Old 02-12-07, 16:49   #1

Casino cash: £1015
Torben Jeneliet?

After watching one of the most frustrating performances from a Hibs team in a good few years, there was basically the whole team mince today. The thing that gets me is - McCann is NEVER a centre half and never will be then we have Torben Joneliet on the bench(?) but not selected and nothing changed at half time when it was quite clear we were struggling from the 1st minute and were lucky to be 1-0 up IMO. Whats the point in this guy being at the club on loan if he is never going to be put in the team?? - ive never seen him play yet but Im sure he wouldnt have been as bad as McCann today.
Old 02-12-07, 16:51   #2

Casino cash: £2466
Re: Torben Jeneliet?

I agree that this was the game to see Torben.

He looked OK on the ball in the 1(?) game he has played this season..but couldnt header it...mind you..neither can McCann......

what happened to the young lad that played against Killie at ER? He look BRILL!

Any ideas?
gragil69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 16:57   #3

Casino cash: £1015

Forgot about him, he's another one who could have been put in - Darren McCormack, played well enough v Killie but not on the bench so not sure if he's injured.

I honestley dont understand the thinking behind McCann at CB though, Im still feckin annoyed at it!!

Why bring a guy on loan then never play him!
Old 02-12-07, 17:56   #4

Casino cash: £17520
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by F_Sauzee_4 View Post
Forgot about him, he's another one who could have been put in - Darren McCormack, played well enough v Killie but not on the bench so not sure if he's injured.

I honestley dont understand the thinking behind McCann at CB though, Im still feckin annoyed at it!!

McCanns about 5 foot 5 with his hands in the air. Why the fukk he was a centre back today is well beyond me.

Old 02-12-07, 18:02   #5
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £9935
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

No idea why why brought this guy.

Apparently highly rated, but hardly shone in his first starts at Hibs.
My impression of him was that he was not particularly good in the air for a big lad, and his passing was woeful.

However, he must have something.............

If he isn't good enough to deputise for Hogg/Jones then why bother with him.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 02-12-07, 18:05   #6

Casino cash: £5604

Its obvious that JC dosn't think he has the ability or him and McCann are em eh lovers
Old 02-12-07, 18:13   #7

Casino cash: £327

Where were Plans B and C today, sacking offence to play McCann at CB, quite simply.

Glad Aberdeen were shagged out after their EUFA cup exploits today, might have been seven otherwise
SAUZEH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 19:20   #8

Casino cash: £3173

It's not only Torben, did young Darren not say that 1 of the reasons he turned smelltic down was cause he was told his chances of 1st team football would be better at E.R? The pair of them must be fecking fuming tonite, I would be. And what does 2days game do for McCanns confidence?
Old 02-12-07, 23:42   #9

Casino cash: £4892

I cannot imagine that Monaco will be all that chuffed with the Joneleit situation. He is after all their player. He was loaned out to Hibs to get regular first team football and yet he has hardly kicked a ball since he arrived. He would have been as well just staying at Monaco. I suspect he will be punted back there in January.
Old 03-12-07, 00:22   #10

Casino cash: £30

Originally Posted by F_Sauzee_4 View Post

:
D McCormack was late for training on friday J.C and his puppet must have a good look at themselves. They are becoming a joke
striker9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 04:30   #11

Casino cash: £4822

Using the same starting 11, why not either play:-

McCann RB, Gattheussi CB

or more sensibly

MCann CM, Boozy CB - especially with Ehbirdeen leaving Severin on the bench.

Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 09:31   #12
Hi Skaramoosh, ya radge, kin yae dae the fandango?

Casino cash: £9539

Originally Posted by gragil69 View Post
I agree that this was the game to see Torben.

He looked OK on the ball in the 1(?) game he has played this season..but couldnt header it...mind you..neither can McCann......

what happened to the young lad that played against Killie at ER? He look BRILL!Any ideas?
It's a point i've been making for a few weeks now. Darren was outstanding as a replacement for Hogg in that game, his tackling, ability in the air, and his Murph like distribution should have warranted at least coming on as a late sub in subsequent games.
Old 03-12-07, 09:39   #13

Casino cash: £13013
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

It never worked even remotely, but I would at least try to justify McCann at CH. I'm assuming JC went with him because he felt that Aberdeen would play with a lone striker (which they did) and then Hogg would pick him up most of the time with McCann covering. In other words McCann should not have been having to win too much of the ball in the air, but should have been there to pick up any scraps. Where I could see the other bit of the justification for it was that McCann is a better passer of the ball than either Jones or Hogg so you would have thought that the service into the midfielders would have been better than they usually provide.

