Old 03-12-07, 09:42   #1

Casino cash: £4837
My Fellow Posters

I find it very interesting to read all my fellow Hibs Supporters views after games like yesterday but it never fails to amaze me just how different people's perceptions and attitudes can be.

There are usually a whole load of punters who believe that the 'poor' performance was a one off, a blip etc etc, to these people can I just say, these games come along too frequently to be isolated incidents, this is a problem, make no mistake. We have a real problem, whether that is with motivation, morale, selection, coaching, jealousy I don't know but what I do appreciate is that it happens too often just to be a bad day at the office and I'm sure I've heard JC say on more than one occasion 'worst performance since I became Hibs Manager, it wont happen again!'.

There are people who believe that it's acceptable for Hibs to have periods like this because 'its still better than we have been in the past' or 'We aren't Rantic, why should we expect to win every week' etc etc. I don't think it's satisfactory to make comparisons to the teams of old, most of us can remember very poor Hibs sides with long runs without a win, relegation, cup defeats etc but its not acceptable to accept that because we're not in that bother we're doing fine! Well are we really doing fine?

Wake up and realise that as a Club we've taken in more money in 2 seasons than we have in many years, Season ticket prices and sales are up, merchandise sales continue to grow (so much so that they can dictate which strip the team wears on the park!), we as fans are being shafted and some are prepared to accept low level mediocrity because 'at least its not as bad as Blobby!' SHITE!

There are off course the affectionately named 'Bed Wetters' I probably fall into this category, that's not just a Hibs thing, I am the eternal pessimist, I like it that way, the lows are the norm but the highs are fantastic!
It's OK to have this sort of outlook on Hibs, that's the right we have to express our feelings and opinions in an educated way after watching the 'team' week in week out and paying our hard earned to do so.
For every guy who comes on here and says 'The league doesn't lie', 'we'll see what you're saying at the end of the Season', 'We can't win every week', 'It's a hard place to go and win' etc, there's another who just thinks 'bollox'.

When you consider that we have beat Celtic, Rangers and Hertz this season already, I guess we should be happy and optimistic. Why am I not?
Old 03-12-07, 09:49   #2

Casino cash: £17545
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice
Re: My Fellow Posters

Originally Posted by Decal Joe View Post
I guess we should be happy and optimistic. Why am I not?
Because you can take Hibs getting beaten if they put up a fight but you cant accept that we can capitulate so easily against an average team If thats the case I agree with you entirely. I dont like Hibs getting beaten at all but I can accept that it will happen, everyone loses sometimes but the Hibs that fight till the bitter end werent there yesterday.

PS. Make played ok I thought

Old 03-12-07, 09:57   #3

Originally Posted by Dub View Post
Because you can take Hibs getting beaten if they put up a fight but you cant accept that we can capitulate so easily against an average team If thats the case I agree with you entirely. I dont like Hibs getting beaten at all but I can accept that it will happen, everyone loses sometimes but the Hibs that fight till the bitter end werent there yesterday.

PS. Make played ok I thought
Probably the major reason that this morning I still feel as disappointed when on many other weeks the feeling subsides after a good nights sleep.

I appreciate that Hibs means more to us than it does to most of our Players but that was rippin' the pish !

My Mum has always said 'It's only a game!', I think the players Mothers may have been saying the same thing!
Old 03-12-07, 09:59   #4

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Under the circumstances i don't think JC & TC could have done a better job in the past 12 months. Put it another way TM & MV IMHO would not have done better. Silverware and we're 3rd in the SPL. However, there have been odd decisions. Certain players that have been signed. Certain team formations... But overall under the circumstances he's done "Ever so well".

What i fear though - and i really fear it - is that it's just not going to be realistic to maintain the standards set. I called in the summer for our board to either back or sack JC. Obviously i wanted the former but i still see no evidence of it. I'm not so sure RP has agreed this contract with Fletch that JC announced on Thursday last week..

I seriously doubt JC will be here this time next year. It appears the fans will and would direct their disappointment and anger at the manager and not the board. As things stand JC has quite an impressive 1st year CV in his coaching/managerial career. He's too clever to allow this board to negatively effect that...
Old 03-12-07, 10:05   #5

Casino cash: £13288
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

I find it very interesting to read all my fellow Hibs Supporters views after games like yesterday but it never fails to amaze me just how different people's perceptions and attitudes can be.

There are usually a whole load of punters who believe that the 'poor' performance was a one off, a blip etc etc, to these people can I just say, these games come along too frequently to be isolated incidents, this is a problem, make no mistake. We have a real problem, whether that is with motivation, morale, selection, coaching, jealousy I don't know but what I do appreciate is that it happens too often just to be a bad day at the office and I'm sure I've heard JC say on more than one occasion 'worst performance since I became Hibs Manager, it wont happen again!'.

