Old 24-10-07, 09:08   #1

Casino cash: £5706
vCash: 25700
ON THIS DAY - Leeds and a League cup final we should've won

ON THIS DAY:

5 Years Ago,
Thursday 24 Oct 2002

Hibernian 2 - 3 Rangers : Link Here

14 Years Ago,
Sunday 24 Oct 1993

Rangers 2 - 1 Hibernian LC Final : Link Here

34 Years Ago,
Wednesday 24 Oct 1973

Leeds Utd vs Hibernian : Link Here
Old 24-10-07, 09:15   #2

Casino cash: £1852
vCash: 10750
Re: ON THIS DAY - Leeds and a League cup final we should've won

Originally Posted by Kenny View Post
ON THIS DAY:

5 Years Ago,
Thursday 24 Oct 2002

Hibernian 2 - 3 Rangers : Link Here

14 Years Ago,
Sunday 24 Oct 1993

Rangers 2 - 1 Hibernian LC Final : Link Here

34 Years Ago,
Wednesday 24 Oct 1973

Leeds Utd vs Hibernian : Link Here

Was there. Disco Dave Mcpherson scored a belter for us - diving heeder - galoot!

McCoist comes on as sub and scores. Mare

We could and should have won IIRC. However, I was extremely pished that day. There was a good support from Hibs aswell. I was just along from the animals in the jungle.
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 09:54   #3
Reggae Reggae Sauce Radge

Casino cash: £14292

Originally Posted by Greenscratch View Post
Was there. Disco Dave Mcpherson scored a belter for us - diving heeder - galoot!

McCoist comes on as sub and scores. Mare

We could and should have won IIRC. However, I was extremely pished that day. There was a good support from Hibs aswell. I was just along from the animals in the jungle.
what a riot when we equalised we didn't really start playing until Durrant scored for them first.

And we should have had a penalty in the first half.

silenced the knuckle dragging legions until this heartbreaking moment.......

YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
HailHail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 15:34   #4

Casino cash: £12648
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

The most mishit overhead kick in bastarding history.

Must have been something in the air that day regarding drink cause I was absolutely blootered at the game. So pished in fact that it wasn't until the next day that I knew it was an OG cause I thought Keith Keith Keith had scored without it taking a touch off anyone. I also climbed Salisbury Crags that night, stole a traffic island, and was somehow not lifted with a half ounce of blow on me (which I had not realised I had till after being stopped by the polis (wasn't mine, and I'd forgot to give it back to the boy who I'd made a dooby for!)).

The faux orange walk at half time was particularly amusing in the reaction it caused from the Hibs end as they went past

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 24-10-07, 15:38   #5

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
The most mishit overhead kick in bastarding history.

The faux orange walk at half time was particularly amusing in the reaction it caused from the Hibs end as they went past
Ah yes, MacKumba they were called.All that was missing were the mr benn costumes
Old 24-10-07, 15:46   #6

Casino cash: £12648
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by HailHail View Post
Ah yes, MacKumba they were called.All that was missing were the mr benn costumes
If they'd had the rolled up brollies they might have been better able to shelter from the absolute cascade of stuff that rained down on their parade

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 24-10-07, 16:07   #7

Casino cash: £2909

i think we all knew that bar steward would score when he came on as sub as it was his 1st game back after his broken leg iirc

hibbychubbs
hibbychubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-07, 17:09   #8

Casino cash: £4192
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut

bit more hightlights here

at least you get to see our goal

and that hun bassa andy cameron sashing it up at the end

YouTube - Rangers 2 Hibs 1 league cup final
Old 24-10-07, 18:39   #9

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
If they'd had the rolled up brollies they might have been better able to shelter from the absolute cascade of stuff that rained down on their parade
Old 24-10-07, 18:50   #10

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post

cheers dude i've been lookin' for that for ages. Whoever uploaded it edited out the unbroken wall of Hibs scarves singing YNWA at at the final whistle, either that or sportscene ignored it. Terracing was barry! Damn that taylor report!

You feel sorry for some of the younger fans who never got the chance to stand on proper terraces like that
Old 24-10-07, 19:08   #11

cheers dude i've been lookin' for that for ages. Whoever uploaded it edited out the unbroken wall of Hibs scarves singing YNWA at at the final whistle, either that or sportscene ignored it. Terracing was barry! Damn that taylor report!

You feel sorry for some of the younger fans who never got the chance to stand on proper terraces like that
the bounce that day was immense(though the semi final was unbeatable)
Old 24-10-07, 19:09   #12

the bounce that day was immense(though the semi final was unbeatable)

Aye, and the human tidal wave!

Taking over the gorgite's shed for the semi was cool too
Old 24-10-07, 19:29   #13

Casino cash: £28818
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

First time i've watched any highlights of that game.

I thought on the day we were poor. We had been playing some great football leading up to that final with Wright, Jackson, McAllister & O'Neil but we were rotten on the day.

I was gutted as i thought we'd win. Still think if we had played our game rather than adopt a gameplan to counter the Huns we would have.

Great Richard Gough chants that day..
Old 24-10-07, 19:37   #14

gordon hunter missed an absolute sitter just before ally mccoist scored
Old 24-10-07, 19:51   #15

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

Great Richard Gough chants that day..
Highlight of the day

There was even a guy on the bus from the Laich/Chesser area teaching a load of 4-5 year old hibbies that song. They must be 19/20 now.

RICHARD GOUGH C-M ( repeat x all day)
Old 24-10-07, 20:19   #16

Casino cash: £28818
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Highlight of the day

There was even a guy on the bus from the Laich/Chesser area teaching a load of 4-5 year old hibbies that song. They must be 19/20 now.

RICHARD GOUGH C-M ( repeat x all day)
I met a few Huns in Cyprus on hols in July '93 and one said 'There's gonna be major problems with Child Abuse..'*

Who i asked.

'I cannae tell ye wee man..'

Feck a few weeks later it was no secret..

* For visiting Keith JacksHUN it was an allegation made not on my part..
Old 24-10-07, 20:34   #17

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
I met a few Huns in Cyprus on hols in July '93 and one said 'There's gonna be major problems with Child Abuse..'*

Who i asked.

'I cannae tell ye wee man..'

Feck a few weeks later it was no secret..

* For visiting Keith JacksHUN it was an allegation made not on my part..

you'll be blamed mate, tomorrow's headline

SICKO HIBS FANS COMMEMORATE potentially libelous SONG FROM 14 YEARS AGO....

wonder if there's been any mention of 'big jock knew' in the weegia the now hmmm
Old 25-10-07, 08:36   #18

Casino cash: £2913

gordon hunter missed an absolute sitter just before ally mccoist scored
Darren Jackson missed a one on one wi the hun keeper at 1-1 if i remember correctly, great atmosphere in the Hibs end but ended up spewin after McCoists goal
Old 25-10-07, 12:20   #19

Casino cash: £1286

Missed that cup final as I was away on a school exchange in Italia.

Got home a week or so later and my Dad asked if I wanted to watch the game, which he had taped. He pressed play and showed David Farrell absolutely cementing Mark Hateley on the touchline. He pressed stop and said "there you go". Brilliant.

Saw Farrell on a flight to Dublin a few months ago and really wanted to mention that tackle to him.
PaddyBarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-07, 13:06   #20

Casino cash: £2913

Originally Posted by PaddyBarry View Post
Missed that cup final as I was away on a school exchange in Italia.

Got home a week or so later and my Dad asked if I wanted to watch the game, which he had taped. He pressed play and showed David Farrell absolutely cementing Mark Hateley on the touchline. He pressed stop and said "there you go". Brilliant.

Saw Farrell on a flight to Dublin a few months ago and really wanted to mention that tackle to him.
he certainly didn't miss him!

awright Paddy, are you staying in Lisbon these days as per yer bounce profile?

I know another staunch Hibby who recently moved over there, Tommy Brennan fi Erin Hibs.
Old 25-10-07, 23:53   #21