Old 13-11-07, 14:40   #1

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut
Old ER - model

There was a thread on here a wee while back about the model of Easter Road (from around the 60's) that was on display at the AGM. I'm sure someone mentioned that it was possible to order replicas of this model. If so, can anyone either repost that info, or point me to where it was previously discussed (I've had a look, but been unsuccessful
)? Thanks in advance.

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 15:20   #2

HibeeJibee is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Old ER - model

HibeeJibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 16:12   #3

SteveIrwin is on the way to a first team debut

how much would these set ye back?

would look the biz in a plush Hibby-type pad

SteveIrwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 16:55   #4

dangerousdavid is on the way to a first team debut

Now I know what I want as my next birthday cake.
dangerousdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 17:05   #5

Is it not on display at ER reception

Old 13-11-07, 17:17   #6

I'd have it with the pitch the right size for Subbuteo. That'd be a pretty impressive thing to show off to your mates!!

Old 13-11-07, 17:27   #7

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

Thanks for the link. Much appreciated.

Hibs one appears to have been commissioned by the Club.
Cathkin Park (Third Lanark) is open to offers though.

The Hibby Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 18:17   #8
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

What a work of art! I wonder if the "slope" was built into it?

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 19:55   #9
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Thanks for the link. Much appreciated.

Hibs one appears to have been commissioned by the Club.
Cathkin Park (Third Lanark) is open to offers though.
Just out of interest Bill, where was Cathkin Park in Lanark?
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:23   #10

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

It was next to Hampden?
I walked across it once after a Scotland England game.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:25   #11

If you mean that Third Lanark played in Lanark, I think I can hear the collective gasp of fury from the Hi-Hi supporters from here. Third Lanark is short for "3rd Lanarkshire Rifle Volunteers" which was an army regiment based in Glasgow. Presumably drawn from Lanarkshire. They became an established athletics and football club in their own right. They played at Cathkin Park, also known as Second Hampden (they took over after Queens Park FC lef). Hibs probably won their Scottish Cup their IIRC.

See: [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

Old 13-11-07, 20:42   #12

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

It was next to Hampden?
I walked across it once after a Scotland England game.

It still is next to Hampden
and well worth a visit for the football anoraks as these quite recent photo's show

Ooops sorry HJ didn't see your earlier post.

It's another of these football myths that Third Lanark went bankrupt
they didn't they were deliberately run into the ground by the crook (long deid) who ran them at the time as he wanted to sell off the land.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 20:42   #13
Pat Stanton is a legend ya Radge

hibbyharp1875 will become famous soon enough

If you mean that Third Lanark played in Lanark, I think I can hear the collective gasp of fury from the Hi-Hi supporters from here. Third Lanark is short for "3rd Lanarkshire Rifle Volunteers" which was an army regiment based in Glasgow. Presumably drawn from Lanarkshire. They became an established athletics and football club in their own right. They played at Cathkin Park, also known as Second Hampden (they took over after Queens Park FC lef). Hibs probably won their Scottish Cup their IIRC.

i think we won the scottish cup at celtic park with a back heel goal from andy mc'geechan in 02 but i might be wrong

hibbyharp1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 21:01   #14

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

The Scottish Cup final of 1887 Hibs 2 Dunbarton 1 was played at the second Hampden Park and not Cathkin Park and the crowd was 10,000.

The year before Queens Park beat Renton 3-1 (7,000 crowd) which was the last final held at Cathkin Park.

Yours
AN Anorak

HibeeJibee/
Your having a bit of 'a mare' on all today's threads are you not.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 21:43   #15
Tartan Army Radge

lewisthehibee is on the way to a first team debut

walked past cathkin park for the scotland georgia match but its where all the junkies and alkies hang about now

hibs fans after the rangers game
lewisthehibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 21:43   #16

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut

Its quite a strange place to visit. You can stand on the terrace and let your mind wander. Think about all the ghosts of the past who have stood there before you and all the games the old ground must have seen.
Old 13-11-07, 21:56   #17

The Scottish Cup final of 1887 Hibs 2 Dunbarton 1 was played at the second Hampden Park and not Cathkin Park and the crowd was 10,000.

The year before Queens Park beat Renton 3-1 (7,000 crowd) which was the last final held at Cathkin Park.

Yours
AN Anorak

Cathkin Park is a municipal park in Glasgow, Scotland. It formerly contained a football stadium under the ownership of what used to be two of the giants of the Scottish game, known first as (Second) Hampden Park under Queen's Park and then renamed (New) Cathkin Park under Third Lanark. After their demise through financial mismanagement and alleged embezzlement in 1967, the stadium that had played host to organised football since 1884 fell into disrepair. Previously, Third Lanark played at (First) Cathkin Park which held two internationals, the first on March 15 1884, Scotland versus England, the first all ticket match ever.

Yours
AN Even Bigger Anorak

Old 13-11-07, 22:23   #18

AndyM has a spectacular aura aboutAndyM has a spectacular aura about

It still is next to Hampden
and well worth a visit for the football anoraks as these quite recent photo's show

Ooops sorry HJ didn't see your earlier post.

It's another of these football myths that Third Lanark went bankrupt
they didn't they were deliberately run into the ground by the crook (long deid) who ran them at the time as he wanted to sell off the land.
Spot on Sam.
Furthermore I'd add that 3rd Lanark were basically murdered from within by a crook of a chairman called Bill Hiddelston. 3rd Lanark beat Hibs 6-1 on the last game of the season in 1961 and scored over 100 goals and finished third in the Scottish top division. Yet 6 years later they were wound up in the High Court and disappeared forever.
An utterly disgraceful and shameful way for a great club to finish up.

Here's a link to their website - check out some of these scores!!

and some further reading
[Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register].

The Hibernian romantic in me would love to see them back up and running as a proper senior football club at the now eerie Cathkin Park again one day.

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 22:33   #19

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Posted these before but any old excuse will do to post again......

I love wandering about Cathkin.

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-07, 22:38   #20

Spot on Sam.
Furthermore I'd add that 3rd Lanark were basically murdered from within by a crook of a chairman called Bill Hiddelston. 3rd Lanark beat Hibs 6-1 on the last game of the season in 1961 and scored over 100 goals and finished third in the Scottish top division. Yet 6 years later they were wound up in the High Court and disappeared forever.
An utterly disgraceful and shameful way for a great club to finish up.

Here's a link to their website - check out some of these scores!!

and some further reading
[Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register].

The Hibernian romantic in me would love to see them back up and running as a proper senior football club at the now eerie Cathkin Park again one day.
My uncle, a Hun, refused to attend my parents' wedding as Hibs were at home to Third Lanark that day and he said it was the best game on the football calendar at the time. Fortunately the game was fogged off and he went to the wedding (I hasten to add I wasn't there).

Old 13-11-07, 22:57   #21