Window Shopping
Great stuff Hibs for extending and upping the terms of Fletch’s contract. There is no doubt that this deal is in the interest of ALL parties and will allow Fletch to continue his football education in an encouraging and positive environment. It also suggests that there may be a bit more harmony in the camp than some would have us believe. Let’s hope that is the case.
However, the upcoming transfer window still makes me a bit uneasy. It’s quite obvious that Hibs will sell anyone – as long as the price is right – and that’s no different from any other club. It’s just that we have more saleable assets than most SPL sides, so there will always be someone sniffing round our players. Fletch at least is now “off the market” for at least a year or two and can concentrate on learning to kick with his right foot, before he and Hibs make millions each. I’m not sure that he would have been keen to walk along the M8 in his bare feet anyway. He has probably seen what has happened to other Scottish strikers who have joined the Old Firm with mainly pretty poor futures there. The Huns have plenty of strikers, and the Soapies must have too or surely Deek wouldn’t be packing his bags as I write. So who else is likely to be targeted by the Old Firm as they continue to plunder the “provincial clubs” as the ignorant pundits refer to non-OF clubs? Benji seemed to be making noises of an ambitious move this season but his poor form has probably seen off any suitors and as already stated, neither OF club is looking for a back up striker. If they want a striker they will need to get a big name to placate their fans. (On the other hand JimVinegarofCastlemilk is a pretty big name. But he’s shit.) Midfielders? Boozy is apparently unhappy with his terms and may be snapped up by another club, but again I doubt if the M8 beckons. Maybe a bit more on the table from Rodders will tempt him to stay? New baby and happy here as long as he gets a ‘decent offer’. Rodders has shown he WILL pay up if he thinks it’s warranted. So it’s your call there Rod. More dosh or Boozy off to Englandshire or back to France. Can’t say we have any other star midfielder at present. The defence may be a bit different though. The shambolic performance at Aberdeen made the back four look pretty dire, but we have a pretty good defensive record this season despite fans criticism of individuals. The Soapies have no left back pure and simple. It is an obvious weak link in the side and I anticipate the Wee Ginger Shite testing Rods resolve with a bid in January. Murphy will have been sounded out by now and I guess it will be a straightforward decision for him whether he joins up with his ex-team mates at Darkheid for big bucks or awaits an offer to return Dan Sarf where he’d rather be. If he decides to go then Rodders will have the usual ‘unhappy player’ difficulty to deal with. I’d say if the Soapies come in with a bid then he’s been tapped already. That’s the way they work – just like the Huns. What about the Huns then? They have nicked Stephen Whittaker but have the doddering Davie Weir stumbling about in the box trying not to give away penalties tripping players with his Zimmer. A stopgap signing if ever there was one. The guy is literally on his last legs.There is a need to fill that spot with a similar big centre back, one who can just deal with the high balls and stick a leg in when necessary. No creative abilities required because everyone must pass the ball to Bazza anyway. Step up Rob Jones. Allegedly has been on the edge of moves to Cardiff and has made the “maybe time to move” comments on a couple of occasions apparently. Could it be that he would be a surprise signing for the Huns? I wonder how the Hibs fans would react to Jones walking barefoot to the Weege? He has become very unpopular with a section of the support – mainly the ones who can’t remember Derek Anderson GAAAAAAAAAAKK……. Or even Colin Murdoch. What are the chances of a double swoop by the OF on Jones and Murphy? Surely it can’t happen. One things for sure – if its going to happen, then the players would have been tapped by now. Maybe shown a loss of form as the big bucks were counted - as Katie did. Or allowed niggling injuries to keep them from playing - like Whitty. Keep an eye out for stuff like that. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. These deals go through in the window, but are sorted out a few weeks before. Are we to be plundered again? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Re: Window Shopping
That's an interesting post Doc.
I'm convinced with the Murphy one tbh. I wonder if a wee opportunity might be there for us though. From a mate who's decently up on Celtic stuff he reckons that Celtic will originally ask for £1m for Riordan from anyone which completely price Hibs out of the running. However, I wonder if a swap with Celtic still paying a decent chunk of cash for Murphy might be a goer. TBH I think that if Lewis Stevenson was to move to left back he could actually settle in in that position and re-find his form... And Murphy has been pish the last two games imo... So say we were to get a million+ for Murphy from the SDBs plus Riordan. With JC able to bring in another one or two with the cash brought in. Would that actually be a good deal? Riordan would obviously be looking for something along the lines of one of our top earners, but if Murphy is away then that's what I'd assume was a decent wage coming off the wage bill anyway. The problem that I could see would be we're actually pretty well covered for strikers, and it would seem to be be jacking in on O'Brien if Riordan was playing wide on the left. However, Riordan before he left was better than any of the strikers we currently have, and infinitely better than O'Brien has been on the left. So to sum that up, we end up with £1m+, Stevenson playing in what is a natural position for him, and Riordan. For Murphy. I think that's a pretty decent return tbh, and if the money goes to the manager to sign another couple of players who are better than what we've got, I have to say it's something I would do with not a lot of hesitation... To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I'm no convinced with the Jones to the huns one at all tbh. No much, if any, better than someone like Kirk Broadfoot who doesn't get a game for them.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Babyshambles Radge
Despite the need to strenghten the squad, I feel priority is holding on to players like Fletch ( 1 down), Benji, Murphy and off course, Beuzelin. Atleast until the end of the season. We need to go forward in the transfer window and not backwards and losing any of these players would be a major blow to our football club. The departure of Rob Jones in january I feel we could recover from if we signed an adequate and commanding replacement. Would Collins find the right player?
As for signings I think we need, most importantly a Centre Midfielder. We need someone that can tackle, get stuck in and be able to play a pass. Brian Kerr has hardly shown he can tick they boxes and Beuzelin needs someone better along side him IMO. As for the defence if Jones goes a Centre Back would need to come in. Murphy leaves (bloody hope not) a left back. Up front we are ok. Fletch, Donaldson and Benji will get goals. Antoine Curier isnt the best goalscorer we have had BUT what he lacks in ability he makes up for with determination and commitment. You can't fault that kind of attitude whilst he is in the green and white. I hope that Collins and Petrie will sit down and discuss this, and perhaps Petrie will give Collins a bit of money to spend. The January window may make or brake our season. |
Boozy is running down his contract and will leave in the summer IMO. Jones also wants away but hopefully we can keep him and Murphy till the summer. I feel it is vital we hang onto Jones and Murphy till the end of the season. Collins has then to really prove himself as a manager by getting in decent replacements, a very hard job given Hibs current wages policy.
As far as players coming in during January are concerned, well there has been a lot of talk about Colin Nish. I am not convinced that Hibs are after him, but if they were I reckon it will be a pre-contract agreement. There may be one or two others arriving on loan. I think we need better cover at central defence and possibly in midfield. Noubissie will be playing more regularly as well and he may prove to be what we need in the middle of the park.
#5 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
For all Jones' shortcomings - he does offer us some goalscoring opportunities (if only we'd vary our freekicks a bit more)
Choose Life, Choose Hibs, Choose Easter Road Last edited by GibbytheHibby; 07-12-07 at 00:13. Reason: spelling! |
||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
From the above; I can't see Deeks coming back. Much as I'd love to see him in a Hibs top again there's too much bad blood and we can't afford him.
Jones to the Huns - again cannae see it. He wants south, Huns probably think they can get better and possibly can. Murphy to Celtic I think will happen provided they're willing to part with £1 / 1.5M. Boozy - I think will see out his contract then return to France. Not based on anything, just a hunch.