Old 03-12-07, 09:56   #41
Baradge of fire

Bannox will become famous soon enough
Re: Manager and Assistant to Blame

Don't think Makalambay was at fault for any of those goals yesterday, but hey, he's an easy target I suppose
I watched the whole debacle on Ziteli (didnt even leave after the 3rd went in
)

The team as a whole played without any kind of committment, the stadium was empty and the whole thing had the feel of a reserve game.

Hogg, to me looked nervous for some strange reason and gave away far too many free kicks and wayward passes,
Maka, i thought had a decent game with the shit protection in front of him and IMHO was not at fault for any of their goals,
McCann was just clearly out of his depth..
I wont go on about everyone.........

It was just a really bad showing today and happily they are a lot fewer these days than in recent times, that team was not My Hibs today and will be stored away in the 'WTF was that File'

Only 3 losses so far, i'll keep on keeping the faith if you don't mind,

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 10:18   #42

I watched the whole debacle on Ziteli (didnt even leave after the 3rd went in
)

The team as a whole played without any kind of committment, the stadium was empty and the whole thing had the feel of a reserve game.

Hogg, to me looked nervous for some strange reason and gave away far too many free kicks and wayward passes,
Maka, i thought had a decent game with the shit protection in front of him and IMHO was not at fault for any of their goals,
McCann was just clearly out of his depth..
I wont go on about everyone.........

It was just a really bad showing today and happily they are a lot fewer these days than in recent times, that team was not My Hibs today and will be stored away in the 'WTF was that File'

Only 3 losses so far, i'll keep on keeping the faith if you don't mind,

It was exactly the sort of performance which we turned in a few times a season under Mowbray tbh. Under Collins those sorts of performances have been few and far between. If we have been having a mare collectively under JC we've tended to become a bit more compact and at least make it a bit more difficult for the other team. Didn't happen yesterday.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 03-12-07, 10:58   #43

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

What you will see on the t.v you will notice maka just stands there thinking its going over then he turns round and notice its in the net as i just said its not just this game it was last weeks game to but i will give him credit for the save he made before the sheep scored
I've just watched the highlights and quite frankly, I haven't a clue what you're talking about.
Foster and Clark worked the ball down their left and Clark put in a perfect cross that cut out the keeper. What do you expect Ma-Kalamby to do?

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 11:01   #44

500miles will become famous soon enough

I'm really wanting us to sign this magical goalie who can be at his front and back post, and collect every single cross that goes into the 18 yard box at exactly the same time.

Blaming the keeper today when the untouchables in the team of Murphy, Hogg, and Boozy all had absolutely horrendous games which wouldn't have got them a game for fucking Gretna is frankly mind boggling to me in all honesty.
He was actually doing this at one point today when Aberdeen took a quick free kick while he was sorting his wall and he managed to cover the whole of his goal. He's a good keeper and an excellent prospect.

500miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 11:13   #45

I've just watched the highlights and quite frankly, I haven't a clue what you're talking about.
Foster and Clark worked the ball down their left and Clark put in a perfect cross that cut out the keeper. What do you expect Ma-Kalamby to do?
Grow 5 feet and become about 11 foot 7, just as long as he doesn't lose the ability to get down to balls would be my guess. Whilst this would obviously be desirable, I'm not sure how realistic this expectation is...

Glue sniffing appears to be re-gaining popularity...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 03-12-07, 11:17   #46

He was actually doing this at one point today when Aberdeen took a quick free kick while he was sorting his wall and he managed to cover the whole of his goal. He's a good keeper and an excellent prospect.
That was a decent save Maka pulled off from the free kick. It seems to be the same most weeks now, we lose a goal or three and suddenly Makalamby is the worst goalkeeper in the world.

Old 03-12-07, 11:28   #47

That was a decent save Maka pulled off from the free kick. It seems to be the same most weeks now, we lose a goal or three and suddenly Makalamby is the worst goalkeeper in the world.
What do you mean suddenly? He plays for Hibs so he's automatically awful to many Hibbies and has been since before they seen him.

We should sign Alan Combe, he's a Hibby!
Old 03-12-07, 11:42   #48

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

Playing McCann at centre half was a collosal mistake and was obvious from the kick-off, what annoys me is that Collins never made any effort to rectify it
Having said that, a few folk on here have wanted Jones out of the team for a while now, well today you got your wish
Criticism of Makalemby today is unjustified, Aberdeen had something like 27 attempts on goal FFS!
Old 03-12-07, 11:43   #49

baggageandfibs is on the way to a first team debut

What do you mean suddenly? He plays for Hibs so he's automatically awful to many Hibbies and has been since before they seen him.

The jury is out on maka for many and quite rightly imo. He's had a few shockers, some average and some good performances. I can't think off the top of my head where he has earned us points but I haven't been to any away games. Any MOM performances?

Even some of the games he has played average/well he has flapped, fluffed and got lucky. Happens to all keepers yes but he needs a run of gaffe free performances to earn my confidence after a horrific performance against the dons at er and several other heart in mouth moments along the way. Last week he was faultless for both goals but still managed to have a couple of 'moments' where he was nowhere. Yesterday thought he could have done better with the 3rd but was badly exposed by the 'defence'. I want him to do well but Hibs come first and we should be looking for a proven reliable keeper come jan imo. And no i don't have any suggestions as to who.
baggageandfibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 11:48   #50

