Old 20-12-07, 20:34   #1

big ell is on the way to a first team debut
Mark McGhee...why???ffs

So a few of the quotes on here say Mark Mcghee, I just dont see it,managed Brighton ...pash
managed Reading...Pash
infact got both of the relegated, if not, helped them on their way down, now when Butcher left, Well were playing ok, so is it a case of Mcghee inheriting a good squad, like John did, lets look beyong the spl and get a decent foreign coach with decent links, with the training ground, we should be able to draw someone with a bit of experience, but not MCGHEE !!!!!

Old 20-12-07, 20:37   #2

Re: Mark McGhee...why???ffs

I think it was Debbie McGhee that was being suggested as a decent capture.

Mark McGhee is, as you rightly point out, pash.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 20-12-07, 20:38   #3
Capital Green

Stew the Hibee is a jewel in the roughStew the Hibee is a jewel in the rough

So a few of the quotes on here say Mark Mcghee, I just dont see it,managed Brighton ...pash
managed...Pash
infact got both of the relegated, if not, helped them on their way down, now when Butcher left, Well were playing ok, so is it a case of Mcghee inheriting a good squad, like John did, lets look beyong the spl and get a decent foreign coach with decent links, with the training ground, we should be able to draw someone with a bit of experience, but not MCGHEE !!!!!

hes hardly inherited all these players.

and even inheriting players, they can still be brilliant but lose every week if not played right. he is tactically sound and has got his side playing good football.

DEFINITELY NOT A FOREIGN COACH

- Visit the official bebo site of the Hibs Ultras.

- The official website of the Capital Greens.

Please sign up for our newsletters, and sign up to the site. It's worth it, I promise
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Trial match with salvesen
Trial played, hopefully signed.
Stew the Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-07, 20:39   #4

I think it was Debbie McGhee that was being suggested as a decent capture.

Mark McGhee is, as you rightly point out, pash.

Interesting point Doc!

Will she bring her hubby and he can work some magic??
Old 20-12-07, 20:39   #5
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge

Baron von Hibee has a spectacular aura about

managed...Pash

Re the point in bold, remember 'Well suffered the horror of the Malpas year between Butcher and McGhee, so McGhee has had to rebuild from a very poor position.

Having said that, agree 100% with your last point. Of the obvious candidates, McGhee would be my first choice, but I'd like to think we can be more innovative as we were with Mowbray.
Baron von Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-07, 20:40   #6

hes hardly inherited all these players.

and even inheriting players, they can still be brilliant but lose every week if not played right. he is tactically sound and has got his side playing good football.

DEFINITELY NOT A FOREIGN COACH

why not a foreign coach??? can he do any worse, as has been pointed out, who do yuo want...Butcher...Robbo or Yogi....oh tell ye what lets take McCall from Partick... aye right!!!!who is there, billy Davies at a push could be an answer, but he would want cash probs
Old 20-12-07, 20:43   #7

Re the point in bold, remember 'Well suffered the horror of the Malpas year between Butcher and McGhee, so McGhee has had to rebuild from a very poor position.

Having said that, agree 100% with your last point. Of the obvious candidates, McGhee would be my first choice, but I'd like to think we can be more innovative as we were with Mowbray.
I bow to your better memory Baron, forgot about Maurice Backpass
Old 20-12-07, 20:44   #8
Capital Green

why not a foreign coach??? can he do any worse, as has been pointed out, who do yuo want...Butcher...Robbo or Yogi....oh tell ye what lets take McCall from Partick... aye right!!!!who is there, billy Davies at a push could be an answer, but he would want cash probs
wouldny mind mcghee

and erm yes he can

look at romanov at hearts

magic job he is doing

yet lets look at the top 5 teams before JC left

Tims - Scottish manager
Hun-Scottish manager
Dundee Utd- Scottish manager
Motherwell - scottish manager
Hibs - scottish manager
cant remember who is below us.

Please sign up for our newsletters, and sign up to the site. It's worth it, I promise
Old 20-12-07, 20:45   #9

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

McGhee is very much flavour of the month. Hands up how many people would've had him on their wish list before this season started.
Typical modern day short-term thinking in my opinion.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-07, 20:47   #10

I want a pleasant surprise. Someone that impresses the board. Not some flash in the pan which McGhee is. After all he is flavour of the month. If McGhee why not Levein? serious question btw.

Old 20-12-07, 20:48   #11

wouldny mind mcghee

and erm yes he can

look at romanov at hearts

magic job he is doing

yet lets look at the top 5 teams before JC left

Tims - Scottish manager
Hun-Scottish manager
Dundee Utd- Scottish manager
Motherwell - scottish manager
Hibs - scottish manager
cant remember who is below us.

But the way I am thinking (warped maybe) get a decent foreigner and he will have contacts in his country, lets face it, we dont play yer stereotypical scottish game do we, we play a more continental style, so the players will be more set to that type of coach, can we really turn into a hoof it up the field , we dont have the cart horses for that , we are too fast and skillful to go back to the old ways, get a European decent manager in and use his expertise and conections and our decent palyers, we cannae go wrong.....can we???
Old 20-12-07, 20:49   #12
Capital Green

I want a pleasant surprise. Someone that impresses the board. Not some flash in the pan which McGhee is. After all he is flavour of the month. If McGhee why not Levein? serious question btw.
actually thats a good question.

would we take him though after his yam time

Old 20-12-07, 20:51   #13

actually thats a good question.

would we take him though after his yam time

Probably would yeah, cant see him coming though, not a foreigner though is he...
Old 20-12-07, 20:51   #14

emerald green will become famous soon enough

Agreed.

And further, If McGhee and Levein, why not Jeffries?
emerald green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-07, 20:52   #15

Agreed.

Noooo he is a hoof it up the field see my previous posts!!!!!
Old 20-12-07, 20:53   #16
Capital Green

Noooo he is a hoof it up the field see my previous posts!!!!!
and hes not a foreigner

Old 20-12-07, 20:54   #17

Agreed.

Exactly that point. Add to that If those three, why not Calderwood?

McGhee will just be another manager that starts off well. There has been a few down the years. His career record suggests he has a hard time keeping it together.

The cup performance against them has obviously woo'ed people falsely.

If Hibs appoint him then I'll expect this GHC to be consistant in months to come.

Old 20-12-07, 20:54   #18
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

Some level of arrogance being shown here eh
"Let's get McGee""
a) what gives us the right to tap up another clubs manager ( remember out reaction when GJP fecked off to Ipox)
b) What makes anyone think he'd come to us?

FWIW based on his previous I'm not convinced
Old 20-12-07, 20:54   #19

and hes not a foreigner

but he is a magician.....
Old 20-12-07, 20:56   #20