Old 02-12-07, 18:29   #1

Casino cash: £2263
The Summer Exodus Is Starting to Show

After punching above our weight since the start of the season i fear that the great sell off last summer is finally starting to kick in. Today we were desperately poor and crying out for someone with that extra wee bit of quality that could have done something different. Unfortuantly we just didnt have anyone capable.
We have only won 1 of our last 6 games and that was against Gretna and with a few tough fixtures coming up i dont think we will be third for much longer.
No team can lose the amount of quality we did without it having a detrimental effect on the team especially when they are getting replaced by far inferior players and young kids.
We must spend money its as simple as that. If not we will soon be back to bottom 6 finishes in front of crowds under 10'000.
Old 02-12-07, 18:34   #2
bring back Landells Radge

Casino cash: £16984
vCash: 19000
Re: The Summer Exodus Is Starting to Show

you may not be too far off the mark with that post
Livi_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 18:35   #3
Aged Radge

Casino cash: £12270
Rep Power: 29 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by Cantona View Post
After punching above our weight since the start of the season i fear that the great sell off last summer is finally starting to kick in. Today we were desperately poor and crying out for someone with that extra wee bit of quality that could have done something different. Unfortuantly we just didnt have anyone capable.
We have only won 1 of our last 6 games and that was against Gretna and with a few tough fixtures coming up i dont think we will be third for much longer.
No team can lose the amount of quality we did without it having a detrimental effect on the team especially when they are getting replaced by far inferior players and young kids.
We must spend money its as simple as that. If not we will soon be back to bottom 6 finishes in front of crowds under 10'000.
Agree wholeheartedly - the difference in skill and class is showing now.
Spending money isn't the answer though - although it may help.

Identifying the players and getting them in - not just spending for the sake of it.
There are plenty footballers around who would jump at the chance to play for Hibs. Let's hope that our managers/scouts can find the ones with sufficient quality to do so.

I don't think Boozy or Murphy cost too much to sign.
Maybe Wullie McCock can send in some more videos once he gets bailed.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 02-12-07, 19:01   #4

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink View Post
Agree wholeheartedly - the difference in skill and class is showing now.
Spending money isn't the answer though - although it may help.

Identifying the players and getting them in - not just spending for the sake of it.
There are plenty footballers around who would jump at the chance to play for Hibs. Let's hope that our managers/scouts can find the ones with sufficient quality to do so.

I don't think Boozy or Murphy cost too much to sign.
Maybe Wullie McCock can send in some more videos once he gets bailed.
Footballers today want cash its as simple as that. The better and more experienced they are the more they want. When you dont spend a lot in the transfer market you get average journeymen who dont exactly have a choice of clubs and just have grab the best deal that happens to come along.
For every Murphy you get a lot more like Somawni, Konte and Zibbi.
Also we cant continuly rely on kids coming through. We are not Ajax or Man Utd of the early nineties where the kids were world class. We are bringing through half decent youngsters who probably shouldnt be playing every single week simply because there is no one better to replace them.
Old 02-12-07, 19:04   #5
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Casino cash: £1890
Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Aye..........
Zitelli`s Heid! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 19:08   #6

Casino cash: £5696

Can you spell out exactly what it is that you want the club to do?

I've read a million posts similar to this but I've yet to see someone detail what the alternative actually is.

Please, give details of what the club should be doing.
Old 02-12-07, 19:08   #7
Aged Radge

Rep Power: 29 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Quite agree Cantona.

My point is just that we have to rely on the 'right players' being signed.

Irrespective of the price you need to get value.
I'm not convinced that our current Management Team are on the ball when it comes to 'spotting a player'.
Sowumni Kerr O'Brien are three players who illustrate the point.

If Rodders thinks that JC would waste money by signing expensive flops as opposed to cheap flops - he won't get the money.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 02-12-07, 19:14   #8

Originally Posted by Keepitgreen View Post

I've read a million posts similar to this but I've yet to see someone detail what the alternative actually is.

Ive seen the alternative given on every one of the million posts you've read.
Ease the restrictive wage structure and give JC a decent transfer kitty.......simple as that

There is no point having money in the bank and no team on the park.
Old 02-12-07, 19:15   #9

Casino cash: £3608

I think what most of us would like mate, is for the board to up the wage structure in line with our revenue, and possibly release some funds for the manager to invest in the squad! Been said on here often enough recently!
Old 02-12-07, 19:21   #10

Ive seen the alternative given on every one of the million posts you've read.
Ease the restrictive wage structure and give JC a decent transfer kitty.......simple as that

There is no point having money in the bank and no team on the park.
How much more wages would you be happy to see us spend? 20% more? 50% more? Double?

Which clubs should we be spending more than?

Which existing players do we pay more, which do we not?

How much would you be happy to see us spend on a transfer fee?

What are the factors that influence the sum you would pay?

Lots of little fees, or a big humongous superstar one?

Details details details.
Old 02-12-07, 19:37   #11

Casino cash: £3819

totaly agree with that post. we had no one in midfield and our defence was shizen. zemmamma had a howler. we realy miss broony a bit of balls in the midfield is what we need. worst performance ive seen from the cabbage this season

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 19:38   #12

How much more wages would you be happy to see us spend? 20% more? 50% more? Double?

Which clubs should we be spending more than?

Which existing players do we pay more, which do we not?

How much would you be happy to see us spend on a transfer fee?

What are the factors that influence the sum you would pay?

Lots of little fees, or a big humongous superstar one?

