Old 21-12-07, 01:39   #1

The Board Wouldn't Back JC's Move To Bring In Steven Hammell To Replace Murphy

That's the final straw apparently...

Old 21-12-07, 03:54   #2

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut
Re: The Board Wouldn't Back JC's Move To Bring In Steven Hammell To Replace Murphy

Petrie quotes here:

John never quantified what he was looking for. He was invited to sit down with us after we'd adjourned the meeting and have a chat in a smaller group. We asked him to go through precisely what it was he wanted.

"Then we could say whether it was affordable or within the resources available to us. Should we be working to change the approach we had? But he didn't take that opportunity."

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 04:38   #3

TranentHibee is on the way to a first team debut
Re: The Board Wouldn't Back JC's Move To Bring In Steven Hammell To Replace Murphy

Is it weird that I actually believe Petrie?

He looked properly bemused on the video interview I watched. If he was faking then he's a great actor!
TranentHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 07:34   #4

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Is it weird that I actually believe Petrie?

He looked properly bemused on the video interview I watched. If he was faking then he's a great actor!

He says that he'd have backed Collins financially.

Wow! talk aboot a Road-tae-Damuscus conversion !

A bit late in the day for that.

Look at the record - players sold = £8.8 million.
players bought = £360,000

Nuff said.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 09:00   #5

Hibernia is on the way to a first team debut

Have to say Hammell is a good player but what about Collins other targets?

The Sun claims Collins was a success in the transfer market by selling so many players for a good return, just a shame that the majority of his signings that came to ER in his time were rotten.
Hibernia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 09:54   #6

NORTHERNHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut
Thinking Re: The Board Wouldn't Back JC's Move To Bring In Steven Hammell To Replace Murphy

There would seem to be a bit more mileage in this, but Collins is due Petrie respect after he stood squarely behind him after the big fall out last season and should not start muck raking. Having said that, the players he has brought in are less than average and a waste of precious funds so RP may have a point if he has questioned his judgement. Only Donaldson has shown, in glimpses right enough, that he could do a job long term. The rest can be hooked or paid off in January.
NORTHERNHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 11:41   #7

It certainly confirms my belief that JC walked because once again he was not given sufficient funds to replace a departing player (not fill a gap made by selling our family silver as he has had to do so far).

I actually don't think Petrie is lying, he is simply using the bland, say nothing speech of an Accountant.

What would make me believe Petrie, was a statement confirming that David Murphy will not be leaving at Christmas, or that funds will be made available to sign Steven Hammill to replace him. Neither will happen.

Can it be that the breakdown the Chairman/ Manager relationships is always down to the Managers at Easter Road? That is Wiiliamson, Mowbray and Collins all left under some cloud or other.

Old 21-12-07, 15:18   #8
Capital Green

Stew the Hibee is a jewel in the roughStew the Hibee is a jewel in the rough

There would seem to be a bit more mileage in this, but Collins is due Petrie respect after he stood squarely behind him after the big fall out last season and should not start muck raking. Having said that, the players he has brought in are less than average and a waste of precious funds so RP may have a point if he has questioned his judgement. Only Donaldson has shown, in glimpses right enough, that he could do a job long term. The rest can be hooked or paid off in January.
Morais ??

big maka has had some great saves.

- Visit the official bebo site of the Hibs Ultras.

- The official website of the Capital Greens.

Please sign up for our newsletters, and sign up to the site. It's worth it, I promise
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Trial match with salvesen
Trial played, hopefully signed.
Stew the Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 15:23   #9

HibeeCraig7062 is on the way to a first team debut

Morais ??

big maka has had some great saves.

Maybe im the only one here that still isnt convinced about this man aswell?

not done an awful lot to get me on the edge of my seat.
HibeeCraig7062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 15:27   #10
Capital Green

Maybe im the only one here that still isnt convinced about this man aswell?

not done an awful lot to get me on the edge of my seat.
think you are being honest

Please sign up for our newsletters, and sign up to the site. It's worth it, I promise
Old 21-12-07, 15:28   #11

Kenny will become famous soon enough

He says that he'd have backed Collins financially.

