Old 19-02-08, 10:56   #1

The Iron Curtain

How much of a shambles was this thing on sunday?

Stretched across the road right outside the ticket office, Lothian & Borders Finest managed to make a complete c&nt of themselves once more by telling fans it would be there until 30 minutes after the final whistle. After 10 minutes they decided to open it, but just only 3-4 feet at one side first(next to the church), and lo and behold, who are coming through it in the opposite direction? Hibs fans. Which then created a bootle-neck with fans trying to squeeze past each other in the 3-4 foot gap.
Not only that, in sundays case, it could've been a safety issue as well, forcing fans to squeeze through such a tight space in either direction.

With around 1000 A/deen fans at the game, there was no justification for this at all and Hibs should make a stand against the bizzies for this way-over-the-top intimidatory tactic. Why couldn't such a low number of away fans be directed over the Bothwell Street bridge, and onto their buses or Waverley Station? Thus freeing up Albion Road to the many 1000's of Hibs fans who go that way. If they(L&B) thought there could be some kind of danger of arseholes looking for a pagger they could still cordon of Easter Road at Albion Road(traffic lights) not allowing fans to go up ER until they were well away. This would still allow more fans to dissipate down ER and onto Albert & Iona Streets. Shouldn't take more than 10-15 minutes.

Old 19-02-08, 11:00   #2

Re: The Iron Curtain

I've always assumed that the reason for Albion Rd being shut off was so that folk would have to go down St Clair St, and the away support still have to go across the bridge which creates a big gap between where the fans are coming out into Leith Walk/ ER, plus it's easily monitored by the polis.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 19-02-08, 11:09   #3

hondo is on the way to a first team debut

easter road must be the only ground where home fans get mucked about keep the away fans in after game till streets clear
hondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 11:15   #4

I've always assumed that the reason for Albion Rd being shut off was so that folk would have to go down St Clair St, and the away support still have to go across the bridge which creates a big gap between where the fans are coming out into Leith Walk/ ER, plus it's easily monitored by the polis.

I think the "official" reason they give for closing Albion Road to Hibs fans leaving is the Bothwell Street bridge isn't safe enough to allow a whole standfull(aprox 4K) of supporters to use it at the same time. So they have to give them the option of the BS bridge and Albion Road as an outlet. Which in turn means that this keeps any arseholes away from each other who require some pavement dancing as after-match entertainment. All fair and fine, but on sunday the South Stand was split, so how did they(L&B) cope with segregating them as they left the South? How would they have stopped Hibs fans going over the BS bridge from the South?

I reckon they just use this contraption as a way of letting people see "they are still in charge, and if you've got a problem wae that, yer huckled". All its doing is making them look the joke organisation they really are. As well as being intimidatory to football fans in general.

Couldn't organise a piss-up in a brewery

Old 19-02-08, 11:38   #5

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

"The barriers" have been going up on Albion Road after games against the sheep, scumbos, and the bigot brothers for as long as I can remember. Can anyone tell me why no such segregation occurs at the PBS? It's just a bloody free-for-all come the final whistle!
Old 19-02-08, 11:46   #6

"The barriers" have been going up on Albion Road after games against the sheep, scumbos, and the bigot brothers for as long as I can remember. Can anyone tell me why no such segregation occurs at the PBS? It's just a bloody free-for-all come the final whistle!
I think they stop you now if you try to head on to Gorgie Road as you leave the Roseburn Bus Stand, and they direct you around the other Rubbish Dump back towards the Roseburn Bar.

Old 19-02-08, 11:49   #7

SteveIrwin is on the way to a first team debut

the OB are still living in fear of the 80's. Total joke.

SteveIrwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 12:26   #8

madhibee is on the way to a first team debut

What I cannae understand is why they can't shut Lochend Road ( the bit at The Loch Inn) For say 10-15 minutes after a game? You get a mass of folk trying to cross that road, with car's going through red lights, stopping in the middle of the crossing, while the traffic/police guy just stands and watches! How someone hasn't been knocked down is beyond me. Sad to say but it'l probably take someone getting hurt for them to even think about doing anything. Crowd safety my arse

By Hibees in thier Arcady!

Glory, Glory..
madhibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 12:29   #9
Specky Radge

Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
jockney green is on the way to a first team debut

I think the "official" reason they give for closing Albion Road to Hibs fans leaving is the Bothwell Street bridge isn't safe enough to allow a whole standfull(aprox 4K) of supporters to use it at the same time. So they have to give them the option of the BS bridge and Albion Road as an outlet. Which in turn means that this keeps any arseholes away from each other who require some pavement dancing as after-match entertainment. All fair and fine, but on sunday the South Stand was split, so how did they(L&B) cope with segregating them as they left the South? How would they have stopped Hibs fans going over the BS bridge from the South?

I reckon they just use this contraption as a way of letting people see "they are still in charge, and if you've got a problem wae that, yer huckled". All its doing is making them look the joke organisation they really are. As well as being intimidatory to football fans in general.
Couldn't organise a piss-up in a brewery

i agree an most def wi the comments in bold

an steve irwin yer no far of the mark yersel, they prob use this as "justification
for tactics implemented"

SAOR ALBA

Last edited by jockney green; 19-02-08 at 12:29. Reason: me love the poonanny!!!
jockney green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 12:39   #10

behindenemylines is on the way to a first team debut

behindenemylines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 12:51   #11

behindenemylines is on the way to a first team debut

How much of a shambles was this thing on sunday?

