Old 11-11-07, 12:21   #1

Easter Heaven is on the way to a first team debut
Brian Kerr

Hey guys, first post here and potentially a controversial one too!

I've read alot of posts before signing up and i feel alot of people give this a guy a very hard time, he's had a few off days like many of our players (Stevenson, McCann, Jones, Hogg) but hes also put in a lot of good shifts, making very good runs even if he passed to, not to mention a certain goal across the town.

I think its really important to get behind every player in the team when they are picked, the games we have dropped points in i wouldnt say kerr was to blame. Rash sending off's and poor defending have caused that. Our midfield is where we have been winning our games and Collins is picking kerr every week, and i think most of us are 100% behind everything Collins has done!

The sooner we get behind Kerr the best we will get out of him! Just look at him in the games directly after the opening day derby!
Easter Heaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 12:46   #2
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough
Re: Brian Kerr

I've read alot of posts before signing up and i feel alot of people give this a guy a very hard time, he's had a few off days like many of our players (Stevenson, McCann, Jones, Hogg) but hes also put in a lot of good shifts, making very good runs even if he passed to, not to mention a certain goal across the town.

I think its really important to get behind every player in the team when they are picked, the games we have dropped points in i wouldnt say kerr was to blame. Rash sending off's and poor defending have caused that. Our midfield is where we have been winning our games and Collins is picking kerr every week, and i think most of us are 100% behind everything Collins has done!

The sooner we get behind Kerr the best we will get out of him! Just look at him in the games directly after the opening day derby!

Good first post

Broxburn_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 13:00   #3

Jai_edinburgh is on the way to a first team debut

what JC said about the midfield to the shitty work to ALLOW boozy time on the ball must be happening or he wouldnt be in the team. he is obv doing a good enough role for JC
Jai_edinburgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 13:12   #4
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice

I agree with that 100%, nae point on being on the back of a player because then he deffo wont play well...

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: The oh so sweet 16th ;)
49 days 19 hours 13 minutes
Riordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 13:14   #5

I agree with that 100%, nae point on being on the back of a player because then he deffo wont play well...
correct mate. ma-kalambay sill gets a great support and hes been shaky all season. nae point giving pelters (see what happened to zibi and mcneill)

the boy cant be playing that bad if we are sitting 3rd !!!!!!
Old 11-11-07, 13:28   #6
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice

correct mate. ma-kalambay sill gets a great support and hes been shaky all season. nae point giving pelters (see what happened to zibi and mcneill)

the boy cant be playing that bad if we are sitting 3rd !!!!!!
aye it always makes me more confident to see people giving me support

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: The oh so sweet 16th ;)
49 days 19 hours 13 minutes
Riordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 13:59   #7

stevieboi is on the way to a first team debut

This is the keeper that has helped us get to joint second in the league. I think all this talk of Maka being shaky is purely down to previous encounters with freak goalkeepers, mainly last season. Maka's good enough IMO, just remember McNeil and Brown and think how lucky we are to have Maka.
Old 11-11-07, 15:07   #8

This is the keeper that has helped us get to joint second in the league. I think all this talk of Maka being shaky is purely down to previous encounters with freak goalkeepers, mainly last season. Maka's good enough IMO, just remember McNeil and Brown and think how lucky we are to have Maka.
erm against aberdeen ??? his fumble at ibrox plus almost every other cross thats come into his box. he cant kick, positional sense at free kicks (marshall to blame also here i think) he at the end od the say lines his wall up usually with 4 ???.......

being joint second is mainly due to murphy ,hogg, boozy, fletcher, jones (on occasions) and i dont like jones that much.
Old 11-11-07, 15:27   #9

stevieboi is on the way to a first team debut

erm against aberdeen ??? his fumble at ibrox plus almost every other cross thats come into his box. he cant kick, positional sense at free kicks (marshall to blame also here i think) he at the end od the say lines his wall up usually with 4 ???.......