Wow! talk aboot a Road-tae-Damuscus conversion !

A bit late in the day for that.

Look at the record - players sold = £8.8 million.
players bought = £360,000

Nuff said.

eh no....

naismith is the only player we've gone for and haven't gotten? who else has rp not bought that JC/TC wanted?

if JC and TC can't identify player to buy whats rod supposed to do? do we really want a vlad buying random players left right and center?

Old 21-12-07, 15:30   #12

think you are being honest
Ok Stew.

Just wondered if you can give me examples of games or certain things hes done in games that has impressed you.

Always seems to me to just run head down and do a Ronaldo-esque back flick before giving someone a 5 yard pass.

Im not saying hes garbage or anything, Just think that whatever he promises at the moment is not being delivered aswell as it could be. Mind you hes not alone in that i suppose
Old 21-12-07, 15:52   #13
Victor Meldrew Toddler Radge

eckmf is on the way to a first team debut

Ok Stew.

Just wondered if you can give me examples of games or certain things hes done in games that has impressed you.

Always seems to me to just run head down and do a Ronaldo-esque back flick before giving someone a 5 yard pass.

Im not saying hes garbage or anything, Just think that whatever he promises at the moment is not being delivered aswell as it could be. Mind you hes not alone in that i suppose
Over all, if we remove the green tinted specs and lay the loyalty to one side for the moment, the club, in that I mean the team has dropped in standard and ability since even this time last year, we have a lot of players who should not be here and it will be some time before our new boss can off load them and improve the team, so hard days are ahead, it maybe a few seasons untill we see a decent standard once again, that is down to both JC and the board.

"history is the foundation upon which the future is built"
eckmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-07, 15:53   #14
Capital Green

Ok Stew.

its ross

well he took us through to the next round of the CIS cup, he can cross in the ball well, isnt afraid to take players on, and has more talent than ivan, who everyone loved

Old 21-12-07, 15:54   #15
Capital Green

eh no....

naismith is the only player we've gone for and haven't gotten? who else has rp not bought that JC/TC wanted?

if JC and TC can't identify player to buy whats rod supposed to do? do we really want a vlad buying random players left right and center?
i wouldny mind him buying someone for the centre

Old 21-12-07, 15:55   #16

Over all, if we remove the green tinted specs and lay the loyalty to one side for the moment, the club, in that I mean the team has dropped in standard and ability since even this time last year, we have a lot of players who should not be here and it will be some time before our new boss can off load them and improve the team, so hard days are ahead, it maybe a few seasons untill we see a decent standard once again, that is down to both JC and the board.
I agree, its going to take alot of patience from the support AGAIN

Some will be and some wont. Therefore attendances etc will no doubt suffer.
Old 21-12-07, 15:57   #17

its ross

well he took us through to the next round of the CIS cup, he can cross in the ball well, isnt afraid to take players on, and has more talent than ivan, who everyone loved

Better Footballing technique than Ivan granted. but in no way as exciting as Ivan.
As i said im not dismissing him yet. Just hope theres more to come.
Old 21-12-07, 20:51   #18

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

What is very revealing is how all football clubs shadily operate in this grey underworld of 'players sales and tapping' and treat the paying supporters a silly bunch of dopey halfwits which undoubtedly a lot of them are if truth be told.

Hibs are obviously selling Murphy in January and were lining up Hammell as a replacement yet ask 'Saint' Rodney,Murphy, Hammell or JC anything whatsoever about this and they would have glibly lied through their teeth and come out with the usual 'no player is going anywhere routine' or 'that I'm very happy playing for Hibs/Southend and plan to see out my contract'.

Gies you the dry boak so it does,
tell us the truth we are grown up enough to handle it.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote