Bounce Admin
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
HIBS boss John Collins today insisted the SFA shouldn't shy away from naming a foreign manager as successor to Alex McLeish - provided he is fluent in English.
[Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Re: Collins: national boss doesn't have to be a Scot
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. and if anyone wants to start a Stop Souness petition then just point me in the right direction. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
vCash: 500 Thanks: 9
I dont agree with that the next manager should be a Scot as foriengers never seem to be right and with vital world cup qualifiers we cant afford to appoint a manager who doesn't have a clue about Scotish football.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. We are hibernian fc , we hate jam tarts and we hate dundee we will fight wherever we will be, because we are the mental HFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The only team to sing about, the only team to see, the only team in Edinburgh, HibernianFC To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. In your Gorgie slums, you rake the bucket for something to eat, you find a dead rat and you think its a treat, in your Gorgie Slums To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Capital Greens Needs You
George Graham should get the job IMO.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. or because he doesn't have a good track record which of course he does To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. but on the grounds that he has been out of mainstream football (especially domestically) to long and also the age factor in relation to gelling with our vibrant team. GG is a good candidate no doubt To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. but I'd prefer someone from within the Scottish game, of a much younger age and who has been 'succesful' within Scotland and isn't tainted by being part of the Old firm mafia. Harry Potter for me. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. especially as he is dour enough to more than match Smith and Mcleish. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The problems with the scotland job is its not held in that high a regard now, or maybe thats the case with all or most international posts, but to have your last 2 managers leave to take over at club level when they both still had plenty of time left on their contracts and were going to be offered extensions for reviving the national squad suggests its become a stop gap for managers who are out of work, if the likes of mark mcghee billy davies or even harry potter get the job and carry on with the progress which they more than likely will with our present squad then when vacancies arise in the english prem there going to be linked with the positions, out of that bunch who thinks they'd stay with scotland if others come calling?
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Then the other side of the coin is the likes of souness who's out of work but a big name who'd likely stay with us cause no other ****s will have the useless fecker
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. good 2 b To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
GG or Mark McGhee for me. Souness can GTF shouldn't be allowed anywhere near the job. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002
vCash: 500 Thanks: 3
Between the crosses, row on row, That mark our place: and in the sky The larks, still bravely singing, fly Scarce heard amid the guns below. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I feel certain the job will go to Souness...
wouldn't say no to Mark McGhee, better credentials than Gary Macallister
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
That fat gunt Salmond could fit it in with his other two part-time jobs. He does speak a sort of English but he might have trouble getting his gob round Sunshine on Leiff if the fans started singing it again.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
One of my mates has just e-mailed me saying that he has heard that Alex Miller is being approached for it
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Good grief Charlie Brown as they say...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. A dark horse perhaps. To be honest it's no worse as a suggesion than Graham or Souness. |
Touching From A Distance Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
I think Harry Potter is favourite.
At least he knows the Scottish game. McGhee another possible. Was Strachan not touted last time around? If Strachan might Celtic want JC? |
![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
Souness will probably end up getting the position but I would hate that. We need someone who is has not been out of work for so long and someone who can continue in the way we have been going for the last year.
McGee or Davies are OK candidates and id pluck for the latter if I had to pick right now. Definetly has to be a Scot, we done so well because of our national pride, our never give up attitude and the desire of our players to take Scotland to staggering heights. Sucess depends on keeping stability in a 'can pick its self' team and we just need someone to take over the helms and steady the ship (a bit like NR if everyone would just let them get on with it To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ). I know it would be pretty hard but I reckon getting Davies in with Tommy Burns or even trying to lure McCoist back would be the way to go. They guys know they could walk in and lift the dressing room easily and just as easily walk back into club footbal afterwards. Everyone is thinking about themselves at the end of the day. |
Isn't it about time that anyone ever associated with the huns is completely ignored for the Scotland manager job (thereby conveniently removing Souness, Billy Davies, & Alex Miller as remote possibilities!)? The last two managers never batted an eyelid at jumping ship at the first opportunity. And they were both huns. So get them tae feck.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
I agree with Collins. aye, feels weird typing that.
The most important thing is no how Scottish the candidate is, it's their track record. I'd even take an Englishman (Roy Hodgson springs to mind). Of the names bandied about so far, I'd rather eat my own liver than have Souness in charge, George Graham makes Alex Miller look like the most attacking manager in Europe and hasn't had a job in what, 5 or 6 years? Billy Davies is murder, Levein I don't think should get it, Dalglish isn't interested, Jeffries isn't tactically aware enough, Jordan is more defensive than Graham... Burley would be the best shout out of the Scots mentioned I think. The SFA need to invest time, and money, in looking at the candidates as it's a pretty good gig in International terms now that we're riding high in the rankings. If it's a foreigner, the only credentials should be a good grasp of English ( one of Berti's main failings) and a track record of achievement at International or European Club level.