being joint second is mainly due to murphy ,hogg, boozy, fletcher, jones (on occasions) and i dont like jones that much.
What happened to win and lose as a team, yes he did make one or two errors but what keeper hasn't. People seem to forget that we are a selling club and for Hibs to bring in an established goalkeeper is almost impossible. The only reason Maka gets stuck out for more criticism is obviosly cause if he mucks up we all know what happens. Maka is in his first full season as a number one. I think he has made some vital saves so far and long may it continue.
Old 11-11-07, 15:41   #10

hibsbollah is on the way to a first team debut

You must be watching a different keeper from me then
He's excellent at coming for crosses, thats the thing he does well.
hibsbollah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 15:42   #11

What happened to win and lose as a team, yes he did make one or two errors but what keeper hasn't. People seem to forget that we are a selling club and for Hibs to bring in an established goalkeeper is almost impossible. The only reason Maka gets stuck out for more criticism is obviosly cause if he mucks up we all know what happens. Maka is in his first full season as a number one. I think he has made some vital saves so far and long may it continue.
absolutely! he has only played 1/4 of a season as a 1st choice keeper, he may have conceded 18 goals in 13 games but alot of that has to be put down to the defence aswell.

Maka has made alot of good saves which has helped us to 3rd in the league, it is clear that he is learning in every game he plays in. He is another one of our players that needs the fans to get behind him!

And to put it very bluntly, he is the best we have so give him your 100% support! simple as
Old 11-11-07, 15:43   #12

kev1875 is on the way to a first team debut

So John, whens Benji back?
Old 11-11-07, 15:45   #13

You must be watching a different keeper from me then
He's excellent at coming for crosses, thats the thing he does well.
nope im sure im watching the correct one..... and then theres how him and jones communication problem. now jones just has to clear it against st mirren but he heads it back and they end of scoring. i am a ST holder so its not like ive seen only highlights. both suspect in that area.

ive not said hes played badly just looks shaky too often. put it this way id be very happy with the Utd keeper coming in come january
Old 11-11-07, 16:16   #14

Bampotto is on the way to a first team debut

The only poor game Maka has had this season was against Aberdeen, and I still blame Jones for at least one of the goals.

Kerr is a hider and shirks responsibility. He just doesn't want the ball. JC says that he does a lot of donkey work?? Simply not true. He barely leaves the centre circle. Kerr isn't good enough for the green and white, and if he gets injured/suspended (this seems to be the only way that JC won't play him) I suspect our midfield will become stronger.
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 16:27   #15

Kerr is a hider and shirks responsibility. He just doesn't want the ball. JC says that he does a lot of donkey work?? Simply not true. He barely leaves the centre circle. Kerr isn't good enough for the green and white, and if he gets injured/suspended (this seems to be the only way that JC won't play him) I suspect our midfield will become stronger.
just my opinion but i don't agree.

Kerr does alot of box to box running, and but for a slice he would of scored yesterday. He makes alot of late runs into the box and gives the crosser an extra option (again i refer to the tyncastle game)

I think alot of people are still comparing him to Scott Brown which is simply not fair, i trust Collins' judgement and but for 2 red cards that should never have been we would still be undefeated. Our midfield is where we are controlling games, and yes Boozy is an integruel part of that but Stevenson and Kerr are doing alot of work in that area too.

And again but for 2 fortunate goals in the last 3 games we would have had 7 points and 3 clean sheets.

If it aint broke dont fix it
Old 11-11-07, 17:41   #16

Brizo will become famous soon enough

just my opinion but i don't agree.

Kerr does alot of box to box running, and but for a slice he would of scored yesterday. He makes alot of late runs into the box and gives the crosser an extra option (again i refer to the tyncastle game)

I think alot of people are still comparing him to Scott Brown which is simply not fair, i trust Collins' judgement and but for 2 red cards that should never have been we would still be undefeated. Our midfield is where we are controlling games, and yes Boozy is an integruel part of that but Stevenson and Kerr are doing alot of work in that area too.

And again but for 2 fortunate goals in the last 3 games we would have had 7 points and 3 clean sheets.

