Old 23-11-07, 21:08   #1

The Dnipro Kids Christmas Appeal

Its that time of year again, where we all over indulge, spend way too much cash and generally have a good time.

This year has been a good year for Dnirpo Kids, with some great support continuing from the Hibernian Family and bolstered by the loons fi Aiberdeen.

As many of you know, Christmas falls on January 7th on Dnipropetrovsk. We at the appeal try to ensure that a least a couple of the committee spend Ukrainian Christmas with the kids, this year is no different with two of the team heading out there.

This year, Parcel Company [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] have came good, they have offered to deliver, FREE of Charge one pallet to Dnipro. which they will collect within the Edinburgh area and deliver straight to our helpers out there.

This is where you guys come in, we need a bit of help?

In order to get the pallet out there, we are looking for a bit of support in a number of ways:

1) We are looking for someone, who maybe owns or works in a warehouse, who can provide a pallet and then 'palletise' said pallet for us. We do have an offer which is out of town, but an Edinburgh based facility would help us greatly. We will bring the boxes of clothes to the facility and UPS will uplift the pallet.

2) Cardboard boxes - Again we have an offer of some boxes out of town, but we could do with someone in the trade to collect maybe a couple of dozen flat packed boxes for us?

3) Donations - Many of you will know, we have had brilliant support over the years for babies clothes and related items, this is ongoing and we really appreciate it. We thought this time we would look to collect clothes for the older kids in our Orphanage, Odinkovka. The kids age from anywhere from 5 to 16 and we have a around 50 50 boy/girl split.

What we hoped to do was send new or nearly new (ie very good condition) out to the kids of the various age groups. Things we were thinking of were Tracksuits, Hoodies, Jumpers, Trousers and Jeans and suchlike. Winters in Dnipropetrovsk can reach -20 and we would love to ensure every wee bairn had at least a change of warm clothes. We already buy the kids new coats and boots every winter, but we simply cannae fund full new wardrobes. Anyone in the 'ragtrade' who could help would be made most welcome!

If it sounds like we are being picky by asking for new or very good condition clothes, its because we want the best for the kids and if you dinnae ask, you dinnae get.

4) The last part of this big ask is for someone, again within Edinburgh Area to act as a collection point for us. Although we are a Hibs Orientated Charity, most of the Committee live out of town. We are looking for someone who has either a lock up or better a space at the back of a shop,where people can drop things off. Does such a person exist?

If you can help with any of the above, please leave a message on this thread or pm me and we can make arrangements.

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

1875 for the Dnipro Kids Committee