Stretched across the road right outside the ticket office, Lothian & Borders Finest managed to make a complete c&nt of themselves once more by telling fans it would be there until 30 minutes after the final whistle. After 10 minutes they decided to open it, but just only 3-4 feet at one side first(next to the church), and lo and behold, who are coming through it in the opposite direction? Hibs fans. Which then created a bootle-neck with fans trying to squeeze past each other in the 3-4 foot gap.
Not only that, in sundays case, it could've been a safety issue as well, forcing fans to squeeze through such a tight space in either direction.

With around 1000 A/deen fans at the game, there was no justification for this at all and Hibs should make a stand against the bizzies for this way-over-the-top intimidatory tactic. Why couldn't such a low number of away fans be directed over the Bothwell Street bridge, and onto their buses or Waverley Station? Thus freeing up Albion Road to the many 1000's of Hibs fans who go that way. If they(L&B) thought there could be some kind of danger of arseholes looking for a pagger they could still cordon of Easter Road at Albion Road(traffic lights) not allowing fans to go up ER until they were well away. This would still allow more fans to dissipate down ER and onto Albert & Iona Streets. Shouldn't take more than 10-15 minutes.

Would this not mean closing off Easter Road to traffic?
behindenemylines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 13:10   #12

Would this not mean closing off Easter Road to traffic?
No, not neccessarily.

I'm not suggesting they use their "Iron Curtain" on ER, just deploy some Plods at the junction to ensure supporters dont go that way, for a short amount of time, ie; 10-15 minutes, but still allow traffic to move. And do the same at the Bothwell/ER junction to make sure away fans dont come down ER. Wouldn't take an astro-physics scientist from Fettes to work out a procedure on how it would be workable.

Old 19-02-08, 14:16   #13

I think they stop you now if you try to head on to Gorgie Road as you leave the Roseburn Bus Stand, and they direct you around the other Rubbish Dump back towards the Roseburn Bar.
We got up to Gorgie Road nae bother the last time, C. Line of polis just let us walk right through

It's a feckin joke the way we are treated at ER by the polis, you kinda expect to be treated like a piece of shite at away grounds, but to get it at home as well just 'grinds my gears'

Old 19-02-08, 16:58   #14
Mystery Tour Organisin' Radge

Stanton Warrior is on the way to a first team debut

No, not neccessarily.

I'm not suggesting they use their "Iron Curtain" on ER, just deploy some Plods at the junction to ensure supporters dont go that way, for a short amount of time, ie; 10-15 minutes, but still allow traffic to move. And do the same at the Bothwell/ER junction to make sure away fans dont come down ER. Wouldn't take an astro-physics scientist from Fettes to work out a procedure on how it would be workable.
Not possible.

Trying to direct people away from the junction but still allowing traffic to pass would lead to a crowd forming who would eventually just ignore the polis on the junction and walk through in the road.
That's why they use the barrier as it can't be ignored.

I dunno what all the fuss is about, It's the same as it's always been FFS it's just now they have a fancy toy to put in the road.
Old 19-02-08, 17:02   #15

All fair and fine, but on sunday the South Stand was split, so how did they(L&B) cope with segregating them as they left the South? How would they have stopped Hibs fans going over the BS bridge from the South?
They kep't the hibs fans locked in at FT,utter shambles

Old 19-02-08, 17:22   #16

Not possible.

Trying to direct people away from the junction but still allowing traffic to pass would lead to a crowd forming who would eventually just ignore the polis on the junction and walk through in the road.
That's why they use the barrier as it can't be ignored.

I dunno what all the fuss is about, It's the same as it's always been FFS it's just now they have a fancy toy to put in the road.

Course its possible, its just how good the L&B can be to deploy their people to make it possible. Crowd control is supposed to their speciality.

The fuss being that, it shouldn't happen to fans in their own stadium, and seeing Jamies pic of the South makes it even more ridiculous that Hibs fans are being "locked in" at ER at the end of a game.

Old 19-02-08, 17:30   #17

dawo_c is on the way to a first team debut

That's a joke!
If I was one of these fans in the South Stand i'd be writing to Hibs or the polis asking why the away support was allowed out along with all the other hibs fans! Is it not common sense to let ALL hibs fans out at FT , then the Sheep 10-15 mins later?

"They give us the chance to put our talents on display every week in front of 16,000 punters out there who turn out loyal and faithful and we're one of the best supported teams in the SPL." - Sir Ivan Sproule
dawo_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 17:30   #18
A Radge Private Member

CJRRHibs is on the way to a first team debut

I'm in that photo somewhere, winning the game made it a bit easier.
Still had to wait on the iron gate being opened to get back to where my car was.
Gates were also shut at the car park to the west stand so couldn't get through there.

It was a bit of a shambles because it was obviously safe enough to let the hibs fans out of the south stand but not safe enough to move the iron curtain or open the gates at the west stand.

In all the away games I've been to the away support is held back never the home support.
Old 19-02-08, 17:35   #19
Mystery Tour Organisin' Radge

Stanton Warrior is on the way to a first team debut

The iron curtain i can understand, we,ve had it in various guises for long enough, but that's fecking ridiculous!!!!
Old 19-02-08, 22:17   #20

ginty is on the way to a first team debut

Just as well we're no huns.There wouldnae be anyone left to lock in.