There are people who believe that it's acceptable for Hibs to have periods like this because 'its still better than we have been in the past' or 'We aren't Rantic, why should we expect to win every week' etc etc. I don't think it's satisfactory to make comparisons to the teams of old, most of us can remember very poor Hibs sides with long runs without a win, relegation, cup defeats etc but its not acceptable to accept that because we're not in that bother we're doing fine! Well are we really doing fine?

Wake up and realise that as a Club we've taken in more money in 2 seasons than we have in many years, Season ticket prices and sales are up, merchandise sales continue to grow (so much so that they can dictate which strip the team wears on the park!), we as fans are being shafted and some are prepared to accept low level mediocrity because 'at least its not as bad as Blobby!' SHITE!

There are off course the affectionately named 'Bed Wetters' I probably fall into this category, that's not just a Hibs thing, I am the eternal pessimist, I like it that way, the lows are the norm but the highs are fantastic!
It's OK to have this sort of outlook on Hibs, that's the right we have to express our feelings and opinions in an educated way after watching the 'team' week in week out and paying our hard earned to do so.
For every guy who comes on here and says 'The league doesn't lie', 'we'll see what you're saying at the end of the Season', 'We can't win every week', 'It's a hard place to go and win' etc, there's another who just thinks 'bollox'.

When you consider that we have beat Celtic, Rangers and Hertz this season already, I guess we should be happy and optimistic. Why am I not?

In all honesty yesterday was a hard one to take. It was an absolutely atrocious performance. What I would say is that whilst obviously never wanting them to happen, they do. And they happen to every team not just Hibs. Dundee Utd are getting a lot of praise, yet they've lost to Gretna! Hearts have failed to beat Gretna on two seperate occasions. Gretna are imo probably the worst side I've ever seen in the top league. There were other teams in our first division season who were better than them imo.

Anyway, having accepted that every team has these performances, you just don't dwell on them afterwards is my only outlook on them. After last week against Dundee Utd I honestly thought we were going to give someone a doing sooner or later rather than yesterdays performance being on the cards. And imo those who immediately turn round and blame Collins seem to forget that the sort of performance we had yesterday wasn't exactly the rarest thing under Mowbray either. Mowbrays very last game in charge of us was an equally inept performance as yesterdays where I think we had no shots on goal against St Mirren.

I don't think criticism is bad or shouldn't be made, it's just that when every single defeat is met by the exact same whining regardless of performance and opposition it becomes a bit tedious tbh. A few people seemed to see Hibs got beat yesterday, and since it's what they always do they blame the keeper. A few others done their "JC is out of his depth" clockwork fuckwit impersonation. Some blame Kerr (I'm guessing, I haven't even bothered to look at the thread since the amount of exclamation marks at the end of Kerr tells me everything I need to know about what it's contents will be). I dare say someone will be along in 5 minutes saying the ref ruined the game for us to complete the kneejerk reaction full house.

Meanwhile I think that once again too many players are used as scapegoats and other bad performances are ignored because people like some players. I hope anyone interested in him had Murphy watched yesterday for example as if they did, we'll be able to keep him to the end of his contract for starters...

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 03-12-07, 10:18   #6

Casino cash: £4387
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut

good post

overall i think we all just felt let down after yesterday's game,IMO it's the worst performance since the williamson era

there's been worse and more embarassing results but not such an awful performance

but whats done is done,time to look forward to the caley game
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:24   #7

Casino cash: £1606
Rep Power: 7 baggageandfibs is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post
good post

overall i think we all just felt let down after yesterday's game,IMO it's the worst performance since the williamson era

there's been worse and more embarassing results but not such an awful performance

I dunno the 3-0 caley game was worse last year i reckon.

I just hope the management are not writing this off as 'just one of those days' as serious arse needs to be kicked at training today.

Saw the highlights of the brum v spurs game last night and the effort put in by birmingham is what I expect to see from us. Harried spurs relentlessly and played til the last kick of the ball. Ok they got lucky but you could say they earned their luck.
baggageandfibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:25   #8

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post
good post

Dunno like. The various complete collapses with no fight shown whatsoever at Tynecastle under Mowbray were pretty hard to take. And they came with players who were better than what we currently have.

I'm not trying to play down how bad we were yesterday btw, cause we were absolutely bowfing.

Old 03-12-07, 10:53   #9

Casino cash: £5429

In your opinion, how often do these kind of performances have to happen for them to become isolated incidents?
I'm sure until yesterday Aberdeen fans were posting on their website forums about their gutless performances against hearts & celtic.
Now, I couldn't give a shit about Aberdeen or any other side but, i think we need to retain a sense of proportion here. As Wee162 says, it happened quite frequently under Mowbray & it will happen again.