If it aint broke dont fix it
Disagree with that statement. I dont think anyones comparing him to SB. Everyone I know and every thing Ive read on here said that Broony was irreplaceable. Nobody was expecting Kerr to be a like for like replacement for a multi million pound player.

FWIW Kerr has lived up to the extremely limited expectations I had of him. The Motherwell often anonymous journeyman midfielder has become the Hibs often anonymous journeyman midfielder. IMO we got what we paid for - an ordinary player for peanuts. People may try to talk him up as being some essential component of the team based on some mythical off the ball running and a goal against the Hertz but I dont get it - just like I didnt get Hammy or Jarko Whizz.

My frustration with Kerr is that he's a senior pro in a team full of youngsters. I dont see him showing the leadership or desire id expect to see from a senior pro to encourage the young players about him. When it comes to effort and commitment its the youngsters in midfield like Stevenson and Chis who are leading the way over him.
Brizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 18:09   #17

Disagree with that statement. I dont think anyones comparing him to SB. Everyone I know and every thing Ive read on here said that Broony was irreplaceable. Nobody was expecting Kerr to be a like for like replacement for a multi million pound player.

FWIW Kerr has lived up to the extremely limited expectations I had of him. The Motherwell often anonymous journeyman midfielder has become the Hibs often anonymous journeyman midfielder. IMO we got what we paid for - an ordinary player for peanuts. People may try to talk him up as being some essential component of the team based on some mythical off the ball running and a goal against the Hertz but I dont get it - just like I didnt get Hammy or Jarko Whizz.

My frustration with Kerr is that he's a senior pro in a team full of youngsters. I dont see him showing the leadership or desire id expect to see from a senior pro to encourage the young players about him. When it comes to effort and commitment its the youngsters in midfield like Stevenson and Chis who are leading the way over him.
dont entirely dissagree with you there, but like you said, few expectations (could almost say people had written him off before he played for us)

i really dont think he's a passenger for us, the only thing i would say is he doesnt win enough balls for the team and thats where the improvement is needed. But i do think he is a useful aquisition for us and fits into the team well, alot of people say we dont look good without Boozy but i think that Boozy, Kerr and Stevenson have struck up a little group and that suffers when one of the 3 isnt in the midfield (like when stevenson's form dipped, or when he dropped into left back)

Boozy is the talisman midfielder but only cos he knows how Kerr and Stevenson play
Old 11-11-07, 18:10   #18
Brafur Radge

BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

Well said Brian, good post
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 18:49   #19

HIBEESCRAN is on the way to a first team debut

The only poor game Maka has had this season was against Aberdeen, and I still blame Jones for at least one of the goals.

Spot on mate I don't think Kerr has the same level of ability as the rest of the team that also goes for Donaldson,both of them are under par it sticks out like a sore thumb.
GONE THE CABBAGE
HIBEESCRAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 19:48   #20

Brizo will become famous soon enough

dont entirely dissagree with you there, but like you said, few expectations (could almost say people had written him off before he played for us)

i really dont think he's a passenger for us, the only thing i would say is he doesnt win enough balls for the team and thats where the improvement is needed. But i do think he is a useful aquisition for us and fits into the team well, alot of people say we dont look good without Boozy but i think that Boozy, Kerr and Stevenson have struck up a little group and that suffers when one of the 3 isnt in the midfield (like when stevenson's form dipped, or when he dropped into left back)

Boozy is the talisman midfielder but only cos he knows how Kerr and Stevenson play

I personally think that Boozys the talisman midfielder because on his day hes the most creative and skillful midfielder in the SPL.Agree that Boozy needs grafters alongside him to give him the time and space to do his magic. I dont however think its essential for Kerr to be one of those grafters and IMO the youngsters give Kerr lessons in the grafting stakes. And I still think he doesnt show the leadership qualities an experienced pro should in a young team.

Itd be interesting to see how a Kerr free midfield performed. Fact that JC plays him every week and that Kerrs not got the passion or dig to pick up the bookings that should go with his midfield territory mean that we'll probably never see that.
Brizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-07, 19:55   #21