Old 22-11-07, 09:57   #1

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Hibernian Hall Of Fame - Right Back - Discuss & Debate!

I'm assuming we'd look at a traditional 4-4-2 system?

In that case we need a right back. I'm going to need help from fellow Bouncers to suggest names as in my 20 odd years as a regular at ER i can't think of any real outstanding candidate...

My favourite right back in my time at ER was Alan Sneddon. Perhaps not the best right back in our history but the guy was a good servant to the club. An honest pro. Gave 100%.

At that time he was kind of rivalled by Kevin Mcgee for the position.I remember the then club captain Jackie McNamara interviewed in Shoot! Magazine describing him as the kind of right back who likes to play the ball out of defence "rather than the traditional punt into the terracing..". I don't remember that much about him except that some Hun thug hooked him from the Ibrox terracing..

Other right backs i remember (need help!) from the 80's were Tommy McCintyre. Don't think this was his best position as shown by his semi-final Scottish Cup performance in 1989 v Celtic (day after Hillsborough disaster) where he was subbed within the first 30 Mins.. Liked 'Oh Tommy Tommy! Tommy Tommy Tommy Tommy McCintyre!' though as he bounced back to be a decent dentral defender for us and of course returned to Hampden to be a scoring cup winner for us.

Around this time Alex Miller tried Paul Kane at right back. I thought this was his best position for Hibs.

Willie Miller broke through in the early 90's (1990 v Celtic iirc) and pretty much occupied this position up until he buggered off after our relegation in 1998.. Pretty good coming forward (although doubt Lexo gave real encouragement..) and pretty solid in defence.

Then we have had Jimmy Bocco, Tom Smith, Derek Collins, Gary Smith, Alen Orman, De La Cruz, Steven Whittaker & Kevin McCann. I'd argue that some of them were never natural right backs in a million years..

I've watched John Brownlie on video and he looked a superb player. In my time at ER i suppose Willie Miller came the closest but i think my vote will be going to the Turnbull Tornado legend..

Others?
Old 22-11-07, 10:09   #2

Casino cash: £741
Re: Hibernian Hall Of Fame - Right Back - Discuss & Debate!

In my time I have to say the best right back I seen play for Hibs was Willie Miller!!!
Old 22-11-07, 10:11   #3
Spooky Admin Radge

Casino cash: £2974

Kevin McKee. Aye funny old lad, just never quite made it.

Tommy McIntyre was a centre back, he was never going to displace Miller & McLeish at Aberdeen so he used to get the odd game there at right back. Cue Bastard Face and the piece of nonsense that was the cup semi final.

Derek Collins, and Tom Smith were decent if far short of hall of famers.

This one is a no brainer:

Edinburgh Evening News - Sport - Hibs great’s mementoes up for sale

Born in Lanarkshire in 1923, Jock Govan was a Hibernian great who played a major part in one of the club’s most successful eras.

Playing at right-back, he lined up alongside Sir Matt Busby, Gordon Smith and Bobby Combe in the war-time side that only lost 16 matches at Easter Road between August 1940 and November 1948.

He was in the side that won the League Championship in 1947-48 and in successive seasons in 1950-51 and 1951-52. He was also a regular in the team that reached the Scottish Cup final in 1947.

Govan also won six full Scotland caps and appeared for the national team in matches against England, Wales, Switzerland, Belgium, France and Northern Ireland. The player left Hibs in 1954 when he was transferred to Ayr United, where he finished his active playing career.

He later worked at Ferranti’s weapons division in Crewe Toll before taking up a job as a mining engineer in Midlothian.
Even Onion wasn't that good.

Currently researching: Hibs in the second division 1932-1933. Can you help?
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 10:24   #4

Casino cash: £1201

Since I've been going to games the best I've seen would have to be Kano, with Willie Miller second.

Did he not score ten goals from his season in defence? Kano that is

I'm almost sure he got double figures in three years 1st as striker then a midfielder and finally as a defender.

But I could have just made that up.
Willief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 10:32   #5

Casino cash: £3661
Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

only lost 16 matches at Easter Road between August 1940 and November 1948

Now there is a stat I didnt know, impressive home form.

The winner will probably be either Govan or Brownlie, but seeing as I never saw either play for Hibs, I'm stuck with the usual candidates...Miller,Smith,Whittaker,De La Cruz etc. And none of them come close to what I could call hall of fame standard.A difficult choice.
Old 22-11-07, 10:33   #6

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

It's Whittaker of the players I've seen tbh. He had his flaws but he was a lot better than any of the others mentioned so far afaic.

I will be stunned if John Brownlie doesn't win this hands down going by what those a few years older than me have said to me previously though...

FWIW I think this is one of the ones where I think we could end up with a player far too recent as a lot of folk won't have seen Brownlie playing and hardly anyone will have seen Jock Govan.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
wee 162 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 10:40   #7

Casino cash: £3063

probably not a popular choice but I'd say Whittaker is the best right back I've seen play for us, Willie Miller ( billy bingham ) had his moments and I quite liked Sneddon but don't think he was that great.

would probably vote Brownlie though as I've seen a bit of him on video and he looked quality....
Old 22-11-07, 10:47   #8

Casino cash: £12608
Rep Power: 26 beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice

Whitty for me.
Old 22-11-07, 10:55   #9
Stu

Casino cash: £5155

One of the narrowest positions for debate I'd imagine this one. By repute, Jock Govan was certainly a 'great' and all due respect to him. Of the relatively modern era I liked Willie Miller and to some extent Whittaker but with the usual caveat of being a player perhaps slightly out of position.

