Old 04-12-07, 10:54   #1

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Aberdeen Are £14 Million In Debts But Are Giving Calderwood Over A Million To Spend..

We're effectively in no debt and we're giving just how much to our manager Mr Chairman Rod Petrie?

You read the criticism on here of JC since Sunday and it amazes me just how scott-free this board escapes criticism of some justification...
Old 04-12-07, 11:03   #2

Casino cash: £17800
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice
Re: Aberdeen Are £14 Million In Debts But Are Giving Calderwood Over A Million To Spe

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
We're effectively in no debt and we're giving just how much to our manager Mr Chairman Rod Petrie?

You read the criticism on here of JC since Sunday and it amazes me just how scott-free this board escapes criticism of some justification...
I think the mouser is taking prudence just a wee bit too far Smurf. Its quite extraordinary, we are on the verge - IMO of course - of being reasonably serious challengers for at least second place yet we dont appear to have a fighting fund for JC to utilise to strengthen the squad. I'm not saying we should start chucking cash around like the bad old days and i'm sure you arent advocating that either but it does put things into prespective when the sheep can spend a million bucks and we, who as you rightly say are debt free at least by comparison, wont or cant. Its difficult to see how JC can be blamed, ok his tactics are sometimes suspect but as the bard once said, you can only p1ss with the cock you were born with and metaphorically at least, JC needs a bigger cock.

Perhaps the mouser wont give him money because he doesnt trust him to spend it wisely Its more likely because he's a tightwad of course but there is that to consider.

Just as a matter of interest and if we matched Aberden, out of that £1 mill how much should we allocate to increased wages and how much to strengthening the squad?

Old 04-12-07, 11:03   #3

Casino cash: £1242
Re: Aberdeen Are £14 Million In Debts But Are Giving Calderwood Over A Million To Spe

Rod Petrie never played a player 5.7 at centre half , the critisism was justified
COWDEN-HIBEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 11:05   #4

Casino cash: £17800
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by COWDEN-HIBEE View Post
Rod Petrie never played a player 5.7 at centre half , the critisism was justified
JC doesnt control the purse strings so Smurf has a very valid point.

Old 04-12-07, 11:15   #5

Perhaps he'd have replaced Konde & Martis properly if he had the budget...
Old 04-12-07, 11:18   #6

Casino cash: £7200
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

We don't know the answer to that, do we? Perhaps RP has given JC a figure but it's not Hibs' style to go blowing to the media about how much they're going to spend. We run the risk of becoming like the OF fans when we're more interested in how much money we're going to spend IMO.
Old 04-12-07, 11:24   #7

Originally Posted by blue toon hibby View Post
We don't know the answer to that, do we? Perhaps RP has given JC a figure but it's not Hibs' style to go blowing to the media about how much they're going to spend. We run the risk of becoming like the OF fans when we're more interested in how much money we're going to spend IMO.
Not interested in the actual figure.

However, as JC states time and time again he's no money and that's pretty much proved in his actual dealings...
Old 04-12-07, 11:36   #8

Casino cash: £1458

true, but what other options does JC really have? McCormack is very inexperienced (and was injured I think) and Joneliet is also unproven. Not really JC's fault he couldnt afford to bring in another more experienced defender is it? it's down to the tight-arsed board!
Old 04-12-07, 11:42   #9

Casino cash: £5494

Not interested in the actual figure.

However, as JC states time and time again he's no money and that's pretty much proved in his actual dealings...
By paying for O'Brien & Jones? Signing on fees for all the new signings & those extending their present contracts. Plus wages for the length of those contracts? Comes to quite a bit of cash i would think.

& on the subject of Aberdeen giving tangoman a £1m to spend when they are in DEPT[Stretchy boy!!!]to the tune of £14m.
Not really that well versed in running companies but, to me that just looks like bad management.

Also, i reckon £1m in todays extortionate transfer market isn't that big a wedge.
Old 04-12-07, 11:49   #10

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Maybe they can buy Mirsad Beslija for £800k with their kitty? That plus wages will comfortably see their £1m spent...

