Paul Lovering, Derek Collins, Justin Skinner and Paul Holsgrove
though it wasn't that difficult when the oppostion regularly lined up with 'A Trialist' listed on the team sheet.

It's probably a little better these days though Gretna still won the title at the first attempt and any league with Airdire sometimes competing in it just deserves to be ridiculed.

MAC scoring goals in this division is in my opinion completely irrelevant as it's not a league that should be taken very seriously but if it helps him get a football career established then good luck to him as 110% triers like him who strive to be as good as they can be deserve the reward of a decent contract.

Any contract he gets though shouldn't be at Hibs as he is only going to be around 5th in the starting line up behind Nish/Fletcher/Benji/Flash Harry and in his brief appearances he didn't show the required technical ability/ movement/sharpness to suggest there was much of an improvement still to come.

It's a pity his card was marked before he came to Hibs as if he had started out at Dundee there might be a clamour of clubs now competing for his signature.

However football is just as much as being at the right club at the right time and timing your transfer moves perfectly in order to get a fat contract before managers and supporters eventually clock on to the fact that you aren't nearly as good as the hype...just ask 'Flash H....' ... I mean Tam Mcmanus, Simon Donnelly or Stevie 'Baggio' Fulton.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-08, 14:17   #16

aggie is on the way to a first team debut

At this point it seems patience is unnecessary, given that he appears to be scoring goals, no?
aggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-08, 15:05   #17

At this point it seems patience is unnecessary, given that he appears to be scoring goals, no?
Nish? Aye, but he'll have a spell where he isn't playing so well. Happens to everyone. And he'll get some leeway because he is a Hibby, and has had a decent start. If we stopped crucifying everyone who doesn't immediately settle in and produce their top form the second they sign for us we'd all be much better off.
Old 13-03-08, 18:03   #18

Bob1875 is on the way to a first team debut

The SPL is baring on a joke nowadays and Gretna won that league last year, and Antoine Curier can score a shed load of goals in the 1st division.

=shite league
Bob1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-08, 18:30   #19

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

The SPL is baring on a joke nowadays and Gretna won that league last year, and Antoine Curier can score a shed load of goals in the 1st division.

=shite league
Considering Curier has the poise of a rabid dog let loose on a floor coated with margarine...it must a sh it league!
Old 13-03-08, 19:16   #20

geegee1978 will become famous soon enough

there is no contest,

courier tries hard but he doesnt get me off my seat,and i dont trust him to do the business in big games.

i hope he scores a lot more goals for dundee,but imo he isnt good enough for hibs

nish is like a breath of fresh air to the way our team plays, he seems to be involved in everything good that happens

nish cant be far away from 50 spl goals, in not too many games for 27yr old,im not sure if fletcher has had as many spl games as him but it must be quite close(dont know the stats), so quite possibly he could be a late developer,which would be great for us in the next few years considering how other target men strikers have turned out as they matured(brewster,mixu,sutton)

ggtth
geegee1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-08, 19:51   #21
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge