Casino cash: £30563 vCash: 10000
The Hibernian 11 Hall Of Fame?
Has it been done before on here?
If not i'd suggest that we should spend 24 hours debating each position starting with Goalkeeper. Then in 11 days we'll have debated it to death to get The Hibees Bounce Hall Of Fame 11.. |
Casino cash: £4477 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
Re: The Hibernian 11 Hall Of Fame?
going by the rule players i've only actually seen it has to be andy goram for me
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2004
Casino cash: £741 vCash: 0 Thanks: 32
Andy Goram for me....or Budgie purely for that save in the semi from mccoist after mo jo hit the post...
Spooky Admin Radge
Casino cash: £2974 vCash: 10000
Here's a list of all the cup final goalkeepers from the year dot
A McNeil D Andersson N Colgan J Leighton J Burridge A Rough J McArthur J Herriott Leslie Thomson Allan Tommy Younger Kerr Harper Allan Rennie McColl Tobin Goram was pretty exceptional, mind
Casino cash: £5155 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 18
May need a poll to come to a final decision?
With due respect to Lawrie Leslie who I'm not old enough to have seen and Ronnie Simpson who I am, I'll go for Andy Goram. Forget his off-pitch behaviour the man was a tremendous goalie. Certainly the best Scottish goalie I've seen. |
Casino cash: £5931 vCash: 25700 Thanks: 5
but great keepers played for hibs in european football without being cup winners
#7 | |||
Casino cash: £13303 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Very difficult to get one of these done without there ending up being a ridicilous bias towards modern players imo. You end up with the ludicrous situations where someone like Garry O'Connor gets picked in front of Lawrie Reilly because the majority of folk never seen Lawrie Reilly. Maybe the best thing would be two seperate polls for best ever, and best you've seen? The board could well go poll mental right enough ![]() On keepers, Goram that I've seen (even if he was a fat hun fuck) and probably Tommy Younger ever.
Casino cash: £3661 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
Andy Goram should win this quite easily, the best Scottish goalie I've ever seen let alone Hibs.
Jim McArthur - Don't recall that much about him tbh. Alan Rough - Loved this guy at Hibs. Lets be honest in his 5 years at Hibs we were a pretty mediocre team and without him i fear we would have been relegated. Saved us many times. I particularly remember one or two world class performances at Ibrox. Also a great sweeper. He is 4th in my list. Robin Rae - Don't recall that much about him. Did see him as a Hibs Supporter at Fir Park a couple of seasons ago. Tom Carson - Don't remember much at all. On loan for Roughie injured IIRC? Andy Goram - Unquestionably the best. He was world class. If he wasn't an arsehole he might have been at Manchester United long before he got the SOS call.. However, at Hibs he was an incredible keeper. I really remember a couple of incredible world class saves at Tynecastle in a New Years derby fixture. All the more amazing as he says he was pished the night before.. Chris Reid - Stayed at ER too long as an understudy IMO. I think he was better than he was.. (If that makes sense!) Jason Gardner - As Chris Reid. John Burridge - He played his part in a BIG way towards us winning the Skol Cup IMO. Great save in the semi v The Huns. A character and a decent keeper but no challenge to my top 5. Jim Leighton - a few disasters but overall a top quality keeper. He showed how much it meant to him (remember us beating Aberdeen in the Scottish Cup replay on Pens Feb '97?) to succeed. The back pass rule didn't help his game but for me he was second only to Goram. Ollie Gottskaltsen - Zibi saved him from going down as the worst of the lot (in terms of a regular starter). He could produce a bit of brilliance but he was the stuff of our worst nightmares IMO.. Nick Colgan - If only he could take a cross or command his area.. Still i don't recall many 'Ollie' or 'Zibi' moments.. He was a very compotent keeper. Wasn't my favourite player but he makes 5th best in my time as a Hibby. Tony Caig - He'll always be remembered for a particular game. He was though highly thought of at Newcastle so couldn't have been all that bad... Morton Hyldegaard - Did he start a game? Vaguely remember a friendly appearance.. Daniel Andersson - Top class keeper. Best in recent times. 3rd overall. A real loss. He had everything really. Probably as good as Leighton. Arguably better. If he had been offered a contract to stay... Simon Brown - Fat arsed useless disrespectful twat. Oh and a pish 'goalkeeper'. Zbigniew Malkowski - What really pissed me off about him - or should i say what does as he's still on our feckin books.. was his 'Not my fault' attitude. A shrug of his shoulder arms in the air.. Nonchalant Clown. I'd say though that as a shot stopper better than Simple Simon.. Andy Mcneil - He came in in very difficult circumstances and i thought he done a tremendous job. Cup winner anaw. Very capable shot stopper. Maybe not good enough to be our number one but certainly good enough IMO to establish himself in say the First Division and hey who knows where his career will go. Yves Ma-Kalambay - Still early days.. Not entirely convinced. However, overall he's done well. Aberdeen aside he's done well. Still young enough to improve and with good coaching could yet establish himself as a real quality keeper. So Andy Goram for me. |
Casino cash: £5494 vCash: 10000
Goram for me. Though JL was a close 2nd considering the battering he took at Man U.
Casino cash: £210 vCash: 2569749834
Goram has to be.
Leighton close second. Rough In 3rd place. all great keepers and all Scotland keepers as well. ![]()
Casino cash: £1201 vCash: 10000
Casino cash: £7200 vCash: 10000
Goram for me too - a complete arse but nevertheless a fantastic goalkeeper.
Casino cash: £5818 vCash: 10000
I'd have to agree with that. On the subject of Roughie, is it true that when Graham Souness made his debut for the huns at ER, every single player was booked apart from Roughie?!
Casino cash: £13303 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Him and Mickey Weir iirc. They weren't booked at the time it was a retrospective punishment based on the 19 man melee in the centre circle.
Casino cash: £893 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 5
They're certainly the top three, no arguments. I just think I'd put Alan Rough first in terms of a 'Hibernian Hall of Fame' because he played five years for us, and Goram just couldn't wait to get to Ibrox, while Leighton will always be thought of first and foremost as a Sheep. And Roughie had to play behind some really gruesome defences..... |
Casino cash: £3661 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
If we're taking all aspects of the person into account, Goram might not make it.Lightyears ahead as a goalkeeper, lightyears behind as person.
Formerly Cockney Radge
Casino cash: £2613 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Aye Roughie would get the vote for me if it was purely on keepers I remember seeing playing and their commitment to Hibs.
On pure ability and the "how the feck did he save that" barometer I'd have to plump (no pun intended) for Goram. Was unbelievable imho.
![]() Lots of my favourite players were pretty keek! ![]() |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2007
Casino cash: £1741 vCash: 10000
have to say goram myself, as much as it bokes me to say it. the guy even scored for us as well as keeping them out!
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: £5410 vCash: 10000