Mc cann needs a rest.
Let me start bye saying this is not an anti kev post,having watched last nights spl highlights,i am of the oppinion young kev needs a rest.He is and will continue to be a decent full back,but he lost his man twice against d.united=2 goals,played out of position at ab'dn and lost nearly every header=1goal.On saturday although mccormack's clearance was bad kev's header just prior was murder,the upshot in my opinion, is for the sake of his confidence i think he should be rested for a while. I also think stevenson is suffering either burnout or a lack of confidence.These young lads cannot be expected to play week in week out without suffering from fatigue.Fletch has also played non stop for about 2years now but we can't afford to rest our top scorer.Jc says that we have cover all over the park,well lets see that statement out on the park,before people turn against the youngsters.
![]() Join Date: Jul 2007
Re: Mc cann needs a rest.
Think I'd still rather see a tired McCann at RB than a fully fit Gatheussi
I think Britain needs a rest from the McCanns not the other way round.
Saying that, I wouldnae disagree with your assesment too much tbh. McCann and Stevenson could maybe do with a game or two off but I would say it should be managed a bit and let them know they aren't out of the picture. Let it be a couple of games, and then put them back in unless their replacement has been very good. However, one thing I would say and point out is that Fletcher has been on fire this season, but he was pretty mediocre for big chunks of last season. I do think there is a bit of a second season syndrome with young players where the players they play against know them a bit better and work out how to play them. They need to make adjustments, but if they do (and I think both of them will) then they will come back stronger players. It's all part of their development. Letting them play through it a bit is good for us and the players in the future. In fact the only player I can think of who never had a pretty bad patch after establishing themselves in the first team with us recently was Riordan. O'Connor, Whittaker, Thomson, and even Scott Brown all had very ropy patches and that is something which should be borne in mind by all of us.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Not really blaming kevin or any others ,but you've all seen as well as i have ,when someone is expected to perform to a high standard, and falls away for a few games people are not slow to criticise.sometimes a rest to recharge batteries and confidence can work wonders.
I agree with your opinion. IMHO, both McCann and Stevenson set very high standards when they first made it into the first team. Now perhaps they're finding it hard to live up to those standards on a weekly basis and possibly would benefit from a wee rest. We have the cover and IMO can afford to rest these guys up for a game or two.
what hope have we got when we think a 20 year old needs a rest
vCash: 500 Thanks: 5
but as someone said else where its 45 years since a 16yr old jimmy o'rourke made his european debut....I dont think jimmy ever wanted a "rest"
A Radge Looking On The Bright Side
A wee spell out of the team is probably what McCann needs. As a young player, he is still fairly inconsistent, we expect his form to go up and down. But the fact that he's playing every week means that when his form goes bad, the crowd gets on his back, and he finds it harder to regain his confidence under the pressure of the fans. Some of this is down to Collins refusing to drop him, but he's not responsible for McCann's form. If he is allowed to step out of the limelight for a couple of weeks, he should regain his confidence