An experiment which won't be repeated in all likeliehood but I could at least see what I think was the reasoning behind it.

Joneleit was obviously not getting a chance the second that McCormack played in front of him earlier in the season imo. We'd have been as well ending his loan at that time. Could definitely see us getting at least one new central defender in in January with him going back to the grind in Monaco

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 03-12-07, 09:41   #14

Casino cash: £7310

Originally Posted by mixu_dave View Post
It's not only Torben, did young Darren not say that 1 of the reasons he turned smelltic down was cause he was told his chances of 1st team football would be better at E.R? The pair of them must be fecking fuming tonite, I would be. And what does 2days game do for McCanns confidence?
Good points all. The Joneleit situation is a mystery to me. I would not be surprised to see him recalled to Monaco in January either because what is the point of him playing in the reserves or sitting on the bench when he could do that at Monaco? If he and McCormack can't get a game at CH if front of McCann then when will they get a game?
GalegoHibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:56   #15

Casino cash: £1748

Originally Posted by striker9 View Post
:
D McCormack was late for training on friday J.C and his puppet must have a good look at themselves. They are becoming a joke
if he's been dropped (from squad) because o that its a fucking disgrace( yes a fine i agree with). taking 1 spare center (it appears that he is not getting a look in) half up to aberdenn over sat night and leaving us open what happened yesterday. well done collins yah fud it came back and bit yer arse!
DM Hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 12:24   #16

Casino cash: £4522

Originally Posted by Bampotto View Post
Using the same starting 11, why not either play:-

McCann RB, Gattheussi CB

or more sensibly

MCann CM, Boozy CB - especially with Ehbirdeen leaving Severin on the bench.

Boozy centre back and McCann in centre midfield I thought was a gimmie when the team was announced and I was even laughing at the commentators making complete fools of themselves by not doing their homework properly by realising Boozy has in the past been quite a useful central defender and McCann this season almost a midfield regular.

Crocker and Booth soon wiped the smug smile from my coupen

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 12:27   #17

Originally Posted by DM Hibs View Post
if he's been dropped (from squad) because o that its a fucking disgrace( yes a fine i agree with). taking 1 spare center (it appears that he is not getting a look in) half up to aberdenn over sat night and leaving us open what happened yesterday. well done collins yah fud it came back and bit yer arse!
And if discipline is a big thing with JC (which it is safe to say it seems to be) then what do you suggest he should do?

And do you think McCormack will be late for training again knowing that he missed out on a chance to get a first team place because of it?

Old 03-12-07, 12:32   #18

Casino cash: £29448
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
And if discipline is a big thing with JC (which it is safe to say it seems to be) then what do you suggest he should do?

And do you think McCormack will be late for training again knowing that he missed out on a chance to get a first team place because of it?
But that's punishing the team and us the support.

Better would have been to hit him in the back pocket..
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 13:14   #19

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
But that's punishing the team and us the support.
Better would have been to hit him in the back pocket..
Short term, maybe. Medium and long term it's sending players a message that if someone has acted unprofessionally they won't play. Something that should be happening anyway imo.

I don't even know how true it is that he was dropped for being late for training. But if he was, what if the bit of training he missed was how to work on defending set pieces against Aberdeen as a team? What if he missed the stretching bit which has perhaps been responsible for us not having many injuries this season?

And we have no way of knowing whether this was the first time he'd been late and he'd been fined before with no apparent effect so this was a step up in terms of punishment. Maybe continually being late for training is the reason he's not had another game since his impressive debut...

We don't know any of these things. Pure guesswork on my part, and presumably on others as well. To add a further bit of guesswork, Jones got injured on Saturday so presumably it wasn't thought to be a big decision at the time to tell McCormack he wasn't getting in the squad for the game yesterday...

Old 03-12-07, 14:17   #20

Casino cash: £2577

Originally Posted by SlovSam View Post
Boozy centre back and McCann in centre midfield I thought was a gimmie when the team was announced and I was even laughing at the commentators making complete fools of themselves by not doing their homework properly by realising Boozy has in the past been quite a useful central defender and McCann this season almost a midfield regular.

Crocker and Booth soon wiped the smug smile from my coupen
That makes the defeat a bit more bearable at least, oh that and the fact that the Yams are now into the bottom 6 as well
Gimme gimme gimme gimme gimme

Cos, I'm all right, I'm all right
Union Jack, fly the flag
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-07, 16:39   #21

Casino cash: £1748

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
i have it on good authority that darren was not late for training. he doesnt know why he was not in travelling squad.
DM Hibs is offline   Reply With Quote