Having watched todays debacle hopefully we can now have a reasonable debate about the ability of our manager and his assistant.
Fistly, we have a budget which is above that of all Scottish teams outwith The Old Firm and Hearts. The players brought in with that budget have been poor to say the least. It is easy to be critical but none of the signings are Hibs standard. We lose one centre back and we have to play McCann as a stopgap.The back four today was one of the worst we have seen for a long time and we have seen a few bad ones. The right back is out of his depth, McCann is not a centre back and Murphy was just going through the motions. Hogg was acceptable.We never once got the back four up to the half way line so that we could press the game. Passing the ball around in your own half is fine if it leads to freeing a player to get forward which we rarely did. We continually do it and find ourselves under pressure.The midfield consisted of Zemmama who is talented but a luxury player, Kerr who is clearly a first division player at best, Boozy, and Stevenson who is just a kid and has no threat going forward from a wide area. Fletcher still has much to learn but is our only real young talent and Curier is again not good enough for Hibs. Collins and Craig picked these players and as yet I don't see any of them being good enough. You can add Donaldson, Jonaleit, Noubisse, Morais and O'brien to the list of not good enoughs. Most of Hibs fans on here and the net blame the board but the point is our manager and assistant have not done well in bringing in players.
Secondly and equally worrying is the feeling that all is not well behind the scenes. There are too many examples of players not being happy since Mowbray left. On the pitch today there was no spirit and will to win on display. Players were not busting a gut to help each other as the Aberdeen players were. Murphy, Benji and Boozy looked distictly unhappy for whatever reason.
Football games are won by teams who have passion, strength, team spirit, skill, good habits, and will to win. We are sadly lacking in some of these attributes.
Tactically we are naive to say the least.
Hibs are being let down by our management team.

I sort of agree with you. And when i saw McCann in a central defensive position i said before the game that we where going to lose....We had no defence as Aberdeen put in attack after attack, the midfeild was not getting the balls to the strikers.....I felt Sheils should of started instead of Zemmama as he would of given us alot more than a light weight player like Zemmama who didn't really play the whole match......And Brian Kerr i have given him a chance and he really is shite i have the feeling JC is trying to play him in a Neil Lennon role but i isn't working and i would of rather seen Chishom there than him at least he knows how to pass the ball forward......Inverness this week and to be honest i dont think we are going to do anything up there unless our players start playing for the club!

Old 03-12-07, 11:50   #51

Maka actually pulled of some fantastic saves in this match and he was really the only player that stood out a wee bit above the rest and kept us in the match for quite a while but the 3rd goal really was a silly one to lose and he didn't even really need to dive to get it he should of just kicked it away.

Old 03-12-07, 11:52   #52

The jury is out on maka for many and quite rightly imo. He's had a few shockers, some average and some good performances. I can't think off the top of my head where he has earned us points but I haven't been to any away games. Any MOM performances?

Even some of the games he has played average/well he has flapped, fluffed and got lucky. Happens to all keepers yes but he needs a run of gaffe free performances to earn my confidence after a horrific performance against the dons at er and several other heart in mouth moments along the way. Last week he was faultless for both goals but still managed to have a couple of 'moments' where he was nowhere. Yesterday thought he could have done better with the 3rd but was badly exposed by the 'defence'. I want him to do well but Hibs come first and we should be looking for a proven reliable keeper come jan imo. And no i don't have any suggestions as to who.
He had a shocker against Aberdeen at home. So he could maybe be blamed for costing us two points.

He saved us a point at Tannadice. Made a couple of great saves against Celtic & Rangers which has gained us probably 5 points minimum from those games.

And he was our motm yesterday by a distance.
Old 03-12-07, 11:55   #53

Fair point Al. The 'Maka is a useless twat bandwagon' seems to rolling on and gathering pace, as you said in another post unless he starts to cover the back post, near post and at the same time come out to collect crosses [for really high ones, if he could leap like a salmon - no, a gazelle- that would help] He will get taken to task. Why the fekk people cant see past the 'we have/had a goalkeeping crisis over the last couple of years therefore all our goalies are p1sh' outlook is way beyond me.

Oh and you forgot the winking smiley after Combe

Old 03-12-07, 11:56   #54

baggageandfibs is on the way to a first team debut

He had a shocker against Aberdeen at home. So he could maybe be blamed for costing us two points.

He saved us a point at Tannadice. Made a couple of great saves against Celtic & Rangers which has gained us probably 5 points minimum from those games.

And he was our motm yesterday by a distance.
Fair enough, didn't see the rangers save but he did pull off a couple of cracking saves early doors against celtic
baggageandfibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 11:58   #55
Baradge of fire

Bannox will become famous soon enough

It was exactly the sort of performance which we turned in a few times a season under Mowbray tbh. Under Collins those sorts of performances have been few and far between. If we have been having a mare collectively under JC we've tended to become a bit more compact and at least make it a bit more difficult for the other team. Didn't happen yesterday.
Thats pretty much what i was trying to say

No doubt there will be one or two more very poor performances this season, i just hope that the players can hold their hands up at the final whistle and say 'WE Tried' or 'We Gave it 100%' which they clearly could not do yesterday

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-07, 12:01   #56

Fair point Al. The 'Maka is a useless twat bandwagon' seems to rolling on and gathering pace, as you said in another post unless he starts to cover the back post, near post and at the same time come out to collect crosses [for really high ones, if he could leap like a salmon - no, a gazelle- that would help] He will get taken to task. Why the fekk people cant see past the 'we have/had a goalkeeping crisis over the last couple of years therefore all our goalies are p1sh' outlook is way beyond me.

Oh and you forgot the winking smiley after Combe

Just one letter out Dub.

Maka is better than what we had before.
If we keep replacing players with 'improvements' then we should be fine.

Unfortunately we haven't managed that in other parts of the team.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 03-12-07, 12:09   #57

greencol will become famous soon enough

Fair enough, didn't see the rangers save but he did pull off a couple of cracking saves early doors against celtic
Make your mind up! Earlier in the thread he's pish, now he's the dogs bollocks!