Old 29-11-07, 12:14   #1

Hibernian Hall Of Fame - Front 2 Forwards Partnership - Discuss & Debate!

I just can't see beyond a Lawrie Reilly & Joe Baker front two.

Joe Baker playing for England whilst a Hibs player... Remarkable stuff.. More importantly his strike rate was incredible for us at Hibs in 2 spells. Also, i think i'm right in saying he scored 99 goals for Arsenal? A true Hibs legend. I had the pleasure of meeting him a few weeks before his sad death at Easter Road (1-0 10 Man Hibs v Yams Aug 2003) and what a Gent.

Lawrie Reilly. The name 'Lawrie Reilly' just says it all. "Gie The Ba Tae Reilly" was the cry and with his sensational goalscoring record no wonder. Absolutely incredible stuff. I had the great honour to sit beside this true legend and Pat Stanton at a Hibs V Killie fixture a couple of years back (3-0 Deeks hatrick). Unlike me i kept my mouth firmly shut and just listened to the two of them..

I had hoped to get Derek Riordan in the team but i just can't see past this front two of Joe Baker & Lawrie Reilly.

Others?
Old 29-11-07, 12:26   #2

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Hibernian Hall Of Fame - Front 2 Forwards Partnership - Discuss & Debate!

Nope that'll do.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 12:32   #3

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Lawrie Reilly & Joe Baker would walk into a Scottish/English/British hall of fame so they'd be prime choices for a Hibs one.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 12:46   #4

Out of the ones I've seen as an adult(ish
), I'm going to say Steve Archibald, Keith Wright, Riordan, and O'Connor all deserve at least a mention. With Darren Jackson just a wee bit behind them. As a bairn Ally McLeod was fecking magic. Lazy barsteward but a great player. Scored the best free kick I've ever seen when after getting made to re-take one he scored from, he simply put it in the opposite top corner. Now THAT'S pretty special (against Dundee maybe?)!

Out of the ones I've never seen in the flesh or at least cannae mind of, Jimmy O'Rourke, and Alan Gordon again deserve at least a mention.

But it's Lawrie Reilly & Joe Baker who pretty much have to win this imo. There's people born 50 years after he last played for us who are shouting Gie The Baw To Reilly nowadays ffs!
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 29-11-07, 12:46   #5

Willief is on the way to a first team debut

Lawrie Reilly & Joe Baker would walk into a Scottish/English/British hall of fame so they'd be prime choices for a Hibs one.
I agree 100%
Willief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 12:50   #6

Willief is on the way to a first team debut

Out of the ones I've seen as an adult(ish
), I'm going to say Steve Archibald, Keith Wright, Riordan, and O'Connor all deserve at least a mention. With Darren Jackson just a wee bit behind them. As a bairn Ally McLeod was fecking magic. Lazy barsteward but a great player. Scored the best free kick I've ever seen when after getting made to re-take one he scored from, he simply put it in the opposite top corner. Now THAT'S pretty special (against Dundee maybe?)!

Out of the ones I've never seen in the flesh or at least cannae mind of, Jimmy O'Rourke, and Alan Gordon again deserve at least a mention.

But it's Lawrie Reilly & Joe Baker who pretty much have to win this imo. There's people born 50 years after he last played for us who are shouting Gie The Baw To Reilly nowadays ffs!
Again agree 100% I would add the partnership of Jukebox and Stevie Cowan.
Have to mention Mixu and David Zitelli even if just for the 6-2 game.
Willief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 13:02   #7
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

Nor can I. For me the pair are an absolute stick-on.

For the purpose of the debate though I'd throw in Stevie Archibald, Jimmy O'Rourke and Alan Gordon.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 13:31   #8

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Can we not have 5 subs with this team?

Say 1 defender 2 mid 2 forwards.Bugger to the goalie,we are Hibs,we attack!

There has been a lot of special players mentioned that cant get in the team due to the excellence of legends.

