Casino cash: £4036 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
surreal experiance following hibs
think i can top anyone elses after this afternoon:
gordon brown was in liverpool doing some campaign work, we (labour students liverpool) got invited along for what was in a sense, a glorified photo opportunity. Anyway i met GB and instead of asking me about labour policy etc he said "oh, so what team do you support".....bit put out i simply muttered "hibs" at which point he exclaimed "really! have you sorted out that slope yet??" Spoke to him for a couple of minutes most of which was taken up by him talking about raith's victory in a cup a few years back talking to the PM about the hibees, anyone got anything odder?
![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
Casino cash: £1867 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
Re: surreal experiance following hibs
Hard to beat! What did you make of him?
seems like an alright bloke, quite approachable. bit of a stupid question to ask IMO but got a chance to chat about scottish football! Everyone else looked a bit stunned!
![]() Join Date: Aug 2005
Casino cash: £1867 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 2
He's a right enough Raith fan I know.
Just wondered if you got the impression he was going through the motions or whether you detected a human being there? I saw him give a speech at a miners rally in the Meadows about 20 years ago and was amazed at how Left he was then.I was impressed that he was a genuine seeming son of the manse socialist even tho I could never quite swallow that politik He seems now to have morphed into a middle -england vote seeker as power approached. I trust you told him that! ![]() ![]() ![]()
Casino cash: £6723 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 36
i went on a day trip to gent on friday past there and was wearing my hibs scarf. i wandered across one of the many same looking squares in the city and thought i heard a shout of "big yin" i thought id heard it so when i heard it again i turned round and someone asked me if i was wearing a hibs scarf... turned out said person was a hibs fan also in gent for a dance festival called i love techno... pretty odd. showed a few of my mates how big a team we are though!
hibees here hibees there |
you went to i love techno! How was it? Line up was superb this year.
Other odd experience was a few weeks before the semi final vs the yams i was in cambodia, absolutely mashed i started chatting to this bloke who lo and behold turned out to be a hibee who sat in the same section of the east!
![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
Casino cash: £534 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I was backpacking around Oz -
Went to a bar and started playing poker, a guy joined my table and noticed my scottish accent. The conversation quickly led to hibs and i soon found out he was acually my cousin i had never met before. He stayed in edinburgh most of his years and then moved to Oz recently. Considering the size of Oz - whats the chances of running into my cousin(and only relative over there) in a bar talking about hibs??
Casino cash: £6723 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 36
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2003
Casino cash: £4762 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Bit of a giveaway that one for a man seemingly so interested in Scottish football ![]() That's quite a similar story to that other part time Scotsman Blair when asked about his Newcastle supporting days claimed he used to sit in the Gallowgate end and cheer on the 'Toon' except that his aides had to hurriedly backtrack when the big European nights in question were actually before any seats were actually put in.![]() Salmond isnae much better as he probably thinks Donald Ford or Drew Busby is still the Hearts centre forward. Politicians ![]()
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge
Casino cash: £10540 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Maybe if big Marvin puts his healing hands on Gordon's head his brain will recover. Yeah Gogs. You are a real Scottish Football Fan eh!
![]() For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Casino cash: £2233 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: £892 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
TBF, it was seven years ago, and by that time he would have been living in London. How important was The end of our slope to a London based Raith fan? My History teacher when to University with GB. Supposedly a good guy, very intelligent, and not at all "dour" in person.
Casino cash: £12006 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
![]() ![]() ![]() |
I did have a scuffle with a Gunt in a bar in Jakarta though. ![]() |
Casino cash: £30563 vCash: 10000
In Amsterdam last year on a stag weekend. All my other mates were back at the hotel but me and a mate found ourselves in some real sleaze joint that was a fantastic bar. Lots of odd looking dodgy characters but a fantastic underground atmosphere.
We got chatting to a group of girls from The States who were travelling all over Europe. One suddenly says "Do you guys like Football?" Then ensued a bit of banter between me and my Yam mate... The American bird then says "Oh i love the Hibees! How's Tom McManus doing?" Maybe it was the alcohol or perhaps the other substances but i found this so funny. As indeed my mate. Turns out her sister lived in Edinburgh and as her boyfriend was a Hibby she took a bit of an interest. However, i had to explain that Tam was long gone.. ![]() |
Casino cash: £8216 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Posted this experience yonks ago but canny find it
![]() I was working in Landan for nearly a year at the time of the Millenium Derby :YAYYY: but the bassa's widnae let me come hame for it. ![]() So hunted down a boozer that showed Scottish fitbaw on a sunday night ![]() Stumbled across a boozer on Streatham High Road called La Bamba, it was a wee bit scary at first cos I was the only white guy in the place It was full of Africans, mainly from Kenya, and once it was established that I was Scottish they took me in as one of their own. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Got talking to the barman and it turned to fitbaw, I said I was a Hibby, not expecting him to have a clue, but he turns round and say, "Heebs, our Boss is a Heeby" Took me by surprise likes then He explained to me that Benson, his Boss, was an athlete who competed at the 1986 Commonwealth Games for Kenya. His trainer/coach in Edinburgh was George McNeil, and he took Ben to a few Hibs games whilst he was here. He was getting regular updates about the Hibees from folk he met up here. Met the guy later, and a nicer gent you'd be hard pushed tae find. He allowed me to turn the back bar area into my own little Hibees shrine, bringing in Hibs stuff calanders, pennants. pics, etc, which seriously pissed off the SDB's(the worlds greatest fans ) and the Huns in my squad when they started peeving in there and Ben KB'd their offer of "memoribillia" ![]()
Casino cash: £1231 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I was in Huntsville, Ontario (200 miles north of Toronto) getting equipment for a few days canoing in the wilds of Algonquin Provincial Park; walking down the main street I bumped into 2 families of Hibs fans (wouldn't have suprised me to bump into Hibees in Toronto, but not in Huntsville...).
NO you tubes links allowed ya radge ;)
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2007
Casino cash: £1280 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() Join Date: Nov 2007
Casino cash: £357 vCash: 10000
Whilst in the caribean this summer i decided to play football on a staurday as u do, guests againt the staff and we were all given ACmilan tops but i wore my hibs shorts
!In the middle of the dominican republic some bloke shouted out oi you, mon the hibs! and started shouted hibees every time we got the ball! scored the equaliser! and we went on to beat them!:YAYYY: |
Listing Radge
Casino cash: £1852 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0