Details details details.
To repeat what i said to Dr Shrink further up the board. In today's market you get what you pay for. If you dont spend a lot in the transfer market and pay relatively small wages the majority of players you will attract will be average journeymen and hence you get performances like today's.
If JC was allowed to spend some cash in the transfer market and pay better wages we could attract better players. The days of spending 800'000 on De La Cruz are long gone but would it make a dent in the finances if we bought a proven experienced player and paid him what he was worth. Would it put us under if we spent 300'000 on a player and paid him 5 grand a week. I dont think so. The fans are turned on by goals and trophies not balance sheets.
Also i dont buy the argument that if one Hibs player gets it they will all want it. Im sure the vast majority of players we have are well aware of there limitations and are just happy to be at a club like Hibs.
Old 02-12-07, 19:42   #13
Aged Radge

To repeat what i said to Dr Shrink further up the board. In today's market you get what you pay for. If you dont spend a lot in the transfer market and pay relatively small wages the majority of players you will attract will be average journeymen and hence you get performances like today's.
If JC was allowed to spend some cash in the transfer market and pay better wages we could attract better players. The days of spending 800'000 on De La Cruz are long gone but would it make a dent in the finances if we bought a proven experienced player and paid him what he was worth. Would it put us under if we spent 300'000 on a player and paid him 5 grand a week. I dont think so. The fans are turned on by goals and trophies not balance sheets.
Also i dont buy the argument that if one Hibs player gets it they will all want it. Im sure the vast majority of players we have are well aware of there limitations and are just happy to be at a club that gets to play against Celtic and Rangers on a regular basis.
Upping someones wages doesn't make them a better player.
I agree that th epurse strings could be loosened, but you still need to sign the RIGHT player.
BTW the bit in bold - that is EXACTLY the reason that Boozy & Fletcher are unhappy right now.

And Derek Riordan before them..........

Players want 'parity' with others at the Club. If they see one player get big bucks then they will strive to get up there too.

Old 02-12-07, 19:52   #14
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Casino cash: £1890
Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Sure, we`re about debt free........(something the Gunts can be jealous of) but we need to start buying/loaning quality.

Why have we become so stagnated? ££££££££`s

Why are we so devoid of outstanding players? £££££££££`s

Why can`t we buy and keep quality? ££££££££££`s

Mr. Petrie........what do "we" and JC need? ££££££££££`s

Thus the big question...............WHERE` THE FUCKING MONEY????????????????

Or do we just settle for 5th?

`Coz that`s about all we are............No money for stadium development, no slush fund, no way to keep anyone............"We are certainly Hibs"

No bigger than Killie/Utd/Motherwell............and a business before a club.

Yet again....................................we are going nowhere.

I`d love to laugh..........however, JC will be off soon, if this continues.............as mentioned before................Who`d blame him?
Zitelli`s Heid! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 19:52   #15

I agree that th epurse strings could be loosened, but you still need to sign the RIGHT player.
BTW the bit in bold - that is EXACTLY the reason that Boozy & Fletcher are unhappy right now.

Players want 'parity' with others at the Club. If they see one player get big bucks then they will strive to get up there too.

It's so feckin simple to say 'PAY THEM MORE WAGES JC/RP/STF etc etc'

It's short, snappy, to the point and sounds real angry

Unfortunately, it doesn't really provide a useable solution for the 'problems' that we seem to have.

I am not necessarily disagreeing with anyone here, I am trying to get a proper debate and analysis of what the club should do.

Think about this. If there was a simple thing to do like 'loosen the purse strings' then surely by now a club would have did so and ruled the 'Third Force' spot for the past however many years??

The fact remains its no that simple, no-one has pulled it off and plenty have failed. At the mo, we are managing a challenge and we won a cup. Our way of doing things cannae be that terrible surely?

Of course we can always improve but its a gradual process folks.
Old 02-12-07, 20:01   #16

You have more chance of signing the RIGHT player if your prepared to entice him with decent money. Good players wont play for bad wages.
Fletcher is unhappy because he knows he has loads of ability and could attract bigger clubs than Hibs where he could get much better wages and being a young lad im sure he is getting all the usual nonsense poured in his ear by his agent etc and believing it all.
I dont think for a minute that the likes of Kerr, Morais,Zemmama,Donaldson will ever think they will have the same market value as Fletch,Riorden etc.
Old 02-12-07, 20:18   #17

Casino cash: £1739

Pay peanuts and you get monkeys.
Says it all really.
Old 02-12-07, 20:18   #18

Casino cash: £30573
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

If Rodders thinks that JC would waste money by signing expensive flops as opposed to cheap flops - he won't get the money.
IF he thinks that then he should sack JC or alternatively bugger off himself..
Old 03-12-07, 00:21   #19
Aged Radge

You have more chance of signing the RIGHT player if your prepared to entice him with decent money. Good players wont play for bad wages.
But bad players WILL play for good wages.

Fletcher is unhappy because he knows he has loads of ability and could attract bigger clubs than Hibs where he could get much better wages and being a young lad im sure he is getting all the usual nonsense poured in his ear by his agent etc and believing it all.

No, Fletch doesn't want a move. He is unhappy simply because the offer on the table doesn't bring him on a par with the high earners. Notably O'Brien.

I dont think for a minute that the likes of Kerr, Morais,Zemmama,Donaldson will ever think they will have the same market value as Fletch,Riorden etc.

What makes you think that Fletch or Riorden earn(ed) more than Kerr for instance?