Baker and Reilly without a doubt.

Last edited by beefy; 29-11-07 at 14:13.
Old 29-11-07, 13:47   #9

Can we not have 5 subs in this team?
Once we've debated, voted and decided on our top 11 i think we should debate, vote and decide on subs.

Old 29-11-07, 13:50   #10

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Once we've debated, voted and decided on our top 11 i think we should debate, vote and decide on subs.

I vote for Dean Shiels
The best sub we've ever had!

Old 29-11-07, 14:09   #11
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

No contest here , Lawrie and Joe for me.

In years to come, I hope my avatar will be of Hibs two greatest forwards! (sorry Joe!).

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 14:52   #12

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

is there even any need for a debate or vote on this?
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 14:55   #13

Alan Gordon, Jimmy O'Rourke, Riordan and Joe McBride snr would have been among the few who came close in my book but even they are eclipsed by a Baker/Reilly combo. Again I never did see Reilly playing but my Dad raved about him. Baker, I only saw during his second spell at Hibs but that was good enough for me.

Old 29-11-07, 18:03   #14

Alexc1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Sorry; the Jimmy O'Rourke and Alan Gordon partnership as brilliant and exciting as it was has to be second to Lawrie and Joe.
So many great Hibees left out of the team! I'm hoping that there will a poll of all time dyed in the wool Hibees team as Jimmy has to get in that team somewhere! although the front two of Baker and Reilly qualify for that too.
Alexc1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 18:11   #15

ChopperLaw is on the way to a first team debut

Joe Baker playing for England whilst a Hibs player... Remarkable stuff.. More importantly his strike rate was incredible for us at Hibs in 2 spells. Also, i think i'm right in saying he scored 99 goals for Arsenal? A true Hibs legend. I had the pleasure of meeting him a few weeks before his sad death at Easter Road (1-0 10 Man Hibs v Yams Aug 2003) and what a Gent.

Lawrie Reilly. The name 'Lawrie Reilly' just says it all. "Gie The Ba Tae Reilly" was the cry and with his sensational goalscoring record no wonder. Absolutely incredible stuff. I had the great honour to sit beside this true legend and Pat Stanton at a Hibs V Killie fixture a couple of years back (3-0 Deeks hatrick). Unlike me i kept my mouth firmly shut and just listened to the two of them..

I had hoped to get Derek Riordan in the team but i just can't see past this front two of Joe Baker & Lawrie Reilly.

Others?
Great thread you have got going here smurf........ really hats off

But come on buddy to use Riordans name in the same breath as TRUE HIBEES LEGENDS such as Baker & Reilly !!....... Maybe if he had stayed put or at least for another few seasons....

But as they say .... the rest is history.....

However I must admit that of the strikers I have actually witness myself in the flesh wearing the grean & white of the hibees , then yes Riordan would be in ..
ChopperLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 18:45   #16

stickyRicky is on the way to a first team debut

O'Connor and Riordan would be my first choice but Mixu and Zitteli were also good and remember wee Tam and Brewster

Also Darren Jackson and Keith Wright almost forgot
Old 29-11-07, 19:05   #17
Radgie, Gadgie, Onion Badgie Radge

Wheat Hound is on the way to a first team debut

As with all my choices thus far, I'm only picking those I've seen in my hibee lifetime. Therefore my pick is Keith Wright and Derek Riordan. Both great natural goalscorers but I think they would have been a smashing partnership, what with Keef's power and hard work and Deek's eye for goal and free kick skills.

My final 11 then:

Leighton

Whittaker Rae Hunter Murphy

Weir Sauzee Latapy Collins

Wright Riordan
Wheat Hound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-07, 19:14   #18

hfc-bee is on the way to a first team debut

welll.................since am only 13

:

and not liked football for long

i would say o'connor and riodan

first hibs game hibs dunfermile 1-1 o'connor riordans was offside
hfc-bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-07, 10:28   #19

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

Alan Smart??