I want the budget increased on wages, and if someone exceptional is available for a fee the money should be made available for JC. No arguments with that, but the future of the club still has to be bringing through young players, not attempting to compete in a market where we are never ever going to be able to compete with financially bigger clubs. And the financially bigger clubs in Scotland are the OF. Hearts are over-spending by enough to leave them in danger of extinction, Aberdeen have all their eggs in the one basket of hoping that Aberdeen council build them a new ground for feck all so that they can sell Pittodrie to clear their huge level of debt. So in Scotland within a couple of years I think we will be able to be outspending everyone outside the OF on players. Which should hopefully mean more regular European fitba etc. However, we will still be an absolute minnow in UK & European terms with literally hundreds of clubs able to outspend us.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 04-12-07, 11:57   #11

Casino cash: £33543
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Just 'cos their being stupid doesn't mean we should as well.
Old 04-12-07, 12:01   #12
Hibs Radge

Casino cash: £1523

Originally Posted by greencol View Post
Also, i reckon £1m in todays extortionate transfer market isn't that big a wedge.
It would be equivalant to compensation for Zemmama, Alan O'Brien & Makalamby.

Regards Tango Mans £ 1.4m transfer kitty it's worth noting that he's already had some of it "and the rest will be available for the manager to use over the next three years. "
rude_boy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 12:08   #13

BBC SPORT | Football | My Club | Aberdeen | Cash carrot to keep Calderwood

Some of the £1.4 M will be used to try & resign the TEN players out of contract in the summer.

Not gonna be much of the £1.4M left for new signings?
Old 04-12-07, 13:18   #14

Casino cash: £4857

BBC SPORT | Football | My Club | Aberdeen | Cash carrot to keep Calderwood

Some of the £1.4 M will be used to try & resign the TEN players out of contract in the summer.

Not gonna be much of the £1.4M left for new signings?
Any decent players in the 10?

Could any be heading in our direction?
Old 04-12-07, 13:25   #15

Casino cash: £2695

Originally Posted by Decal Joe View Post

Severin is one of the 10.
alexi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 13:29   #16

Casino cash: £4857

Originally Posted by alexi View Post
Severin is one of the 10.
We couldn't afford him.

Not sure if he'd want to play for us anyway!
Old 04-12-07, 15:28   #17

Chris Clark. Its about the only thing you & I have ever agreed on!

IIRC Touzani is another at the end of his contract.
Old 04-12-07, 15:40   #18

After a wee search,

Hart, Mackie, Nicholson, Clark,Diamond,Byrne ,Maguire, Lovell, Miller, Langfield & Soutar.

Hart has stalled on a new deal. Clark & Nicholson are still talking to the club.

Sorry, this was a report from October!

From a report in todays EE
http://www.thisisnorthscotland.co.uk...pNodeId=149264
Old 04-12-07, 15:50   #19

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

After a wee search,

Hart, Mackie, Nicholson, Clark,Diamond,Byrne ,Maguire, Lovell, Miller, Langfield & Soutar.

Hart has stalled on a new deal. Clark & Nicholson are still talking to the club.

Sorry, this was a report from October!

From a report in todays EE
http://www.thisisnorthscotland.co.uk...pNodeId=149264
I thought Mackie was out of contract, and was told he wasn't about a month ago by someone on here who was adamant he had another 18 months!

FWIW I'd take Mackie every day of the week and twice on Sundays before I'd touch Nish. Far better player afaic. Hart I rate as a full back, and he can play on either side so could be a potential replacement for Murphy with a bit of flexibility as a bonus.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 04-12-07, 16:21   #20

Casino cash: £7200
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

We couldn't afford him.

Not sure if he'd want to play for us anyway!
Apparently, he went North for less money than he was on at Tynecastle. I would imagine Mahogany Man would be willing to part with a large part of his war chest to keep Severin at Pittodrie although I would love to see him in the Green and White. I know a man in Tranent who feels the same.
Old 04-12-07, 16:24   #21