Old 24-10-07, 14:48   #1

Kenny is on the way to a first team debut
The best hibs player never to have played in a cup final for Hibs?

collins?

latapy?

I'm sure there will be more candidates out there.

or how about a hibs XI who have never played in a cup final for hibs?
Old 24-10-07, 14:53   #2

psychocandy will become famous soon enough
Re: The best hibs player never to have played in a cup final for Hibs?

crunchie mcallistor, did he play in 93?
Old 24-10-07, 15:10   #3
GONE 'TILL NOVEMBER FINISHING TWO BOOKS RADGE.

HailHail will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
collins?

latapy?

did JC no play in 85/86's humiliation against Aberdeen at all?

I think McAllister played in the 93 final, can't quite remember......

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 15:12   #4

east calder hibby has a spectacular aura about

collins?

latapy?

JC defo came on as a 17yo sub against Aberdeen in the 85 or 86 final.
Old 24-10-07, 15:13   #5
GONE 'TILL NOVEMBER FINISHING TWO BOOKS RADGE.

HailHail will become famous soon enough

Andy Goram never played in a final for us did he? best he managed was that awful Scottish cup semi final in 1989 when the tims were 3 nil up at half time.. (Archibald scored for us, and a certain ugly bassa ex Jambo starred for the tims), might've been 1990......

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 15:40   #6

PAUL KANE

1985 League Cup final

Aberdeen 3, Hibernian 0

"WE WERE up against a cracking Aberdeen team. I remember coming out at Hampden, I was only 18 and John Collins - who was on the bench - was 16 , and the first four faces we saw were Leighton, Miller, McLeish and McKimmie, all top internationalists with a wealth of experience. They knew how to get the job done. Being brought up near Easter Road, the best personal memories I have is the size of the Hibs support that came together that day - it meant a lot to the team.

"The difference with this cup final is that neither team really has that big-game experience.I think the big difference with Sunday, compared to the Livingston game two years ago, is that Hibs fans are looking at this final realistically. Whereas they turned up against Livvy wearing party hats, this time they appreciate that its down to who performs on the day. I think if Hibs play to their potential they can win, and I'll be going on a bus from my pub, The Tor."
The Scotsman - Sport - Memories of past finales whet appetite of Hibs heroes

doesn't say if he got on?
Old 24-10-07, 15:44   #7

7tats says JC played

On This Day in Hibstory
Old 24-10-07, 15:47   #8

Kenny Miller - Colin stein

LM? Latapy Charnley RM?

LB? CB? CB? RB?

Goram
Old 24-10-07, 16:09   #9

Mapleleaf Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Pat Stanton against Celtic 2-1 league cup - the man was in a class of his own
Old 24-10-07, 16:42   #10

ChopperLaw is on the way to a first team debut

collins?

latapy?

Great thread has really got me thinking ...

George Best ???? Not saying he was a Hibs great far from it ... but maybe he would fit into the team in terms of high profile

As for Latapy , That was that wee bastards choice not to play .... but lets not open that can of worms again..
ChopperLaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 16:55   #11

willie hamilton
Old 24-10-07, 17:05   #12

kevin harper? was he the best between 93 and 01?
Old 24-10-07, 17:08   #13

kevin harper? was he the best between 93 and 01?
he wasn't even the best between 93 and 94
Old 24-10-07, 17:33   #14

JC came on at half time for Joe McBride

Colin Harris also replaced Benny Brazil at the same time.

We were 2-0 doon at the time

Billy Stark killed off any chance o' a comeback making it 3-zip no long after H-T.

Old 24-10-07, 18:05   #15

SlovSam has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby View Post
JC came on at half time for Joe McBride

Colin Harris also replaced Benny Brazil at the same time.

We were 2-0 doon at the time

Billy Stark killed off any chance o' a comeback making it 3-zip no long after H-T.

'A comeback'

It was a good day out despite travelling in an double decker Eastern Scottish bus that managed to get lost near Hampden and had to break sharply to prevent crashing into an low sized bridge but it was the dawn of the 'Fergie years' and men against wee boys

Done so well to reach the final as well.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 18:08   #16

Originally Posted by SlovSam View Post
'A comeback'

It was a good day out despite travelling in an double decker Eastern Scottish bus that managed to get lost near Hampden and had to break sharply to prevent crashing into an low sized bridge but it was the dawn of the 'Fergie years' and men against wee boys

Huh!! Ya pessimist

Old 24-10-07, 18:19   #17

'A comeback'

Was it not the "dusk" of the Fergie Years?

That was his last full season at Pittodrie, he ran off to Man Yoo midway thru' the following season?

Old 24-10-07, 18:33   #18

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post
willie hamilton
Willie Hamilton played in the Summer Cup Final of 1964 when we beat Aberdeen. I know it's only the Summer Cup but it is listed as an honour on the club's website. But then so is the Tennant's Sixes!
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 18:36   #19

Sure Kano brought out a great save by Leighton or hit the post towards the end of the game in that game.

This 12 year old was greetin his eyes out at the result..

One thing i do remember is the Hibs support. A BIG thing was made at the time of how large the Hibs support was. It was under 20,000 though and we got many more in 1991..
Old 24-10-07, 18:53   #20

metaldave is on the way to a first team debut

The best hibs player never to have played in a cup final for Hibs?

ANSWER:

DIDIER AGATHE
metaldave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 18:53   #21

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
Willie Hamilton played in the Summer Cup Final of 1964 when we beat Aberdeen. I know it's only the Summer Cup but it is listed as an honour on the club's website. But then so is the Tennant's Sixes!
was the final of the summer cup played at hampden?
Old 24-10-07, 18:57   #22

'A comeback'

the story goes the hibs team were standing waiting in the tunnel ready to out but fergie kept aberdeen in the changing room until as late as possible

my first time seeing hibs at hampden,can't remember much about it