Old 19-12-07, 09:41   #1

hibeesbounceross is on the way to a first team debut
Clayton Donaldson

So was are your impressions of him now? Before Saturday he had scored 6 goals in his last 10 matches, which is a decent ratio! Seems to have pace, skill and a finish. Kind of lacks physical strength and balance a little. But that will come to his game the more he plays for the side.

The SPL is a physical League and in time, he should be a good out and out striker.

He has been slated before on the board in the earlier days and the criticism has died done.

Whats your thoughts on the lad then?

Found seated under the Gantry.
hibeesbounceross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 10:36   #2

dangerousdavid is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Clayton Donaldson

So was are your impressions of him now? Before Saturday he had scored 6 goals in his last 10 matches, which is a decent ratio! Seems to have pace, skill and a finish. Kind of lacks physical strength and balance a little. But that will come to his game the more he plays for the side.

The SPL is a physical League and in time, he should be a good out and out striker.

He has been slated before on the board in the earlier days and the criticism has died done.

Whats your thoughts on the lad then?
I can see the lad being a good player for us and scoring a fair few goals.

But at the moment he looks a tad like an elephant on ice.
dangerousdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 10:43   #3

Bampotto is on the way to a first team debut

He'll be handy if we stay in a cup long enough to get to a penalty shoot-out!
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 11:10   #4

hughieo is on the way to a first team debut

It strikes me that he often jumps and almost pretends to go for the high ball with no real intention of getting it.

Get him on the weights.

Old 19-12-07, 11:11   #5

Bossie will become famous soon enough

Rarely gets an effort at goal as he only very rarely gets himself into a scoring position.

Two goals from open play says it all.
Old 19-12-07, 11:17   #6

My impression is he is a bit lightweight, and doesn't have the same impact as a striker as Fletch now does.

Mind you, it's not THAT long ago that Fletch seemed a bit lightweight too.

Whether we have the time or patience to see Clayton develop -as I think he will - remains to be seen.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 19-12-07, 11:27   #7

Far more intelligent on the park than I imagined he would be by this stage tbh. He isn't getting into enough dangerous positions close to goal, but he seems likely to create more goals than I thought he would. Was surprised to hear a bit of criticism of him on Saturday as I thought he'd had a good game. Brought other players into the game with lots of clever wee touches, held the ball up quite well, and was forcing Falkirk to play quite deep as he has a wee turn of pace and reads the line quite well. All in all he's came on a chunk in the few months he's been at ER. Could see him and Benji striking up a partnership in Fletchers absence which I could see working.

And I couldn't gie a feck if a few of his goals were penalties, I can't mind many people taking off the goals McCoist scored from penalties when calling him prolific. You've still got to score them.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 19-12-07, 11:36   #8
Have to Wear Maroon on a Saturday Radge

sauzee-god04 is on the way to a first team debut

Far more intelligent on the park than I imagined he would be by this stage tbh. He isn't getting into enough dangerous positions close to goal, but he seems likely to create more goals than I thought he would. Was surprised to hear a bit of criticism of him on Saturday as I thought he'd had a good game. Brought other players into the game with lots of clever wee touches, held the ball up quite well, and was forcing Falkirk to play quite deep as he has a wee turn of pace and reads the line quite well. All in all he's came on a chunk in the few months he's been at ER. Could see him and Benji striking up a partnership in Fletchers absence which I could see working.

And I couldn't gie a feck if a few of his goals were penalties, I can't mind many people taking off the goals McCoist scored from penalties when calling him prolific. You've still got to score them.
he has scored somthing like 4 penalties but has he not won 3 of the himself ?
Old 19-12-07, 12:01   #9

Coming from the Conference i wasn't expecting too much in the short term.

In Pre-season i was a bit concerned though...

However, I'm now pretty impressed. Think of his CIS Cup goal v Motherwell.

That said i think the expectations on his shoulders are far too high from supporters and his employer..

It's a HUGE step up from the conference to the SPL so it'll take time.
Old 19-12-07, 12:34   #10

bingo mistro is on the way to a first team debut

yep he has potential but think he has to work on his fitness as again against falkirk the last twenty minutes he seems to go abit flat and gets beaten to the ball alot where you would think someone of his size could get there first
bingo mistro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 13:59   #11
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough

I think he'll prove to be a good sigining.None of our strikers are setting the heather on fire the now but as i've commented in previous weeks this is down to our lacklusture midfield not creating enough.The likes of Curier and Donaldson are coming deep to pick up the ball when really we need to see them receiving it in the final third of the pitch.

Overall though 6 goals in 10 starts is a decent return...many more to come i reckon

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 14:10   #12

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

I think Donaldson and Fletcher are the best front pairing we have at the moment. He was slipping about an awful lot on Saturday though! Think he changed his boots at HT?
Not great in the air, but he won a few on Saturday. My only concern is that I've yet to see him really go at a defence and try and take them on, he's certainly got the pace to do it.
Old 19-12-07, 14:12   #13

chrissy-r-hfc is on the way to a first team debut

I think Collins rates him highly and it looks like he's going to be starting alot more. I've been pretty impressed with him so far and I think there's alot more to come from him when he does get a bit of strength about him.