For me there is only one choice - John Brownlie. I was fortunate enough to see him play and I'm sure anyone else in that position will agree that he was just tremendous. I believe Brownlie was world-class, not just international class. He was one of the players who helped re-define the full-back postion too, a true innovator.

There can be only one.
Old 22-11-07, 12:07   #10

Casino cash: £7900

I don't doubt Govan and Brownlie were great players and probably better than any I've seen at ER but I'm not too comfortable about voting on hearsay. Anyway, aren't we supposed to be voting for players we've actually seen?

It may not be the most fashionable right-on vote Hibswise but I can't think of anyone better than Whittaker to be honest. Willie Miller was always fully committed and deserves some praise for loyalty but maybe that was just because a better offer never came in for him as he wasn't as good a footballer as Whittaker. Also, I think Whitty was always pretty dignified at Hibs and in the way he left and looked genuinely happy and involved with the fans at the CIS cup win so think it will have to be SW for me.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 12:16   #11

Casino cash: £5474

Originally Posted by Stu View Post
One of the narrowest positions for debate I'd imagine this one. By repute, Jock Govan was certainly a 'great' and all due respect to him. Of the relatively modern era I liked Willie Miller and to some extent Whittaker but with the usual caveat of being a player perhaps slightly out of position.

For me there is only one choice - John Brownlie. I was fortunate enough to see him play and I'm sure anyone else in that position will agree that he was just tremendous. I believe Brownlie was world-class, not just international class. He was one of the players who helped re-define the full-back postion too, a true innovator.

There can be only one.
I'm with you Stu, it has to be 'Onion'. Seeing him bombing doon the slope

Des Bremner filled his boots but was better[ or maybe more famous] in midfield.

Did Bobby Smith play at R B for a while?
Old 22-11-07, 12:22   #12

Casino cash: £5931
vCash: 25700

DLC anyone

I'm undecided at the mo....
Old 22-11-07, 12:44   #13

Casino cash: £7200
Rep Power: 17 blue toon hibby has a spectacular aura aboutblue toon hibby has a spectacular aura about

John Brownlie for me by a country mile. No one in my football-watching life comes close. Aye, Whittaker was shaping up, McCann looks a solid defender, Willie Miller gave 100%, Sneddon was a good honest pro and Bobby Smith filled in admirably, as did Des Bremner - but as Stu said above, John Brownlie redefined the position. He had guts, positional awareness and pace. He was a master at hitting the bye-line and getting good crosses over. Admittedly, the calibre of the whole team then was good but I still don't think I've seen a better right back anywhere.
Old 22-11-07, 13:15   #14

Casino cash: £376

john brownlie by a country mile!
stroller 15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 13:18   #15
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10535
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Brownlie for me - particularly before he got his leg done.

Hope I get off this Tornadoes track soon............ but they were a decent side.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 22-11-07, 13:32   #16

Casino cash: £337

For Someone My Age , There Is Only One JOHN BROWNLIE

rps7062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 13:49   #17

Casino cash: £591
vCash: 39999

I'd go with whitty.
Old 22-11-07, 14:11   #18

Casino cash: £4917

Gotta be Brownlie.

Where's the poll?
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 14:29   #19

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Bampotto View Post
Gotta be Brownlie.

Where's the poll?
Each position is getting discussed one day, and the poll is going up the next for folk to have their vote.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
wee 162 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 15:09   #20

Casino cash: £4762

Be prepared for the NONE option in the poll as Hibs have had a real difficulty filling this postion in the last 50 years and it's quite an inditement that Govan and Brownlie are the only real candidates of genuine merit and fortunately both are outstanding Govan on heresay and Brownlie in the flesh.

'Billy 'Bingam' reminds me of the night we met the Hibs team on their Xmas night out and my pal also from Bingham knew Willie Miller from school and went up for a chat and was introduced to Ollie Gottskalsken.

Ollie went to the toilet and my pal not knowing much about football said to Willie 'What did you say the name of the goalie was again??

It's Ollie 'Gotskkkkkktnnn' slurred Willie

Naw it's Ollie Gsssallkkken' he tried again.

Aw F@@k it ' we just call him Ollie 'The Useless Goalie'

True story.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 16:38   #21
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Casino cash: £23251
Rep Power: 42 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by greencol View Post
Did Bobby Smith play at R B for a while?
Left back as i recall
Old 22-11-07, 18:04   #22

Casino cash: £5474

Originally Posted by SlovSam View Post
Be prepared for the NONE option in the poll as Hibs have had a real difficulty filling this postion in the last 50 years and it's quite an inditement that Govan and Brownlie are the only real candidates of genuine merit and fortunately both are outstanding Govan on heresay and Brownlie in the flesh.

'Billy 'Bingam' reminds me of the night we met the Hibs team on their Xmas night out and my pal also from Bingham knew Willie Miller from school and went up for a chat and was introduced to Ollie Gottskalsken.

Ollie went to the toilet and my pal not knowing much about football said to Willie 'What did you say the name of the goalie was again??

It's Ollie 'Gotskkkkkktnnn' slurred Willie

Naw it's Ollie Gsssallkkken' he tried again.

Aw F@@k it ' we just call him Ollie 'The Useless Goalie'

True story.
Were you awake when you posted this?

Chemically ass