Player by player...thoughts on the game
1) Makalamby - Improving every game, sorry to see him hurt his gonadula area
1a) McNeill - On for Maka, what a superb save, with 10 minutes to go, best I have seen this season. A fine replacement. 2) Hanlon - A great find, looks very accomplished for a young lad. 3) Canning - A fine debut as a centre half, seems a good find. 4) Hogg - Mr Dependable. 5) Gatuessi - Played very well with few errors. 6) Murray - Magnificent, he is the defensive part of our midfield 7) Rankin - Scored a well worked peach, but I think he could do more. 8) Sheils - Drifts in and out of games, like Rankin, I think he can do more. 9) Hardest working of the attacking midfielders who clearly enjoys his free role. Sometimes I wish he would pass instead of taking on that extra man. 10) Fletch - Not quite as sharp tonight but I simply love watching him work for 90 minutes, his football skills are of the highest standard. 11) Nish - An in yur face, hard working striker who earned us the first goal with his perseverance. Couldnae shake of his dead leg. 12) Campbell - A hard working second half from the laddie, who looks to have some prospects. Seems to have beefed up a bit and gets tore in. 13) Kerr - A couple of driving runs when he came on. Other points, the referee was yet another useless tosser who booked two Hibs players for first fouls, whilst allowing various Falklog players to boot the fitba team up and down their half a stadium without reprimand. The 4 1 5 formation, mental, but it seems to actually work, subject to the continued strong defending and brilliance of Ian Murray. The Falklump fans who boo more than the Huns and Diet Huns, what is that all about?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Re: Player by player...thoughts on the game
If so, one of the worst kinds of injury for a goalie to get To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Getting the dynamic push off for dives really relies on it - hope it's nothing serious. Did he ask to come off or did Mixu make up his mind for him?
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
tonight rates
what s your player s rates for today s game?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Sounds as if Mcneil will be playing Saturday..
Hope he gives Mixu a selection headache. I feel confident the Hibs cup winning keeper will. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Makalamby 7 - Really had nothing to do.
McNeill - 8 - Done very well at a time when Falkirk applied their only real pressure if you could call it that and the save was simply stunning To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Hanlon - 7 - Not as assured as previous games but still very solid and competent. Canning 8 - Done all the simple things well though he looks a bit overweight To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Hogg 8 - Has found consistency of performance, self assurance and is the weekly Mr Reliable. Gatuessi 7 - Another player who is beginning to find consistency and improved concentration levels. Murray 9 - At last after 7 years in senior football as a utility player he may have found a position where he can excel because tonight as the sitting central defensive midfield anchor he was simply magnificent. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Rankin 7 - Took his goal very well and the one that hit the bar would have been even better and made lots of clever runs. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Sheils 5 - Maybe he could make me change my mind because Hogg has but I still don't see the need for him in the team when Zemmama does everything Shiels can do but a little better. The game by- passed him tonight. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Zemmama 6 - Clever runs, nice passes,good vision but over did it and was puggled after 60 minutes. Fletch 7 - He won't quite make it to Real Madrid but he will be damm close To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Nish 7 - The term old fashioned centre forward was invented for him and he played the role well until the injury. Campbell 8 - Much better than last year when he was just out of his depth but looks stronger, held the ball well and ran and ran. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Kerr N/a - Dunno only noticed he was on when he took a throw in. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Mixu (10) as that was a tactical masterclass as Falkirk were the home side and are usually a quite decent outfit but who were completely stifled in a game which Hibs totally controlled.
'Football is the most important of life's least important things' Ariggo Sachi. Last edited by SlovSam; 28-02-08 at 01:30. |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 129
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Under TM and JC Yogi knew how to frustrate Hibs and we collected very few points off them. Does this mean that Mixu is a better tactician then the previous 2 To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Also means that the players must go into the Celtc game with a feeling of confidence. Clean sheet helps that too To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
This result proves Mixus credability in alot of ways, in that respect I mean over JC. Game by game, even with his honest assessment after a game in which maybe for a half we've played shite, my respect grows for the man. Game by game Mixu is making JC look somewhat amatuerish, in his time at ER.
Early days yet.. Glory Glory |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Both of the previous managers achieved some outstanding results in the form of league position, trouncing of Celtc, 'Scotland's Shame' and Hearts and being able to plan, pick,motivate and organise a team that could actually win something. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. What Mixu seems to have identified is that if you have a spine of a team in Jones/Hogg then Murray then Nish and Fletcher and a straight forward 4 -4 -2(or 4-1-3-2) formation then you will have the have the physical strength to both frustrate and bully your opponents. It wasn't all power, route 1 football last night by any means as there were quite a few well constructed moves as well but fundamentally Mixu seems to concentrate on getting the basics of the team right and letting the rest take care of itself. Mixu looks like he is going to be at worst a safe pair of hands but he should bring more than that if he buys well in the transfer windows and the young players develop to a sufficient level. 'Saint' Rodney is really getting the hang of this managerial appointment mullarkey as that's 3 managers in a row he has brought to the club who in their own way have brought something extra. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
But think back to JC's away days (we would never have got a 2-0 win at Falkirk under JC, just not capable) and the post match interviews, where we were shite. It was always the same old tone, we could have passed the ball better but we were unlucky, this that the next thing, we'll get in on Monday and work on these things etc. Ive never agreed with what he says, I always thought he was too lenient in what he said. But I had a thought that maybe he gets intae thum in training etc. I just dont think the players had respect for him. Where as Mixu, early days, as you say, but even the fact that he can point out where we've been poor and he obviously does get torn about them when needed, he gains respect. This is a good basis to be successful manager. |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 129
He never said it would end there though and I think, when he gets the players he thinks are right, the football played will change.
I'd agree to some extent as there is something about Mixu personality that makes you sit up, listen and take notice though there is always an undercurrent of rage that seems waiting to explode. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Bad results are around the corner as they just always will be at a club like Hibs and it will be interesting to see how Mixu deals with that sort of pressure. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Mowbray would be everyone pal and try to talk it through and JC would retreat into himself whereas Mixu is likely to chuck someone through a door. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Mcleish was a clever Hibs manager as of course was the excellent all round Mowbray and JC brought real success and wasn't at all bad and even 'Boaby' had some stunning cup results To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. whereas Mixu seems a throwback to past times but nonetheless I like his patter and style and his philosophy of firstly making Hibs a difficult team to beat and then moving things on from there. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Is it just me or is Mixu developing a slight Martin Jol look about him, as in you really wouldn't want to f*ck with him
Touching From A Distance Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 21
Looks like the unfortunate lovechild of Jol and Mo Mowlam. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.