WELCOME HOME DEEKS
chrissy-r-hfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 17:51   #14

paul_hibs is on the way to a first team debut

i think he looks a good goal scorer
paul_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 18:00   #15
Barry Gadgie Radge

brizo1 is on the way to a first team debut

Yeh i'm quite happy with him the now, felt he had a poor game against Falkirk..but then most of the team were not at there best.

Although he doesn't seem very strong, because he's quite tall and skinny this can be awkward for defenders to tackle him.

on the hole think he will do well and see him scoring a lot more goals
brizo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 18:49   #16

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

Yeh i'm quite happy with him the now, felt he had a poor game against Falkirk..but then most of the team were not at there best.

Although he doesn't seem very strong, because he's quite tall and skinny this can be awkward for defenders to tackle him.

on the hole think he will do well and see him scoring a lot more goals
Fair enough but he's no getting near my hole, no ma type at all

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 18:56   #17

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

Fair enough but he's no getting near my hole, no ma type at all
Are you a Racialist?, is it cos he is black?
Old 19-12-07, 19:08   #18

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

Absoluuuuuuuuuteeeely loves himself, loves his fast cars ,loves being a footballer and no doubt loves that complete airheid 'Pippa' as well.

Struts around off the pitch like a preeenin peacock and on the field has to face tough choices as to whether it's a wee yelly bow in the back of the hair today or shall I wear the red,orange,silver or green boots.

Alternatively he would be better employed thinking as to why 42 year old Andy Millen had him in his fat back pocket. how not to disapear for most of the game except when penalties are awarded and how to lay off the ball and bring the midfield back into play as well as the more mundane task of staying on his feet.

For £3,000 (including bonuses) a week and a £100,000 signing on fee and being the third highest salary at the club a return of two goals from open play is not good enough though scoring 4 penalties just about makes things even as you have to accept that 12 months ago he was playing against some dreadful English commuter town famous for nothing other than its wee railway station.

'Flash Harry' is a bit of a poseur but he does have the potential to be better as he has the strength and physique and the speed and if he has the attitude of mind to apply himself better then he might turn out to be a good signing.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 19:10   #19

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

Absoluuuuuuuuuteeeely loves himself, loves his fast cars ,loves being a footballer and no doubt loves that complete airheid 'Pippa' as well.

Struts around off the pitch like a preeenin peacock and on the field has to face tough choices as to whether it's a wee yelly bow in the back of the hair today or shall I wear the red,orange,silver or green boots.

Alternatively he would be better employed thinking as to why 42 year old Andy Millen had him in his fat back pocket. how not to disapear for most of the game except when penalties are awarded and how to lay off the ball and bring the midfield back into play as well as the more mundane task of staying on his feet.

For £3,000 (including bonuses) a week and a £100,000 signing on fee and being the third highest salary at the club a return of two goals from open play is not good enough though scoring 4 penalties just about makes things even as you have to accept that 12 months ago he was playing against some dreadful English commuter town famous for nothing other than its wee railway station.

'Flash Harry' is a bit of a poseur but he does have the potential to be better as he has the strength and physique and the speed and if he has the attitude of mind to apply himself better then he might turn out to be a good signing.
Why do you pick this player out for such piss-taking at every opportunity?

Keepitgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 19:21   #20

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

Why do you pick this player out for such piss-taking at every opportunity?
Because I think he sums up in a nutshell the attitude of many football players who get a huge salary, a massive signing on fee and are feted as someone special and a player who have made it as a success in their profession.

He hasn't, he has achieved nothing at Hibs or in football and really so far isn't even close and if he is willing to give a number of interviews where him and 'Pippa' regard themselves as the new Posh and Becks then he is a fair target for ridicule.

Compare his attitude with someone like MAC who is probably on his way out but at least he can say he gave 110% and so far I don't think 'Flash Harry' can say the same thing.

Knock in 15 to 20 goals a season then he can happily strut around like Frankie Dettori and she can be the Queen of Sheebba but do the business first.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-07, 19:23   #21

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

Because I think he sums up in a nutshell the attitude of many football players who get a huge salary, a massive signing on fee and are feted as someone special and a player who have made it as a success in their profession.

He hasn't, he has achieved nothing at Hibs or in football and really so far isn't even close and if he is willing to give a number of interviews where him and 'Pippa' regard themselves as the new Posh and Becks then he is a fair target for ridicule.

Compare his attitude with someone like Curier who is probably on his way out but at least he can say he gave 110% and so far I don't think 'Flash Harry can say the same thing.

Knock in 15 to 20 goals a season then he can happily strut around like Frankie Dettori and she can be the Queen of Sheebba but do the business first.
When has he done this?
Old 19-12-07, 19:27   #