View Poll Results: My Vote For Goalkeeper In The Hibernian Hall Of Fame Goes To
Jim McArthur 3 1.62%
Tommy Younger 8 4.32%
Alan Rough 15 8.11%
Jim Leighton 44 23.78%
Andy Goram 86 46.49%
Ronnie Simpson 4 2.16%
Daniel Andersson 10 5.41%
Yves Ma-Kalambay 7 3.78%
Andy McNeil 3 1.62%
Nick Colgan 5 2.70%
Voters: 185. You may not vote on this poll

Old 22-11-07, 00:06   #1

Hibernian Hall Of Fame - Goalkeeper - Vote Now!

As per Wee 162's excellent suggestion after a bit of debate we go to a vote.

Thought 10 options per position makes it fair. Any omission could be debated...

Following the debate i've decided to change my vote. Goram was probably our best Keeper but Leighton & Roughie were not too far behind and the 'character' arguement has brought about a change of opinion on my part as it's our 'Hall of Fame'...

So it's Jim Leighton for me.
Old 22-11-07, 01:24   #2
Radge Hibby Leither

leither#1 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Hibernian Hall Of Fame - Goalkeeper - Vote Now!

went for goram but if burridge was there would have voted for him
leither#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 03:50   #3

shandongreen is a jewel in the roughshandongreen is a jewel in the rough

jim herriot for me, a top goalie in a top team over a few years...but for the poll would take alan rough as he kept hibs in top leauge all by himself.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/newrep...treply&t=10968
shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 04:33   #4
Norwegian Hibs Radge

Norwayhibs hasnae upset anyone -yet

Andy Goram for me,by far the best keeper I have seen playing for Hibs.
Norwayhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 08:40   #5

tricky will become famous soon enough

plumped for Roughie over Leighton in the poll as I hold him in higher affection than any of the others, couldn't bring masel to vote for the jaked hun Goram despite his excellence for us.
Old 22-11-07, 09:42   #6
Off the fags and feeling Radge

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Jimbo Leighton, only because Goram is a #1 tool.

Also note that Goram still has over 50% of the vote, does this mean we're not all using the same criteria for voting?
Old 22-11-07, 09:42   #7

Kenny is on the way to a first team debut

Tommy Younger - so many games in an era when it was acceptable to shove the keeper over the line.
Old 22-11-07, 09:55   #8
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by southfieldhibby View Post

Also note that Goram still has over 50% of the vote, does this mean we're not all using the same criteria for voting?
Goram is a lot of things, some not even human.

However, I still remember the downright heroics he performed at times. If it were not for Andy Goram, I suspect the 7-0 songs would be consigned to oblivion.

He's a fucktoid of a person, but a goalie of unqestionable quality who did an unbelievable job for Hibs - including swelling the coffers during our darkest hours.

FWIW, I think he deserves the slack he's getting cut in this poll.

To put it in perspective, Bastard Face is much lower on my Hibee totum pole than Andy Goram.
Old 22-11-07, 10:00   #9
Off the fags and feeling Radge

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Sean View Post

However, I still remember the downright heroics he performed at times. If it were not for Andy Goram, I suspect the 7-0 songs would be consigned to oblivion.

He's a fucktoid of a person, but a goalie of unqestionable quality who did an unbelievable job for Hibs - including swelling the coffers during our darkest hours.

To put it in perspective, Bastard Face is much lower on my Hibee totum pole than Andy Goram.
No question he's the most talented goalie we've had Sean, but a Hall of Fame is about more than just talent is it no?Would he be welcomed back to ER as a matchday host like Pat & Lawrie for example?
Old 22-11-07, 10:00   #10

I suppose it's what we feel overall Mark?

Abilities, personality, character etc. Could be argued that ultimately it's what they done on the park for us that counts.

Not what they did elsewhere or what they do elsewhere..

That said i just couldn't vote Goram. Happy i've voted for Leighton.
Old 22-11-07, 10:07   #11
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

No question he's the most talented goalie we've had Sean, but a Hall of Fame is about more than just talent is it no?Would he be welcomed back to ER as a matchday host like Pat & Lawrie for example?
No, I don't think he would be welcomed back, certainly not with a large majority.

I think a hall of fame should be about Hibs Heroes though, not personal or human heroes. after all, there is a lot about most of our past heroes we know little about. I don't want to get into any debates about how saintly or odious some of our past players are/were (but that might be fun one day!) but if it is to be a true hall of fame of our greatest players, then I doubt whether us lot voting have the moral high horse to judge others on their lifestyles.

Of course if he's shunned just for being a Hun, then thats fair do's
Old 22-11-07, 10:21   #12

Went for Goram but i dont think Leighton was far behind in class, Hibs have mostly had good goalkeepers bar the last couple of seasons.

http://www.capitalgreens.co.uk/forum...;boardseen#new

Old 22-11-07, 10:37   #13

wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Sean View Post

He was also in large part responsible for the first ever trophy I seen us winning

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 22-11-07, 10:40   #14

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
He was also in large part responsible for the first ever trophy I seen us winning
Old 22-11-07, 11:01   #15
Stu

Stu will become famous soon enough

No question he's the most talented goalie we've had Sean, but a Hall of Fame is about more than just talent is it no? Would he be welcomed back to ER as a matchday host like Pat & Lawrie for example?
If he was treated anything like Joe Baker was I doubt he'd be interested.
Old 22-11-07, 12:42   #16

Kenny is on the way to a first team debut

Tommy Younger

Alan Rough

Jim Leighton

Andy Goram
Old 22-11-07, 12:49   #17

Hogg4Captain is on the way to a first team debut

Daniel Andersson Gave me that class night at Hampden
Hogg4Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 13:15   #18
Aged Radge

The Flying Pig is the best I've seen.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 22-11-07, 14:12   #19

Vini1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Goram is probably the best keeper but couldn't bring myself to vote for a fat loyalist b**tard
Old 22-11-07, 17:21   #20

k.manson is on the way to a first team debut

roughy wiz ma hero but goram was the man

we had an amazing period back then wi scotland keepers from the top all the way down the ranks

n anyway ye forgot to add budgie
k.manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-07, 18:20   #21

nabser is on the way to a first team debut

I have to vote for Andy Goram superb keeper,although off the field total wanker.
Old 22-11-07, 18:30   #22

Strontian Hibby is on the way to a first team debut