We are not in a relegation fight, we are 3rd in the SPl & we have good young players. Not world beaters.
Collins is inexperienced as a manager but he is learning all the time & if we can show a bit of patience i think he will do even better.
Of course this last sentence can be dug up & thrown in my face at the end of the season ,but that is what i believe right now.
Old 03-12-07, 11:39   #10

Originally Posted by greencol View Post
1. In your opinion, how often do these kind of performances have to happen for them to become isolated incidents?:dunno:

2. it happened quite frequently under Mowbray & it will happen again.

3. We are not in a relegation fight, we are 3rd in the SPl

4. we have good young players. Not world beaters.
1. I think you're agreeing with me here, but I'm not sure surely once is an isolated incident therefore these types of results are an ongoing damaging trend which is commonly referred to as the 'Hibs inconsistency'

2. Agreed, but the point is that after all this time and the recurring problem should lessons not have been learned.

3. By a ball hair and not for long.

4. We have average young Players who play the odd good game, McCann was poor against Dundee Utd and out of position and inept (not all his fault) yesterday, Stevenson hasn't played really well for a while and was dire yesterday, Fletcher scores goals and sometimes offers a bit more.
Too much pressure is being put on these young shoulders by us having no options with a squad which lacks depth and quality, this was plain to see yesterday.

It's easy to fall into the trap of gushing over 'Hibs' young talent, like the media. we're not the only Club with up and comers, take Maguire yesterday for Aberdeen, younger and hungrier than our guys on the day.
Old 03-12-07, 12:44   #11

Casino cash: £5429

1. I think you're agreeing with me here, but I'm not sure surely once is an isolated incident therefore these types of results are an ongoing damaging trend which is commonly referred to as the 'Hibs inconsistency'

2. Agreed, but the point is that after all this time and the recurring problem should lessons not have been learned.

3. By a ball hair and not for long.

4. We have average young Players who play the odd good game, McCann was poor against Dundee Utd and out of position and inept (not all his fault) yesterday, Stevenson hasn't played really well for a while and was dire yesterday, Fletcher scores goals and sometimes offers a bit more.
Too much pressure is being put on these young shoulders by us having no options with a squad which lacks depth and quality, this was plain to see yesterday.

It's easy to fall into the trap of gushing over 'Hibs' young talent, like the media. we're not the only Club with up and comers, take Maguire yesterday for Aberdeen, younger and hungrier than our guys on the day.
I don't think praising young players is falling into a trap?

McGuire as you rightly pointed out was hungry yesterday, but the tangoman HAD to give him a chance sometime.

What needs to be pointed out is that the other clubs with young players are just as inconsistent as Hibs.

I think we have to face up to the fact that the club is not going to spend big money on transfer fees for the kind of experience we need, so we will have to live with that .

As for becoming relegation candiates?
Old 03-12-07, 13:17   #12
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Casino cash: £1015
Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
Under the circumstances i don't think JC & TC could have done a better job in the past 12 months. Put it another way TM & MV IMHO would not have done better. Silverware and we're 3rd in the SPL. However, there have been odd decisions. Certain players that have been signed. Certain team formations... But overall under the circumstances he's done "Ever so well".

What i fear though - and i really fear it - is that it's just not going to be realistic to maintain the standards set. I called in the summer for our board to either back or sack JC. Obviously i wanted the former but i still see no evidence of it. I'm not so sure RP has agreed this contract with Fletch that JC announced on Thursday last week..

I seriously doubt JC will be here this time next year. It appears the fans will and would direct their disappointment and anger at the manager and not the board. As things stand JC has quite an impressive 1st year CV in his coaching/managerial career. He's too clever to allow this board to negatively effect that...
NO! Don`t ever type "those" words!! I picked up on it at his first interview as Boss...............It irritates the HELL outa me.

e.g. Was watching Shitanta (don`t do Aberdeen no more) and Mrs. ZH casually walks past, , and says........"Hibs arn`t doing EVER SO WELL today, huh?"

Oh how she laughed as she got half-time duration, "Type-writered"

However, it wasn`t the defeat, as mentioned above, it was the lack of interest, motivation, pride and ideas that got me.

Was like watching the gunts. I truly believe JC may have lost at least "Some" of the dressing room. (again)

Would love to be wrong. Love to.
Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 23:15   #13

Casino cash: £3587

I think the manner in which we lost yesterday is what really hurts. They had 24 shots on goal , we had 5.

Have we been punching above our weight up till now, or is this just a blip? I had real questons about Jones until yesterday, poor decisions, distribution etc but god how we missed him at Pittodrie.

The coming weekend doesnt encourage me either; ICT away isnt exactly one of our best destinations.
alnewhaven is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 09:19   #14

Originally Posted by alnewhaven View Post
I think the manner in which we lost yesterday is what really hurts. They had 24 shots on goal , we had 5.

Have we been punching above our weight up till now, or is this just a blip? I had real questons about Jones until yesterday, poor decisions, distribution etc but god how we missed him at Pittodrie.

The coming weekend doesnt encourage me either; ICT away isnt exactly one of our best destinations.
It is if you factor in the amount of peeve you can have:YAYYY: