Old 02-12-07, 16:42   #1

Casino cash: £460
Manager and Assistant to Blame

Having watched todays debacle hopefully we can now have a reasonable debate about the ability of our manager and his assistant.
Fistly, we have a budget which is above that of all Scottish teams outwith The Old Firm and Hearts. The players brought in with that budget have been poor to say the least. It is easy to be critical but none of the signings are Hibs standard. We lose one centre back and we have to play McCann as a stopgap.The back four today was one of the worst we have seen for a long time and we have seen a few bad ones. The right back is out of his depth, McCann is not a centre back and Murphy was just going through the motions. Hogg was acceptable.We never once got the back four up to the half way line so that we could press the game. Passing the ball around in your own half is fine if it leads to freeing a player to get forward which we rarely did. We continually do it and find ourselves under pressure.The midfield consisted of Zemmama who is talented but a luxury player, Kerr who is clearly a first division player at best, Boozy, and Stevenson who is just a kid and has no threat going forward from a wide area. Fletcher still has much to learn but is our only real young talent and Curier is again not good enough for Hibs. Collins and Craig picked these players and as yet I don't see any of them being good enough. You can add Donaldson, Jonaleit, Noubisse, Morais and O'brien to the list of not good enoughs. Most of Hibs fans on here and the net blame the board but the point is our manager and assistant have not done well in bringing in players.
Secondly and equally worrying is the feeling that all is not well behind the scenes. There are too many examples of players not being happy since Mowbray left. On the pitch today there was no spirit and will to win on display. Players were not busting a gut to help each other as the Aberdeen players were. Murphy, Benji and Boozy looked distictly unhappy for whatever reason.
Football games are won by teams who have passion, strength, team spirit, skill, good habits, and will to win. We are sadly lacking in some of these attributes.
Tactically we are naive to say the least.
Hibs are being let down by our management team.
LSHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 16:45   #2

Casino cash: £2727
Re: Manager and Assistant to Blame

Originally Posted by LSHS View Post
Having watched todays debacle hopefully we can now have a reasonable debate about the ability of our manager and his assistant.
Fistly, we have a budget which is above that of all Scottish teams outwith The Old Firm and Hearts. The players brought in with that budget have been poor to say the least. It is easy to be critical but none of the signings are Hibs standard. We lose one centre back and we have to play McCann as a stopgap.The back four today was one of the worst we have seen for a long time and we have seen a few bad ones. The right back is out of his depth, McCann is not a centre back and Murphy was just going through the motions. Hogg was acceptable.We never once got the back four up to the half way line so that we could press the game. Passing the ball around in your own half is fine if it leads to freeing a player to get forward which we rarely did. We continually do it and find ourselves under pressure.The midfield consisted of Zemmama who is talented but a luxury player, Kerr who is clearly a first division player at best, Boozy, and Stevenson who is just a kid and has no threat going forward from a wide area. Fletcher still has much to learn but is our only real young talent and Curier is again not good enough for Hibs. Collins and Craig picked these players and as yet I don't see any of them being good enough. You can add Donaldson, Jonaleit, Noubisse, Morais and O'brien to the list of not good enoughs. Most of Hibs fans on here and the net blame the board but the point is our manager and assistant have not done well in bringing in players.
Secondly and equally worrying is the feeling that all is not well behind the scenes. There are too many examples of players not being happy since Mowbray left. On the pitch today there was no spirit and will to win on display. Players were not busting a gut to help each other as the Aberdeen players were. Murphy, Benji and Boozy looked distictly unhappy for whatever reason.
Football games are won by teams who have passion, strength, team spirit, skill, good habits, and will to win. We are sadly lacking in some of these attributes.

Rubbish
Old 02-12-07, 16:50   #3
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £22196
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

We played like this at times under Mowbray too
Old 02-12-07, 16:51   #4

Originally Posted by kev1875 View Post
Rubbish
Explain which bits are rubbish
Old 02-12-07, 16:52   #5
Semolina Pilchards radge

Casino cash: £550
Rep Power: 11 Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

I thought Hoggy put in a good shift.
Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 16:52   #6

Casino cash: £1840

OH YES WE DO!!
Name another team that has as brought in millions over the last few seasons,and commands average gates of around 14000.Its just uncle rodney hoarding the cash which is holding us back and forcing jc/tc into the bargain basement of transfers.
Old 02-12-07, 16:54   #7
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £9570
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Collins makes some strange decisions for sure.
We DO have a decent budget, but to make an unproven winger out top earner is one of the strangest decisions he has made. But that may have been before he stuck young McCann in the middle of the defence with Joneleit on the bench. McCann is a decent right back. Not a midfielder. DEFINITELY not a centre half.
Morais I think may prove to be decent – he is just a hairs breadth away from clicking and really getting a wee run in the team.
Murphy Benji and Boozy ARE unhappy. (O’Briens wages and the offers put in front of them may be the problem?) You must have HD telly if you spot that they looked unhappier than the rest though – particularly at the end of the game.
Collins is still learning. Give him a break.

But tell him he’d better learn fast!!

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 02-12-07, 16:54   #8

Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by THE GAZZETTE View Post
OH YES WE DO!!
Name another team that has as brought in millions over the last few seasons,and commands average gates of around 14000.Its just uncle rodney hoarding the cash which is holding us back and forcing jc/tc into the bargain basement of transfers.
So we don't really have a budget
Old 02-12-07, 16:56   #9

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink View Post
Collins makes some strange decisions for sure.
We DO have a decent budget, but to make an unproven winger out top earner is one of the strangest decisions he has made. But that may have been before he stuck young McCann in the middle of the defence with Joneleit on the bench. McCann is a decent right back. Not a midfielder. DEFINITELY not a centre half.
Morais I think may prove to be decent – he is just a hairs breadth away from clicking and really getting a wee run in the team.
Murphy Benji and Boozy ARE unhappy. (O’Briens wages and the offers put in front of them may be the problem?) You must have HD telly if you spot that they looked unhappier than the rest though – particularly at the end of the game.
Collins is still learning. Give him a break.

But tell him he’d better learn fast!!
I think Benji thinks he is too good for the team , did you notice his shit pass then throwing his arms about blaming others instead of trying to get the ball back.
He does my nut in at times
Old 02-12-07, 16:56   #10

Casino cash: £984

We are desperate for a keeper,
hibby fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 17:01   #11

Casino cash: £3205

Originally Posted by LSHS View Post
A lot of points in there I agree with. Hogg gave away some stupid fouls today with rash challenges.
Total lack of fight from the team and obvious lack of ability from Kerr. Stevenson looked like a boy against men again and Boozy was obv thinking of when his next ride is coming now the bairn is oot.
Curier did OK for me but isnt up to the required standard. Too many didnt fancy it.

I am sure you are right about the wage budget but remember there are dafties who think aberdeen and united are paying players 4k a week. The wages we offer might not allow us premiership players but there are better players available than what "contacts all over the world" Collins and Craig have came up with.
dc_hibs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 17:06   #12

Casino cash: £603
Rep Power: 4 kaiser sauzee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by hibby fan View Post
Why? Other than the Aberdeen game at Easter Road what has he done wrong?
Old 02-12-07, 17:11   #13

Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
I think Benji thinks he is too good for the team , did you notice his shit pass then throwing his arms about blaming others instead of trying to get the ball back.
He does my nut in at times

He was a bit petulant last season, and I hoped he would outgrow it this season. His early form suggested he had.
Following his ambitious statements at the start of the season his form has dipped/injuries/ramadan and he is once again acting the huffy teenager on the park.

A great talent - but he does my nut in at times too!

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 02-12-07, 17:13   #14

He was a bit petulant last season, and I hoped he would outgrow it this season. His early form suggested he had.
Following his ambitious statements at the start of the season his form has dipped/injuries/ramadan and he is once again acting the huffy teenager on the park.

A great talent - but he does my nut in at times too!
I posted on a previous thread about Benji feeling he was too good for us, Dr Shrink felt I was maybe telling Porkie Pies about that However, I think he is a great talent and really hope we see the best of him at Easter Road
Old 02-12-07, 17:15   #15

Casino cash: £5439

Originally Posted by hibby fan View Post
If it wasn't for big Maka making a lot of decent saves we would have got beat by double figures.

Whats your problem with big Maka?
Old 02-12-07, 17:20   #16

Originally Posted by stickyRicky View Post
If it wasn't for big Maka making a lot of decent saves we would have got beat by double figures.

The goalie is the least of our problems
Old 02-12-07, 17:33   #17

Originally Posted by kaiser sauzee View Post
I posted on a previous thread about Benji feeling he was too good for us, Dr Shrink felt I was maybe telling Porkie Pies about that However, I think he is a great talent and really hope we see the best of him at Easter Road
That's thetrouble with bloody smilies.....

I was really suggesting that it was Benji telling porkies if he thought he was too good and was off to join some sort of european elite club.

Old 02-12-07, 17:37   #18

That's thetrouble with bloody smilies.....

I was really suggesting that it was Benji telling porkies if he thought he was too good and was off to join some sort of european elite club.

No worries mate, we'll travel together to Madrid to watch him as Hibs Real Madrid Benji FC supporters club
Old 02-12-07, 17:41   #19

Casino cash: £2856

Originally Posted by stickyRicky View Post

Thought he was one of our better players today, made quite a few decent saves, cant really blame him for the goals.
too_many_djs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 17:45   #20

Originally Posted by too_many_djs View Post
Thought he was one of our better players today, made quite a few decent saves, cant really blame him for the goals.
He was fine - if you really wanted to hunt him you could say he was a tad slow at the third goal, but not as slow as the defence was to close down the gay boyband member resembling sheepshagger.

Pillow biting popster

Spawny mutton molester

Old 02-12-07,