Old 26-10-07, 09:10   #1

Casino cash: £5706
vCash: 25700
ON THIS DAY - '74 LC Celtc 6 Hibs 3

ON THIS DAY:

24 Years Ago,
Wednesday 26 Oct 1983

Hibernian vs Celtic : Link Here

33 Years Ago,
Saturday 26 Oct 1974

Celtic 6 - 3 Hibernian : Link Here

its a long trip home from home from hampden, when you score 3 and still ship 6

quality hibs side that day too...
Old 26-10-07, 19:37   #2
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £9570
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice
Re: ON THIS DAY - '74 LC Celtc 6 Hibs 3

33 years ago.

Thanks.

:Shrink83:

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 26-10-07, 20:14   #3

Casino cash: £4747

The '74 Cup Final was the first CF I was at.

I was 9 at the time.

My dad and his mate took me and my brother through to Hampden for the big day and what a traumatic experience it was. We were sitting up in that rickety old North Stand (now long gone thankfully), and there were hundreds of Celtic fans sitting all round us going mental. There were quite a few Hibbies as well mind as we found out when Hibs goals went in. I was just about in tears at the end and I remember my Dad deciding that enough was enough and spared us the last 10 minutes or so when it was 6-2. Wee Harper scored a hat-trick. Nowadays I look on any Hibs win against Celtic as a payback for that humiliation.
Old 26-10-07, 20:26   #4
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £9570
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by Greenmachine View Post

I was 9 at the time.
Lucky.

You may think that was a bad day, but at least you didn't wake up with the hangover I had.

We took a few doings off the lesser greens in these days.
:Shrink43:

Their fans were a mix of patronising and putrifying.

Nothing changes.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 26-10-07, 21:27   #5

Casino cash: £5030
Rep Power: 14 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

We were sitting up in that rickety old North Stand (now long gone thankfully),
Nawwwww! The old North Stand was immense. What a view. Loaded with character!
Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-07, 21:41   #6
The Dancin Radge

Casino cash: £40
Rep Power: 6 Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

I was in the traditional covered Hun end, which was both Hibs and Tic fans, with scant segregation. The Hibs fans chanted come and have a go wi the Hibees aggro, cue the cloud of smoke and a rumbling noise, jeez what a feckin fright a got, a was just a young boy. Hated the buggers back then, though they were a good football side. Long time ago now. Hampdens still a tip.

Old 26-10-07, 22:11   #7

my first final as well,i must have been 10 years old...i was sitting just below the bit where the cup was presented in the old main stand...what i remember about it apart from joe harpers hat trick (which a few papers called a double and a mcneil o.g) was jimmy johnstone blasting a rocket shot over to the corner flag and from nowhere dixie deans dived to bullet a header into the roof of the net...it was one of those days,they were scoring from mistakes....i heard,years later,that on the night of the final the hibs players ended up down at powderhall races and sloop knocked harper out with a right hook for slagging the defence that day....apparantly harper said,''what kind of team is this?...i score a hat trick in a cup final and i still come home with a losers medal''....blackley responded with his fists and told the unfortunate aberdonian,''dont you ever speak like that about the hibs''...i cant confirm the truth of this story but it done the rounds for a while and it always stuck in my head for whatever reason
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-07, 01:32   #8

Casino cash: £384

I had not long emigrated..only two months in fact.

In those days there was no internet, no satellite tv and a phone call home cost about a day's wages.

I remember getting the result via the Sydney Daily Telegraph newspaper..hidden away in its 'results' pages.

and that was on the Monday following the game.

i was working as a life guard at one of Sydney's outdoor swimming pools, and popped into the office just before starting time to look through the paper....couldn't believe we lost 6....

In those days, it was a battle to get results in a timely manner, but that's another story, and probably worthy of another thread...
Old 27-10-07, 02:11   #9

Casino cash: £13435
vCash: 291000
Rep Power: 13 Hibsean is just really niceHibsean is just really nice

I was 9 at the time.

My dad and his mate took me and my brother through to Hampden for the big day and what a traumatic experience it was. We were sitting up in that rickety old North Stand (now long gone thankfully), and there were hundreds of Celtic fans sitting all round us going mental. There were quite a few Hibbies as well mind as we found out when Hibs goals went in. I was just about in tears at the end and I remember my Dad deciding that enough was enough and spared us the last 10 minutes or so when it was 6-2. Wee Harper scored a hat-trick. Nowadays I look on any Hibs win against Celtic as a payback for that humiliation.
Christ!! You've made me feel old!!
Old 27-10-07, 02:17   #10

Casino cash: £13435
vCash: 291000
Rep Power: 13 Hibsean is just really niceHibsean is just really nice

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
Nawwwww! The old North Stand was immense. What a view. Loaded with character!
With all due respect HH, I thought you were a Whippersnapper!!